Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 03-25-2023, 02:16 PM
  #53651  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 13,807
Received 184 Likes on 168 Posts
Default

Sounds like you got a lot of work done.
Old 03-26-2023, 02:20 AM
  #53652  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Yes sir, I have the engine mounts here but mounting F1 is the last step for some reason, the 125 is anxious to get on there. I am going to power the CHI with a 7.4 volt battery and the receiver with a 6.6 volt LIFE battery. What does coreless mean? The servos are all JR E 355 except the throttle.

I have these Hangar 9 mounts in 120 size.

6.6V servo, good with Li-Fe battery set up [Control Signal Type] PWM Only [Stall Torque] 3.0 kgf-cm (6.6V) / 41.7 oz-in (6.6V) [Speed] 0.1 Sec/60 (6.6V) [Weight] 25 g / 0.88 oz [diemension] 35 x 15 x 30 mm / 1.38 x 0.59x 1.18 in [Length of lead harness] 250mm [Operating Voltage] 4.8V - 7.0V (Li-Fe 6.6v recommended

This tiny little guy will be the throttle servo.

Last edited by 1200SportsterRider; 03-26-2023 at 03:00 AM. Reason: Add image
Old 03-28-2023, 04:57 AM
  #53653  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

The 125-A is mounted on the mounts and F-1 drilled for them, I'll drill F-2 and F-3 through F-1. I don't have any M4 x 35 mm bolts to bolt it to the firewall, I will hit Micro Fasteners up for them in a couple of minutes. I'm still having fun with it.
Da pitcher loader ain't werkin ryte now.


This 150 sure needs a cylinder.

Last edited by 1200SportsterRider; 03-28-2023 at 06:05 AM. Reason: Add picture
Old 03-28-2023, 05:12 AM
  #53654  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 501
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Saito FA 100T, twin glow

Looking for flexible mufflers. The nut size is 10mm .
just bot a plane thats been hanging from the ceiling of lhs. Has the engine but missing mufflers. The engine was never run
Old 03-28-2023, 06:09 AM
  #53655  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rafeeki
Looking for flexible mufflers. The nut size is 10mm .
just bot a plane thats been hanging from the ceiling of lhs. Has the engine but missing mufflers. The engine was never run

They are a mite pricey. https://www.horizonhobby.com/product.../SAI65142.html
Old 03-28-2023, 06:15 AM
  #53656  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 501
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yep saw that, but that's why I'm here on this site.

Thanks anyway, might try using a flaring tool on a copper tube.
Old 03-28-2023, 12:40 PM
  #53657  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,463
Received 79 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Flared copper is not likely to survive well.
A machined ring, hard silver-soldered (brazed) in place, and the proper gland-nut setup similar to the factory setup





works well.
Old 03-28-2023, 12:46 PM
  #53658  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 501
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Muffler

Thanks for your pics, links and description.
what is the tube material?
Old 03-28-2023, 01:07 PM
  #53659  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,463
Received 79 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Material is brass in this example. Mild steel, thinwall tubing works well too.
Old 03-28-2023, 05:49 PM
  #53660  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

hey guys. I sure we all are a bit alike. meaning we all don't have every type of grease made just setting on our shelfs in our shops.

well. I replace the sliding-gibs on my Sherline Mill. I don't want to do that again LOL. Sherline recommends oil to oil the gibs and the metal to metal dovetails on the opposite side of the table. I tried that but knew the oil would drip. and it did. I didn't have a thin grease. but I'm smarter than the average bear. well. so I didn't have to buy some $$$ grease that I knew would be setting around for 15 years or loger I thought I would try something. I took Kendal's SHP auto grease (that I have had setting around for 17 years unopen) and mixed in drop by drop by drop Quaker 80-90 gear Lube. and it mixed up very well and thinned out the grease and as I waited for parts to come I let it set a week and it didn't separate. and it seems to be working slick. yee-up, "slick's" the word.
now I have to find a reason to use the Mill.

later.
Jim
Old 03-29-2023, 01:42 AM
  #53661  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

(quote) hey guys. I sure we all are a bit alike. meaning we all don't have every type of grease made just setting on our shelfs in our shops."

Now Jim, I don't know if I'd go that far. Slick is good though, good job. This is one of my fave's for a long time.


Last edited by 1200SportsterRider; 03-29-2023 at 01:58 AM. Reason: Add image
Old 03-29-2023, 05:51 AM
  #53662  
Cougar429
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cougar429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tecumseh, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Jim, I was a Millwright for over 20 years and all the Bridgeports had a manual pump lube system we loaded with Way 68. All our other CNC mills with ways and Gibbs, as well as anything with linear bearings basically used the same setup.Those had an internal pump cycle timed through the controller. Only issue is if stagnant for any length of time the Waylube tends to have the wax component settle out.

