Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 01-06-2021, 12:26 PM
  #49426  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Yep, and scan in 29" wide and scale them up 125% and print out 36.25". Thats what the 1/10th scale B-17 plans are and need to scale up to 1/8th scale with.
Old 01-06-2021, 12:50 PM
  #49427  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 14,174
Received 275 Likes on 240 Posts
Default

I have only had one set of plans I couldn't get printed. I had to go to architectural printer to get my Brian Taylor Spitfire MK1a plans duplicated, they wereover 44". I had them do a TF P-51D at the same time.
Old 01-06-2021, 06:22 PM
  #49428  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Well, I didn't know you were into warbirds Mike. Good to know.
Old 01-06-2021, 07:07 PM
  #49429  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Decision has been made, had to discuss with the ol lady first, she approved. She saw the benefit of it too. I called the Office Depot to find out about the cost of scanning my plans. $4 a square foot. Just one sheet of the B-17 plans would be $80. I figure send me a prepaid return tube with the plans and i will scan them for $.50 a foot, not square foot, but foot and send back the plans and email or drop box the digital copy. I have to see how far ink stretches, but thinking to print from file, $3 a foot, and scan to print $3.50 a foot. The printer ink is only $40 a refill, but there are 6 colors. I have a dozen plans to import, and a few to print out, and a couple to enlarge, so it will get a lot of use right from the start, once I get it in my shop that is, it weighs 226 pounds. I my need to do the same as I did with the laser and take it apart.
Old 01-06-2021, 08:29 PM
  #49430  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 14,174
Received 275 Likes on 240 Posts
Default

Well let us know when you get started, maybe you could drop an ad into the classified ads on this and a couple of boards?
Old 01-06-2021, 08:57 PM
  #49431  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC
Well let us know when you get started, maybe you could drop an ad into the classified ads on this and a couple of boards?
Thats actually one of the first things i considered to make it a viable purchase. Between this and the short kits I have already proofed, I should be able to at least pay for the upkeep.
Old 01-07-2021, 03:16 AM
  #49432  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,140
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Dave, I trial fitted my 182 in the Rascal a few years ago. Occured to me at ghe time it would work out better with carbs on the belly.
Thanks Gary, so far I can't wrap my mind around an inverted twin, I think my 150 or 180 may end up on there. Though, maybe with two Turbo Headers facing rearward on top would look really cool.
Old 01-07-2021, 04:10 AM
  #49433  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,789
Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1200SportsterRider
Thanks Gary, so far I can't wrap my mind around an inverted twin, I think my 150 or 180 may end up on there. Though, maybe with two Turbo Headers facing rearward on top would look really cool.

Me too, at first. But I did set that aside and the more I thought about it, the better it looked
Old 01-07-2021, 06:01 AM
  #49434  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Gary, UPS tracking shows delivery of the FA125 to you on Monday at 2:10. I hope it arrived undamaged.
Old 01-07-2021, 06:25 AM
  #49435  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,789
Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Yes, it arrived

Havent had time to take it apart yet.

Last edited by Jesse Open; 01-07-2021 at 06:32 AM.
Old 01-07-2021, 12:15 PM
  #49436  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Yes, it arrived

Havent had time to take it apart yet.
Let me know what you find, I pride myself in only shipping engines that are ready to run, unless otherwise stated of course.
Old 01-07-2021, 01:32 PM
  #49437  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,789
Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

No biggy

I sell them both as "ready to run" or otherwise "as-is" The ready to run are engines that I have run and know to be good running engines. The as-is are usually engines that came to me used or in parts, and described that way, may or may not need parts etc as determined by the buyer. Eiher way, every single engine goes with a full, shipping both ways money back warranty

As a buyer, I actually prefer to get them before somebody else replaced parts.



Last edited by Jesse Open; 01-07-2021 at 01:35 PM.
Old 01-07-2021, 01:53 PM
  #49438  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

I have both pipes brazed together now, and at the point of, do I cut, or don't I cut the cowl.






I may get a coil of 1/4" and give it another try, these are a bit too large for the appearance, but only for the outlets since 1/4" will slip right into the 3/8.
Old 01-07-2021, 02:08 PM
  #49439  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Wow Todd, those pipes look killer!
The following users liked this post:
acdii (01-07-2021)
Old 01-07-2021, 03:07 PM
  #49440  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 14,174
Received 275 Likes on 240 Posts
Default

Yeah, those pipes are impressive!
Old 01-07-2021, 03:11 PM
  #49441  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Thanks, still not 100% satisfied, they are too large for my liking and not sure how well they will hold up since the tubing the nut is on is very thin and a bit twisted, prone to cracking from fatigue. Going to give the 1/4" a try but need to pick some up first.

Here is the alternative using the stock pipes.






If the stock pipes weren't so damned expensive I would cut them near the head and join them to the copper.
Old 01-07-2021, 07:10 PM
  #49442  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,393
Likes: 0
Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

acdii, check out this site, click my link. maybe they can help you with your pipes.
make sure you click on "3-D Canisters and Pipes" on the upper-left.

