Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 05-04-2023, 06:58 PM
  #53851  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,659
Received 89 Likes on 81 Posts
Default

Saito used a special reducing bushing on radials in order to adapt the smaller exhaust port up to a larger pipe.
I do believe that I ssnt some to Dave a couple years ago.

Last edited by Jesse Open; 05-04-2023 at 07:00 PM.
Old 05-04-2023, 11:55 PM
  #53852  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

well I have had enough for today. I guess it's time to go to bed. can some tell me where I can find/buy a 5/16x20 left hand tap ???

the guy will give me my money back. he found my Lead Screw is most likely 5/16x20, my Lead Screw OD is correct (.312" ) and it is 20 tooth per-inch. my Jett lathe is older than the Grizzly so he doesn't make the standard thread nut. but I have asked him if I buy the tap will he make a nut for me. hopefully he will.

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 05-05-2023 at 12:03 AM.
Old 05-05-2023, 02:07 AM
  #53853  
Cougar429
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cougar429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tecumseh, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,228
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

O/K, have a question for everyone here. Years ago I rebuilt a 150 and after testing sold it to a friend I taught to fly. May have the chance to get it back.

Reason is I am getting close on this years build project, a 30CC Goldwing Pitts Python. Have been fastidiously keeping the weight down, but with the heavier servos final AUW may push 12-13 lbs. Know the 125 bolted on now would make it fly, but not likely hover. Wondered if the 150, at the rated 2.5 HP would have the pull.

NOTE: The recommended DLE 30 specs out for 3.7 HP. If went that way would need an entirely new support system, (storage, pump, etc) and would need to keep it stored in the trailer due to smell. Would prefer to remain nitro, even if invested in ignition system.

Thoughts on this one?



Last edited by Cougar429; 05-05-2023 at 02:09 AM.
Old 05-05-2023, 04:54 AM
  #53854  
RC Specialties
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 812
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info Glowgeek.
Old 05-05-2023, 05:08 AM
  #53855  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,490
Received 61 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cougar429
O/K, have a question for everyone here. Years ago I rebuilt a 150 and after testing sold it to a friend I taught to fly. May have the chance to get it back.

Reason is I am getting close on this years build project, a 30CC Goldwing Pitts Python. Have been fastidiously keeping the weight down, but with the heavier servos final AUW may push 12-13 lbs. Know the 125 bolted on now would make it fly, but not likely hover. Wondered if the 150, at the rated 2.5 HP would have the pull.

NOTE: The recommended DLE 30 specs out for 3.7 HP. If went that way would need an entirely new support system, (storage, pump, etc) and would need to keep it stored in the trailer due to smell. Would prefer to remain nitro, even if invested in ignition system.

Thoughts on this one?
A closer match to a DLE 30 for power would be a Saito FA-180. It only weighs an ounce or so more than the 150 but makes gobs more power. The difference in price when buying preowned is only about $30. If you need to add nose weight with a 180 I'd recommend bumping up to the FA-220, keeps up with 30cc gassers no problem.

Old 05-13-2023, 06:29 PM
  #53856  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

well buys, you got to do what you got to do. I can't let me lathe set for years and years. or sell it broken for nothing. I sent my broken Slide Nut to the guy and his metric Lead Screw don't fit the nut. so my lead screw must be a standard thread, Left Hand 5/16x20 as I have always believed. so I ordered the Tap and correct drill "G". I hated to pay $67 for a tap I will use just once but I looked and looked and looked and could not find one that cost less. but I will have my lathe back. they should be hear Monday. I have a guy that wants me to make him some brass hose barbs for his old out board engine.

PS. where is everyone.

Jim
Old 05-13-2023, 07:57 PM
  #53857  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 13,992
Received 226 Likes on 202 Posts
Default

It has been mighty quiet of late.
Old 05-14-2023, 07:25 AM
  #53858  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,490
Received 61 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

Can't speak for everyone but I've been very busy with work and homecare for the Polish Princess. Dave is gone on a fishing vacation for a week or two to Lake of the Ozarks, Mo.
Old 05-14-2023, 11:39 AM
  #53859  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 13,992
Received 226 Likes on 202 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
Can't speak for everyone but I've been very busy with work and homecare for the Polish Princess. Dave is gone on a fishing vacation for a week or two to Lake of the Ozarks, Mo.
I guess Dave must be in Misery!
Old 05-14-2023, 02:02 PM
  #53860  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,659
Received 89 Likes on 81 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
well buys, you got to do what you got to do. I can't let me lathe set for years and years. or sell it broken for nothing. I sent my broken Slide Nut to the guy and his metric Lead Screw don't fit the nut. so my lead screw must be a standard thread, Left Hand 5/16x20 as I have always believed. so I ordered the Tap and correct drill "G". I hated to pay $67 for a tap I will use just once but I looked and looked and looked and could not find one that cost less. but I will have my lathe back. they should be hear Monday. I have a guy that wants me to make him some brass hose barbs for his old out board engine.