Otherwise, if you want a long lasting and tenacious grease I would recommend a graphite lube. Just avoid touching any as it is a bit messy. There are also high-pressure greases that have some serious surfactant qualities, meaning they'll stay where applied and not squeeze out under load.

Don't use anything like Anti-Seize.

ps. I have worked with Waylube as thick as 220. That has the flow characteristics of epoxy!.

Last edited by Cougar429; 03-29-2023 at 05:55 AM.
Old 03-29-2023, 08:58 AM
  #53663  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 936
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Jim
Great job, you are done.
I have an old south bend lathe that they say should be maintained with 3 different lubes. I use what ever is handy at the time. Still going strong, 80 years old ( the lathe that is).
Old 03-29-2023, 06:16 PM
  #53664  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1200SportsterRider
(quote) hey guys. I sure we all are a bit alike. meaning we all don't have every type of grease made just setting on our shelfs in our shops."

Now Jim, I don't know if I'd go that far. Slick is good though, good job. This is one of my fave's for a long time.

LOL Dave, I like your replay, made me laugh LOL. but I have to say I have not heard of this Lubriplate. but I'm sure my Super Sophisticated Mix will not hold up forever, so I will look it up.

Jim
Old 03-29-2023, 06:30 PM
  #53665  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cougar429
Jim, I was a Millwright for over 20 years and all the Bridgeports had a manual pump lube system we loaded with Way 68. All our other CNC mills with ways and Gibbs, as well as anything with linear bearings basically used the same setup.Those had an internal pump cycle timed through the controller. Only issue is if stagnant for any length of time the Waylube tends to have the wax component settle out.
Otherwise, if you want a long lasting and tenacious grease I would recommend a graphite lube. Just avoid touching any as it is a bit messy. There are also high-pressure greases that have some serious surfactant qualities, meaning they'll stay where applied and not squeeze out under load.
Don't use anything like Anti-Seize.
ps. I have worked with Waylube as thick as 220. That has the flow characteristics of epoxy!.
I use the Quaker gear oil for the ways on my Lathe. when it's gone I plain to get some thicker stuff. I don't use my lathe much either. but what makes me wonder, is, after I use the oil I can't find where it goes after I use the carriage or tail stock? LOL

Jim
Old 03-29-2023, 06:44 PM
  #53666  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kmeyers
Jim
Great job, you are done.
I have an old south bend lathe that they say should be maintained with 3 different lubes. I use what ever is handy at the time. Still going strong, 80 years old ( the lathe that is).
Southbend; that is what I learned on in 12th grade. I can't remember what size it was but it's cross section must have been somewhere around 40 inches. we had 8 or 9 lathes of different brands and sizes, 2 of them must have had a 7ft cross section.

I found a nice and clean Bridgeport Mill, you know, it's some 7ft tall. and it had the CNC added. all for $2,700. but I have no place for it and I don't know that much about machining. and I don't have all the other goodies I would need.

Jim
Old 03-30-2023, 02:44 AM
  #53667  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I have this Micro Mark Lathe, it's the smaller of the two they make. I use Corrosion X on the, "rails", is that what you're calling the "ways". Everything that turns is ball bearings.

Old 03-30-2023, 04:14 AM
  #53668  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 13,807
Received 184 Likes on 168 Posts
Default

Nice one!
Old 03-30-2023, 01:59 PM
  #53669  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default


The prime mover is fitted and temporarily mounted, a 16 OZ Roto Flow tank is in place, lots of finishing touches now, there will be plenty of room beside the tank for the CHI and it's battery.
Old 03-30-2023, 02:48 PM
  #53670  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 13,807
Received 184 Likes on 168 Posts
Default

Outstanding!
Old 03-30-2023, 07:22 PM
  #53671  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1200SportsterRider
I have this Micro Mark Lathe, it's the smaller of the two they make. I use Corrosion X on the, "rails", is that what you're calling the "ways". Everything that turns is ball bearings.
yes Sir it is.
I thought you bought a Sherline. you see a lot of those Micro Mark lathes on YouTube. they cut really nice.

Jim

Old 03-31-2023, 06:37 AM
  #53672  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 936
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Is the 125 smiling now in it's new home?
How is it going to feel when it is removed to work on the fuse?
Be gentle and supportive.
Old 03-31-2023, 07:09 AM
  #53673  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

It smiles, and is mounted in the PSP for a final run up and a little more break in.
Old 04-02-2023, 03:01 PM
  #53674  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 919
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I fired up the little lathe pictured above and made an offset adapter for Saito 125 so I wouldn't have to run the throttle cable over top of the fuel tank. I still need to drill and tap for the inboard grub screw. Both ends are a snug slip onto the carb barrel and into the throttle arm.

Last edited by 1200SportsterRider; 04-02-2023 at 03:04 PM. Reason: Add comment
Old 04-02-2023, 06:23 PM
  #53675  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,273
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

good going Dave!

Jim

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.