Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 11-02-2019, 02:07 AM
  #43276  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

LOL!

Nobody loves trombones! That is why I have avoided using them for decades. Likewise, employing seesaw , scissor stuff when there is any other option.
Old 11-02-2019, 03:20 AM
  #43277  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rudolph Hart
I hate trombone throttle set ups like sylvester hates them meeces to peeces. Agree with everyone that golden rod throttle set ups are reliable and easy plus long lasting, but i did make a mistake when i modified the throttle set up for the fa182 powering the h9 taylorcraft. Only had about ten flights from new and was prepping it for a coming weekend with the cowl off when i noticed the exposed yellow rod that sat next to the right hand of the right exhaust pipe had turned slightly brown and had a kink in it, making it a little shorter, so no full throttle. After installing a heat shield that divided the exhaust and plastic throttle cable i was sure problem was solved after ground testing. Long story short two flights later and doing a few touch and goes i throttled back on climb out but nothing happened, in australia we have a very hearty black sense of humour so the dozen or two sympathetic pilots had all sorts of suggestions for me. In those days it had a very big fuel tank so the agony went on for more than twenty minutes, turns out the brass clevis got hooked up at full throttle on the leading edge of the heatshield i fitted.

ps dave i never heard of gas painting in the sense you mention do you have a link?
Pate, I accidently hit EDIT on you post instead of Quote.


The Gas Painting process seems to be a well,kept secret, it sure makes a beautiful finish whatever it is.

https://www.desertaircraft.com/colle...ed-gas-painted

PS, Lonnie, I got two Xoar 13 x 7's for the FG 11
Old 11-02-2019, 05:21 AM
  #43278  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Dave nice props
how do the Gropner props compare to the MS scimitar’s
i am beginning to think they are not working as good as I think.
Old 11-02-2019, 05:33 AM
  #43279  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Could be painted props (for) gas engines

"Gas painting process" Too funny!

https://www.xoarintl.com/rc-propelle...e-A-Propeller/

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 06:11 AM.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:13 AM
  #43280  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Could be painted props (for) gas engines

"Gas painting process" Too funny!

https://www.xoarintl.com/rc-propelle...e-A-Propeller/
Nope, can't be, otherwise it would not be quite as conversational.

I used those ez connectors on my LT-40, and they are still tight as the day I installed them. Of course BSI Thread locker helps a lot. Which reminds me, I ran out and need to get some more.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:23 AM
  #43281  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,649
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

I've never used the set screw style linkage connectors called "EZ". Those have tinnerman clips and can't adjusted permanently to adapt to varying thickness of servo/throttle arms.

The ones I have used have threaded posts where a washer and nut can take out slop. I'm not sure who made/makes them.

PS, looking in my parts bin I see that I am out of stock. I had two different kinds, ones with a longer unthreaded post section and ones with shorter unthreaded post section. I have no idea where I got them.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 11-02-2019 at 06:32 AM.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:30 AM
  #43282  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii
Nope, can't be, otherwise it would not be quite as conversational.

I used those ez connectors on my LT-40, and they are still tight as the day I installed them. Of course BSI Thread locker helps a lot. Which reminds me, I ran out and need to get some more.

Good point!

Of course the search line in the red bar on the XOAR website from the above link is formatted:

"Home>R/C Propellors>Gas props>PJM"

Yessir, Those DuBro setscrew connectors on flex cable work fine on throttles.

Especially with a spot of VC-3 Threadlocker as used in military and aircraft equipment:

VC-3 acrylic thread lock

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 06:32 AM.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:30 AM
  #43283  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,002
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Well those are what I used, the threaded ones. The ones like what you mention are the Dubro ones that come with the cable kits. For those that are too tight I just sand the arm with fine grit until it does, then polish it with plastic polish.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:44 AM
  #43284  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,649
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

With the threaded post version I use one washer with an ID that fits over the unthreaded portion of the post, adjust to perfect fit and locktite the nut. I limit the use of those set screw type connectors to low torque applications.
Old 11-02-2019, 07:36 AM
  #43285  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

...

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 12:08 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 12:28 PM
  #43286  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I squeezed in a tiny bit of play time and installed a CH Ignition unit onto the 1.15. The 1.15 is apparently a tiny bit shorter than the bigger blocks. I removed about 1/16" from the nose of the Hall Effect Sensor bracket for a clearance of 1/64". Timing set a 30 degrees btdc. I finished my 3rd and largest stack of firewood and covered it with a 12' x 12' tarpaulin.

MA 15 x 7 three blade and CHI.

Last edited by Hobbsy; 11-02-2019 at 01:34 PM. Reason: Add content.
Old 11-02-2019, 02:34 PM
  #43287  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Another wood report!
Norwegians make an art of stacking their wood.
The Norwegian Princess maintains that tradition.


