Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 05-10-2020, 08:58 AM
  #46201  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,954
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

I was looking for an engine to run while taking a break from gardening. Saito 50 GK in new crankcase, new bearings and new rig. A one hour run used 8 OZ of fuel. I mounted an Iron Bay regulator just to exercise it. The crankcase is set up for front vent, the back plate is the original with the rear vent. The front vent opening is plugged with a same size grub screw.

Saito 50 GK
Fuel======Wildcat 10% full syn.
Glow Plug==Glo-Devil 4c for Saito and Enya
Exhaust===Stock Cast pre-revised revised by me.
Prop======XOAR 12 x 6
Max rpm===10,130, 10,110 shown after 45 minutes run time at various rpm mostly above 5,000.
Idle========1,810



I engrave the muffler size on them.
Old 05-10-2020, 09:47 AM
  #46202  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,959
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I wanted to run up some today, but its cold and raining. grrrr. Yesterday was nice, but I had work to get done, like maintenance on the JD x500, and getting the grass it's first mowing, which takes a couple hours even with two mowers going. By the time I was done, all the lifting and bending and rough ground bouncing me around killed my back. So today, just going to go to my shop and replace the motor mounts on the SSE and call it ready for maiden. Maybe put the drawer handles on the workbench and give the drawer fronts a coat of Minwax. Then maybe get around to organizing the work benches now that I have drawers to put stuff in. I also have two doors to find hinges for to mount on the workbench.


Old 05-10-2020, 11:42 AM
  #46203  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,954
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Cold here also, I am going to do some rearranging also, I am going to move and maybe remove my larger band saw that has 9" wheels, mount my lathe in it's spot and build dedicated drawer for all the lathe accessories, and there are a lot of them. And the lathe will have it's own vacuum cleaner. I rarely use the big band saw but use the small one a lot.
Old 05-10-2020, 01:18 PM
  #46204  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hobbsy View Post
I was looking for an engine to run while taking a break from gardening. Saito 50 GK in new crankcase, new bearings and new rig. A one hour run used 8 OZ of fuel. I mounted an Iron Bay regulator just to exercise it. The crankcase is set up for front vent, the back plate is the original with the rear vent. The front vent opening is plugged with a same size grub screw.

Saito 50 GK
Fuel======Wildcat 10% full syn.
Glow Plug==Glo-Devil 4c for Saito and Enya
Exhaust===Stock Cast pre-revised revised by me.
Prop======XOAR 12 x 6
Max rpm===10,130, 10,110 shown after 45 minutes run time at various rpm mostly above 5,000.
Idle========1,810
Wow, great numbers on the 50 Dave. Crunchy's 50 that I tested made power rivaling the 56's I tested. There's something special about the Saito 50!
Old 05-11-2020, 03:45 AM
  #46205  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,954
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

My Saito 50's collection is a little excessive. Three 50's and two 56's, both 56's are silver, the one on the RCM 40 is all original.

A side note, I had an Iron Bay regulator on the 50 I ran yesterday, when I went to remove the engine from the PSP, I pulled the pressure release plug and residual exhaust oil shot up to the ceiling indicating a good tight system.



The Iron Bay regulator held tank pressure all night.
Old 05-11-2020, 04:26 AM
  #46206  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Dave, nice Pile-O-Engines.

Curious about the regulator as I have never tried one.

Does the regulator hold pressure when the engine is at idle? For how long?

Do you have to lean the lsn when using a regulator?

Is the transition off idle better using a regulator?
Old 05-11-2020, 04:41 AM
  #46207  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,954
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

If you set the engine up with the tank in a good position there will be no change when the regulator is installed other than you can run the engine right at peak because there is no mixture change from full to empty. Some complain that you can't get the engine much richer than about 250 rpm rich of peak. It is a demand regulator and won't supply much beyond the demand. Which is just fine since there is no longer a need for it. It will idle longer than you need, I've never tried to see if it would run out of pressure. Acceleration is of course clean and crisp without the rich top end. Lube is adequate at peak.
John at Iron Bay was not sure the regulator would feed a Saito 2.20, I cleared that up for him.


Saito 2.20 with Iron Bay regulator.

