Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Got a used nitro engine

Old 10-09-2021, 06:52 PM
Thunder man

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Got a used nitro engine

Hello, I'm new to nitro, and I would like some advice about how to check if I need to rebuild it, the engine in question is a used Align 50

I've taking in it to a hobby shop, and I was recommended to just rebuild it, and was told its compression is no good.

I've managed to take out the sleeve using a plastic servo arm, and then, I pulled out the piston head with the arm.

I've noticed that the piston has a slight deformity, I assume it will need to be replaced. along with the sleeve and piston arm.
Old 10-10-2021, 09:28 AM
HansenTsang

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Thunder man View Post
Hello, I'm new to nitro, and I would like some advice about how to check if I need to rebuild it, the engine in question is a used Align 50

I've taking in it to a hobby shop, and I was recommended to just rebuild it, and was told its compression is no good.

I've managed to take out the sleeve using a plastic servo arm, and then, I pulled out the piston head with the arm.

I've noticed that the piston has a slight deformity, I assume it will need to be replaced. along with the sleeve and piston arm.
Sounds like you have taken it apart already. So the question of rebuilding it is already moot. The next question is if you can still get parts to rebuild the engine.

You need at least new piston and sleeve, new bearings and gasket for the backplate if there is one.
Old 10-10-2021, 10:20 AM
Thunder man

Thanks for the reply.