(Stock Photo)

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 03:10 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 02:58 PM
  #43288  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,649
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Dave, did you do a 115 baseline run with a glow plug on that prop? Be great to see an apples to apples comparison.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 11-02-2019 at 03:00 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 04:04 PM
  #43289  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Not like I really needed a new one, but my newest tach arrived today. Got the latest FROMECO TNC
in the heavy duty CNC machined, billet case.

Just last week converted a FG-20 Saito gasser back to methanol so we may get a chance to try out the tach on a fresh engine tomorrow morning.

Still have most every tach that I have bought or built since the first Heathkit . The Ace Tachmaster was also built from a kit. Have an earlier TNC and the Nisshin which is identical to the Royal. The Futaba is a great tach thatbis seldom seen today. They all still work.
Old 11-02-2019, 04:38 PM
  #43290  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,649
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Well, I found the limits of the new GT Power tach, doesn't work as good as the old hobbico or the hanger9 in low light. Shining a light through the prop helps but who wants to do that.

That new TNC looks nice and solid. I'm kind of retro so I actually like the aesthetics of the older analog instruments.

I'm a knob twirling, toggle flipping, button pushing, slider slider; not the kind of person NASA would want in Mission Control during a launch.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 11-02-2019 at 04:41 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 05:42 PM
  #43291  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Not like I really needed a new one, but my newest tach arrived today. Got the latest FROMECO TNC
in the heavy duty CNC machined, billet case.

Just last week converted a FG-20 Saito gasser back to methanol so we may get a chance to try out the tach on a fresh engine tomorrow morning.

Still have most every tach that I have bought or built since the first Heathkit . The Ace Tachmaster was also built from a kit. Have an earlier TNC and the Nisshin which is identical to the Royal. The Futaba is a great tach thatbis seldom seen today. They all still work.
how did you get one I just see out of stock
Old 11-02-2019, 05:53 PM
  #43292  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

The TNC latest is interesting, just wanted to get one while I still could. The latest billet CNC housing could stop a 30-06 180 gr bullet!
I too have a knob twirling , analog, toggle switch and vacuum tube preference

My ham radio gear tlranges from 1920 vintage to 1958 vintage. Still use tubes and Morse Code here.



Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-03-2019 at 02:06 AM.
Old 11-02-2019, 05:59 PM
  #43293  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

But where did you get it.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:09 PM
  #43294  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,649
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Crunchy, try here:

TNC-T TNC-T Fromeco : Meters : Aircraft International
Old 11-02-2019, 06:17 PM
  #43295  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

That is it, thanks.

I had the invoice out in the garage, you beat me to it.
Very nice fellow. Took my phone order Thursday and it arrived today.

Lonnie, or anybody else interested in getting a ham license, let me know. Most of us are in radio range, night time. Could be fun to chat on air.

N

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 06:20 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 06:17 PM
  #43296  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,435
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
I've never used the set screw style linkage connectors called "EZ". Those have tinnerman clips and can't adjusted permanently to adapt to varying thickness of servo/throttle arms.

The ones I have used have threaded posts where a washer and nut can take out slop. I'm not sure who made/makes them.

PS, looking in my parts bin I see that I am out of stock. I had two different kinds, ones with a longer unthreaded post section and ones with shorter unthreaded post section. I have no idea where I got them.
I have seen that problem before, but I have not had it myself, they have worked well with JR and Hitech servo arms for me

Jim
Old 11-02-2019, 06:23 PM
  #43297  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,435
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii
Well those are what I used, the threaded ones. The ones like what you mention are the Dubro ones that come with the cable kits. For those that are too tight I just sand the arm with fine grit until it does, then polish it with plastic polish.
I have done that too a couple times, can't remember what servos tho

Jim
Old 11-02-2019, 06:33 PM
  #43298  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,435
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

HAM

Gary, no BS hear. I used-to fly with this guy that had a HAM licence, he didn't spell well but he knew morse code. the guy flew Buddy Box 6 times and he soloed (no Sim time at all).. it's funny how things come around !!

Jim
Old 11-02-2019, 06:57 PM
  #43299  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,858
Received 95 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Here is a pic of the inside of that billet- CNC machined anodized aluminum case. I would prefer they put the screws in from the backside. Also, if you buy one, ditch that carbon zin c 9 volt battery! If you happen to leave the switch on and put the tach away, That battery will likely leak and corrode the insides along with the case. Better to use a quality alkaline or lithium 9volt





Originally Posted by Glowgeek
I've never used the set screw style linkage connectors called "EZ". Those have tinnerman clips and can't adjusted permanently to adapt to varying thickness of servo/throttle arms.
Yep, those are the only type that I use. They come with both a Tinnerman style push nut and a thicker,nylon
push on. They also have a very pronounced barb. Actually hold very well,snug with absolute minimal play.
I guess if that were not the case I would have installed a brass shim. Never a problem.




Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-02-2019 at 06:59 PM.
Old 11-02-2019, 07:07 PM
  #43300  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Holy shoot those Expensive I have too wait on that one.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.