Last edited by Hobbsy; 05-11-2020 at 04:45 AM. Reason: Add content and picture
Old 05-11-2020, 05:00 AM
  #46208  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Thanks Dave

Seems like that would save on fuel costs too.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 05-11-2020 at 05:30 AM.
Old 05-11-2020, 07:24 AM
  #46209  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 11,400
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hobbsy View Post
My Saito 50's collection is a little excessive. Three 50's and two 56's, both 56's are silver, the one on the RCM 40 is all original.

A side note, I had an Iron Bay regulator on the 50 I ran yesterday, when I went to remove the engine from the PSP, I pulled the pressure release plug and residual exhaust oil shot up to the ceiling indicating a good tight system.



The Iron Bay regulator held tank pressure all night.
The Saito .56 looks really good in Pink! I was working on the Pink N' Poke yesterday, the engine mount area is liteply and a little chewed up so I need to reinforce it before mounting Pinky Saito. I plan on digging out some 1/8" plywood to do that. I did lengthen the engine cavity to allow for the velocity stack (original meant to go the missing .80) I put on this engine. THANKS DAVE!

Gary did yo see the PM I sent?

Mike
Old 05-11-2020, 11:33 AM
  #46210  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default


be careful Saito guys !
boy, I could not find a Phone Number on this site. well am I glad I did a bit of searching before ordering, I have now removed this site's link from my favorites list !

the BBB site
https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/escondido/...stomer-reviews


Store,,
Active Powersports - RC Car Parts Accessories - Traxxas HPI Ofna Team Associated Kyosho

Jim
Old 05-11-2020, 11:51 AM
  #46211  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hobbsy View Post
If you set the engine up with the tank in a good position there will be no change when the regulator is installed other than you can run the engine right at peak because there is no mixture change from full to empty. Some complain that you can't get the engine much richer than about 250 rpm rich of peak. It is a demand regulator and won't supply much beyond the demand. Which is just fine since there is no longer a need for it. It will idle longer than you need, I've never tried to see if it would run out of pressure. Acceleration is of course clean and crisp without the rich top end. Lube is adequate at peak.
John at Iron Bay was not sure the regulator would feed a Saito 2.20, I cleared that up for him.

Saito 2.20 with Iron Bay regulator.
Dave, as for the Tank Plug you use to stop the fuel line from kinking. good idea, but you could make a much smaller and nicer one now, cause you have a lathe

the only thing I can say that I don't like about the Cline and Iron Bay Reg's is their size, if some one were to put one on the market half the size for half the price there would be many more sold. but with that said the size would not stop me from buying an Iron Bay .

Jim
Old 05-11-2020, 04:02 PM
  #46212  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii View Post
I wanted to run up some today, but its cold and raining. grrrr. Yesterday was nice, but I had work to get done, like maintenance on the JD x500, and getting the grass it's first mowing, which takes a couple hours even with two mowers going. By the time I was done, all the lifting and bending and rough ground bouncing me around killed my back. So today, just going to go to my shop and replace the motor mounts on the SSE and call it ready for maiden. Maybe put the drawer handles on the workbench and give the drawer fronts a coat of Minwax. Then maybe get around to organizing the work benches now that I have drawers to put stuff in. I also have two doors to find hinges for to mount on the workbench.

Daaaang, nice cabinet. Build it yourself? Your mini mill and lathe look happy there.
Old 05-11-2020, 04:56 PM
  #46213  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,959
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
Daaaang, nice cabinet. Build it yourself? Your mini mill and lathe look happy there.
Yes I did, Thanks. two sheets of 3/4" plywood, one sheet of MDF and a few other smaller sheets of ply and some hardwood and built a strong sturdy cabinet with a solid top. The mill and lathe are anchored with nutserts in the MDF so they wont move. I couldn't get over the match of the sun yellow Rustoleum paint to the paint on the Laser. It still has to have the drawer faces coated with Poly and handles put on, but haven't had a chance yet.

I decided to pull the cloth off my Chipmunk and recover it with plastic, and that came in today. The colors are very close to the rustoleum I used, so the cowl will match, but I need a whiter white since the Rustoleum turned yellow. If the FA100 will mount to the same holes as the Magnum 91, I may swap engines, but if they don't I will keep the Magnum on it.
Old 05-11-2020, 05:14 PM
  #46214  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Nice job acdii.

