Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 04-03-2018, 05:10 AM
  #35976  
Senior Member
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,904
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
can some one tell me the thread size and number of threads for the Saito 100 Case Vent Breather ??

thanks guys
Jim
It's 5mm dia. The pitch I'm not absolutely sure of, but it's the same as a standard 5mm screw. .8mm pitch?

All medium/big block Saitos use the same breather thread.

Last edited by SrTelemaster150; 04-03-2018 at 05:15 AM.
Old 04-03-2018, 05:33 AM
  #35977  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Per my picture.
Old 04-03-2018, 07:11 AM
  #35978  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

so it's... 5mm x 8p x 16 th,,

LOL where am I going to find that Drill/Tap kit in Vermont,,,,, not LOL

thank you my Saito friends

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 07:27 AM
  #35979  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default



hey Dave, these are the photos of my other engine's Crank Pin

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 07:59 AM
  #35980  
Senior Member
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,904
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
so it's... 5mm x 8p x 16 th,,

LOL where am I going to find that Drill/Tap kit in Vermont,,,,, not LOL

thank you my Saito friends

Jim
For the life of me, I don't understand why we didn't go metric in the early 1970s like we were supposed to. We were learning the system in high school. The whole civilized word did it. The United States, Liberia and Myanmar still use Imperial unit of measure, that's it.

Need a metric bolt? 5 x the price of the Imperial crap IF you can find one..

Any well stocked LHS should have small metric taps/drills.
Old 04-03-2018, 08:15 AM
  #35981  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Stubbornness of the American. It's what we call 'Merica!
Old 04-03-2018, 08:20 AM
  #35982  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

I have found more than one Drill &Tap sets on line, but they don't tell the pitch or threads, and I know my luck

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 08:42 AM
  #35983  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

TAPM5 - M5 x .8mm - Plug Taps - High Speed Steel - Micro Fasteners

These folks have good stuff and ship quickly.

Last edited by Hobbsy; 04-03-2018 at 08:46 AM.
Old 04-03-2018, 08:46 AM
  #35984  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

LOL thanks Dave, I will keep a link to that site!!

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 08:49 AM
  #35985  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Yes sir I see, I'm glad he's fixing you up.

PS, I've been a customer of Micro Fasteners for at least 25 years, maybe more.
Old 04-03-2018, 08:52 AM
  #35986  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

well I thought that was a Drill & Tap set
Old 04-03-2018, 09:01 AM
  #35987  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Toledo bound Thursday night. There is usually one or two vendors selling micro tools for the hobby there. Maybe I will come across the elusive FA-115.
Old 04-03-2018, 09:06 AM
  #35988  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

M5 x 0.8
It takes a 4.2mm drill4.2mm
Old 04-03-2018, 09:07 AM
  #35989  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

acdii,, well thank you !! but I will just order them on line ,

I found the Drill size,,, 4.2mm,

I have 2 engines I need to drill and tap,, I am moving the back plate breather on my Saito 100 to the Cam Housing,, and I have an OS 70 Heli engine that I am putting an OS Regulator on and so i need to drill/tap it's back plate to pressurize the tank

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 04-03-2018 at 11:23 AM.
Old 04-03-2018, 09:41 AM
  #35990  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Vermont's not that far from Ohio.
Old 04-03-2018, 09:44 AM
  #35991  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

you know, 2 hours,, I think I am going to sell all my RC plane stuff and start sniffing crystal meth,, it will be easier on my nerves
Old 04-03-2018, 09:57 AM
  #35992  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

LOL I called Bu-Bro LOL,, they don't know what the pitch is for their 5mm metric Drill& Tap set LOL,,, but they are sorry LOL

it's the new America,, deal with it

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 09:59 AM
  #35993  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	zagar7.pdf
Views:	87
Size:	1.00 MB
ID:	2259778

Tap standards.
Old 04-03-2018, 11:14 AM
  #35994  
Senior Member
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,904
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
LOL I called Bu-Bro LOL,, they don't know what the pitch is for their 5mm metric Drill& Tap set LOL,,, but they are sorry LOL

it's the new America,, deal with it

Jim
I don't think there is more than 1 pitch in 5mm.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Metric-Tap-and-Drill-Chart.pdf
Views:	59
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	2259779
Old 04-03-2018, 11:27 AM
  #35995  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

acdii & SrT, both your photos open to an OS 70 manual

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 05:25 PM
  #35996  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Don't know what drugs your computer is on, but mine opens to a 13 page PDF, last page has the tap thread pitches, and there is only one for the 5mm tap. Unlike SAE, metric pretty much sticks to single pitches, where there could be fine and coarse pitch threads for small taps. 10-32, 10-24, etc.
Old 04-03-2018, 06:03 PM
  #35997  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

LOL here's what I got on page 13 LOL,,, computers

STARTING The FS-120S3 is not fitted with manual choke controls, as they are intended for use with an electric starter only. A high-torque electric starter not only makes starting the engine much easier, it dispenses with the need for a choke valve by turning the engine over fast enough to cause the fuel pump to prime the cylinder automatically. Starting procedure is as follows:
Check that the current to the glowplug is switched off. Check that the polarity of the starter battery leads rotates the engine counter-clockwise when viewed from the front. Open the needle-valve 3-3.5 turns from the fully closed position and temporarily set the throttle in the fully open
Old 04-03-2018, 06:08 PM
  #35998  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

metric pretty much sticks to single pitches
thanks for the info,, hold on and I will mess some with my computer

Jim
Old 04-03-2018, 06:28 PM
  #35999  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,434
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

OK, I found the problem, Daa, I'd kick myself but it would hurt

any hoo, I saved both files, they will be helpful

thanks again

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 04-03-2018 at 06:31 PM. Reason: I forgot the "d"
Old 04-03-2018, 07:21 PM
  #36000  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

let me guess, it opened in PDF viewer that you already had the OS manual opened in....like that hasn't happened before.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.