I think you could send him your pipes and he will copy them in aluminum to the ID you want.

it will only cost you money, but what's money in this hobby LOL

Jim
http://www.planebenderproducts.com/index.html

Last edited by the Wasp; 01-07-2021 at 07:13 PM.
Old 01-08-2021, 06:22 AM
  #49443  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
acdii, check out this site, click my link. maybe they can help you with your pipes.
make sure you click on "3-D Canisters and Pipes" on the upper-left.

I think you could send him your pipes and he will copy them in aluminum to the ID you want.

it will only cost you money, but what's money in this hobby LOL

Jim
3-d canisters and pipe

That's cheating though and takes away from the hobby for me. I could easily go with someone else ready made solution, but there's no challenge to that. Thats what I love about this hobby, the challenges of making things work the way you want. Had I known I would have this engine for it before I built is, I would have had the fuse configured to bring the pipes out the scale location via a tube.
Old 01-08-2021, 06:48 AM
  #49444  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii
That's cheating though and takes away from the hobby for me. I could easily go with someone else ready made solution, but there's no challenge to that. Thats what I love about this hobby, the challenges of making things work the way you want. Had I known I would have this engine for it before I built is, I would have had the fuse configured to bring the pipes out the scale location via a tube.
So there's your challenge Todd, mod the fuse for the factory exhaust locations and make it look like it never happened.

On many of the used ARFs I buy my challange is to undo the stupidity of the manufacturer and the previous owner and make it look new. Most times they come out looking very nice. The only real drawback is the expense of buying whole rolls of this or that color to repair small areas of damaged or peeling film. Same thing with repairing and repainting cowls. That's ok though, I'll use it all eventually.
Old 01-08-2021, 09:04 AM
  #49445  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

I gave it thought, but would require more work than it is worth, with no guarantee that it will actually work. I could cause more damage to the plane that would need to then be repaired and then have to repaint it which means waiting until the spring since it is 2K clear. At this point I know the stock one will work, just not look as good. I also need the space in the nose for the glow control and retract module and both batteries. Which reminds me, need to weigh the plane again.
Old 01-08-2021, 04:18 PM
  #49446  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default FG14C Woes

I have an FG14C that's giving me fits. Ran enough fuel to get it broke in but it's still not running right. Compression is great now, starts and idles fine, runs strong at wot but runs stupid rich from just above idle to around 4k. When I lean the lsn enough to get it smoothed out in the low rpm range the hsn will not richen at wot(A good indication that the lsn is set too lean). I've tried numerous times leaning the lsn a tiny bit at a time but in the end I get the same result. With needle settings I can get it to run fine from idle to 4K or 4K to WOT, just not both with one needle setting. Weird but a challenge to figure out. Good times.

So far I've tried the following:
Checked Cam Timing
Checked Ignition Timing
Checked valve lash
Fresh fuel
Cleaned Carb and Pump Assembly
Pump Diaphrams are good
Pump pulse port is unobstructed
Bearings are smooth and spin freely

Dave sent me a new ignition to try, hopefully that fixes it. If not it could have bad muffler bearings or be low on blinker fluid. I haven't checked those yet.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 01-08-2021 at 04:30 PM.
Old 01-08-2021, 05:16 PM
  #49447  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,789
Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
So there's your challenge Todd, mod the fuse for the factory exhaust locations and make it look like it never happened.

On many of the used ARFs I buy my challange is to undo the stupidity of the manufacturer and the previous owner and make it look new. Most times they come out looking very nice. The only real drawback is the expense of buying whole rolls of this or that color to repair small areas of damaged or peeling film. Same thing with repairing and repainting cowls. That's ok though, I'll use it all eventually.

Ah yes, the the seeming mission impossible; Second guessing the idiot ARF designers and previous owners. Correcting stupidity is always tough.

As an alternative, the short sighted, lazy folks often take the easy way out and build from scratch.
Old 01-08-2021, 07:17 PM
  #49448  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,393
Likes: 0
Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii
That's cheating though and takes away from the hobby for me. I could easily go with someone else ready made solution, but there's no challenge to that. Thats what I love about this hobby, the challenges of making things work the way you want. Had I known I would have this engine for it before I built is, I would have had the fuse configured to bring the pipes out the scale location via a tube.

I sure understand that !

as for your bends, maybe this will help. in the past I have turned 2" OD hard wood on the lathe. cut a slot, and bent tubbing in the slot and it worked great, the funny of it, I also did it with an OS SX50 piston. I cut the ring slot a bit deeper/a bit wider. it worked

Jim
Old 01-09-2021, 09:03 AM
  #49449  
Hyjinx
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 955
Received 31 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

Hey AllI have located some bendable pipe to try to make a ring for my five cylinder.
Saw a post about a low melting point pot metal to fill the tube with for bending.
like to try that as I haven't had good success with other methods I have already done bending with prior to this project.
Was that mentioned here?
Old 01-09-2021, 09:17 AM
  #49450  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,622
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Why not cap and solder/braze one end, fill with sand, cap solder/braze other end end, bend and then cut ends off. Or cap and solder/braze one end shut, stand pipe up, fill with water, freeze and bend.

I'm not sure if either would work but hot sand is commonly used to bend plastic pipe for pvc structures. The bends come out looking quite nice.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 01-09-2021 at 09:22 AM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.