Yes, the mounting hole centers of an os/magnum 91fs are close enough to an fa100 to work. I just swapped out my fa100 with an os91 on my 4*60, selling the plane that way. The prop hub is further out from the mounting holes on the fa100 than the os91 though.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 05-11-2020 at 05:17 PM.
Old 05-11-2020, 07:31 PM
  #46215  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 11,400
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

The bench is really nice except it needs more balsa dust on it, get to work!
Old 05-12-2020, 05:24 AM
  #46216  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,959
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
Nice job acdii.

Yes, the mounting hole centers of an os/magnum 91fs are close enough to an fa100 to work. I just swapped out my fa100 with an os91 on my 4*60, selling the plane that way. The prop hub is further out from the mounting holes on the fa100 than the os91 though.
Thats the part I am concerned with, don't want a huge gap between the cowl and spinner, I also have to see if the head fits the cowl opening, I don't really want to have to make a new cowl, even though I can since I have a mod for it.

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
The bench is really nice except it needs more balsa dust on it, get to work!
Its my machining bench, balsa dust on it would be bad. Besides, I got a new control board and filters for my shop air cleaner to combat the dust. Worked great when I routed the drawer and door faces. My balsa benches are on the other side of the shop too, don't want dust in the laser.
Old 05-12-2020, 04:01 PM
  #46217  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

New APC are all balanced. The worst was the 15x8, it took 30-40 strokes with 220 grit emery cloth to blade balance. The rest were in perfect blade balance after dulling the TE. Hub balance was perfect on all 6.

The factory 125 muffler tailpiece arrived a couple of days ago, thanks Gary!

All set for the 115/125 shootout, waiting on weather.

Old 05-12-2020, 04:15 PM
  #46218  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 11,400
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Let the tests begin!
Old 05-12-2020, 04:18 PM
  #46219  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Whether or not depends on weather or not
Old 05-12-2020, 05:36 PM
  #46220  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,959
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

If weather holds out like they forecast I think I will see if I can get the YS63 running in the Liberty Sport. I just now realized I never put a needle extension on that one. I looked everywhere to find instructions on setting up the regulator and came up empty, so hoping it works now that it is clean.
Old 05-12-2020, 06:52 PM
  #46221  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
New APC are all balanced. The worst was the 15x8, it took 30-40 strokes with 220 grit emery cloth to blade balance. The rest were in perfect blade balance after dulling the TE. Hub balance was perfect on all 6.

The factory 125 muffler tailpiece arrived a couple of days ago, thanks Gary!

All set for the 115/125 shootout, waiting on weather.
I sure hope you have a 15x7 to try, something tells me that will do well on the 115.

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 05-12-2020 at 06:54 PM.
Old 05-13-2020, 03:29 AM
  #46222  
Captcrunch44
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,589
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii View Post
If weather holds out like they forecast I think I will see if I can get the YS63 running in the Liberty Sport. I just now realized I never put a needle extension on that one. I looked everywhere to find instructions on setting up the regulator and came up empty, so hoping it works now that it is clean.
one of your Saito’s scarfed up the instruction and spit them in the garbage.
there as confused as I that you are run such engine in your liberty sport
Old 05-13-2020, 04:20 AM
  #46223  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,755
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp View Post
I sure hope you have a 15x7 to try, something tells me that will do well on the 115.

Jim
Don't have a 15x7 but my 15x6 and 15x8 will tell the story. Kinda wish I had a 14x10 to see what rpm Pete might be getting from his 115.

Don't be looking for test runs for a while, lots of rain here for the next 7 days. High humidity is not conducive to testing IC engines turning props. It's a double whamy, moisture displaces fuel in the intake charge and props are harder to turn in moist air. I'll wait for conditions to improve.



Last edited by Glowgeek; 05-13-2020 at 04:50 AM.
Old 05-13-2020, 05:56 AM
  #46224  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,959
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44 View Post
one of your Saito’s scarfed up the instruction and spit them in the garbage.
there as confused as I that you are run such engine in your liberty sport
Power to weight ratio. It is the lightest engine I have with the power to fly it. I was going to put the Gemini II 120 on it, but would have needed 7 ounces of dead weight in the tail, then considered the FA100, but would have still needed dead weight in the tail. The next engine I have without dead weight in the tail is the YS63, so thats what is on it.
Old 05-13-2020, 06:07 AM
  #46225  
Captcrunch44
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,589
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I still say there’s a Saito revolt.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.