PS. where is everyone.

Jim
Well gee whiz! Come on Jim, the lathe really wants to tell you.
Are your feed dials marked in metric or inch units? They put inch threads on inch lathes and metric threads on metric calibrated lathes.

How far do the dials show per revolution?
Bear in mind, many dials read double the actual movement because they are reading the overall diameter, not the radius from center.



Old 05-14-2023, 06:40 PM
  #53861  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,490
Received 61 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

I've always heard the lead screws weren't a standard machine screw thread. Acme, square or buttress threads come to mind but that was 40 years ago.
Old 05-14-2023, 07:12 PM
  #53862  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

my dials are standard. and they are very acute, so their diameter is correct to the thread's (20) tooth count. I will have to test it again when I get my new nut. god I hope it's the correct tap.

someone tell me how the Acme thread is different? cause my tooth gauge fits the tread perfect.

Jim
Old 05-14-2023, 08:55 PM
  #53863  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

OK, I looked up the Acme thread on the net, my Lead screw threads have a sharper angle, and the crest is sharp, unlike Acme's.
I got to say I have seen them many times over the years. but as for the name, it's been a long time since machine shop in high school.

Jim
Old 05-15-2023, 07:57 AM
  #53864  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,659
Received 89 Likes on 81 Posts
Default

If you looked back a bit, I believe that I mentioned ACME threads, along with a comment that many people use two or three passes with different taps to cut them.

The DIAL MARKINGS on your feed dial will tell you EXACTLY if the screw used is METRIC or INCH. They will also tell you the EXACT pitch.

Pitch is pitch, regardless the thread FORM or type (Single Start Thread).




From the 1954 (11th Edition) Machinery's Handbook. Even the cheapest lathe owner should have a Machinery's Handbook! LOL !


Keep em in the bookcase, right next to the (American made) lathe.

Last edited by Jesse Open; 05-15-2023 at 08:27 AM.
Old 05-15-2023, 12:25 PM
  #53865  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

yee-up. "size in decimals for thread count" just^ what I found a few days before I ordered the tap.
drill sizes
G=.2610,
17/64=.2656.
H=.2660,
let's not worry about the half-thousands LOL. I gave the guy the choice. he picked "G" drill. there was another drill at .264. but I can't remember what size was used to refer to it.
so I received the tap today. held it up to the teeth on my Lead and it fit better than my old thread gauge. I should get the drill today too. I will drill/tap some aluminum before I send the 2 to the guy. hopefully he will buy my $67 Tap for half price LOL. without the use of the correct tools I have a very simple and good method of getting the tap straight on my mill.

oops, edit. and Gary's chart has another decimal size of .2624.

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 05-15-2023 at 12:35 PM.
Old 05-15-2023, 12:52 PM
  #53866  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

The DIAL MARKINGS on your feed dial will tell you EXACTLY if the screw used is METRIC or INCH. They will also tell you the EXACT pitch
Gary, I have had my lathe for some 29 years. mine only tells me decimal, it doesn't tell me pitch, the manual doesn't tell me pitch ether. the new lathes of the same model are the same way. that is why I had so many problems, even the guy that makes the nuts was surprised to find my Lead has standard threads.

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 05-15-2023 at 12:57 PM.
Old 05-15-2023, 02:13 PM
  #53867  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,490
Received 61 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp
Gary, I have had my lathe for some 29 years. mine only tells me decimal, it doesn't tell me pitch, the manual doesn't tell me pitch ether. the new lathes of the same model are the same way. that is why I had so many problems, even the guy that makes the nuts was surprised to find my Lead has standard threads.

Jim
It DOES tell you pitch Jim......mathematically. If one complete rotation of your indicator moves your tool rest inward 0.050" then your leadscrew thread pitch is 20.
1"ų 0.050"=20.

As Gary said, don't assume that your tool rest moves inward the same amount as the indicator says, it may move inward half that far because you are cutting a diameter and some lathes are set up that way. Take a reference measurement first, turn the leadscrew one full revolution and remeasure to see how far the tool rest moved.
Old 05-15-2023, 02:55 PM
  #53868  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
It DOES tell you pitch Jim......mathematically. If one complete rotation of your indicator moves your tool rest inward 0.050" then your leadscrew thread pitch is 20.
1"ų 0.050"=20.

As Gary said, don't assume that your tool rest moves inward the same amount as the indicator says, it may move inward half that far because you are cutting a diameter and some lathes are set up that way. Take a reference measurement first, turn the leadscrew one full revolution and remeasure to see how far the tool rest moved.
thank you. I assumed he meant literally. and I have tested that a while back, I said that at one point somewhere.
but the drama continues, I have to laugh cause it's not funny. I received the drill, and,,,,,,, it's shank has a high side, it's not round.

I'm done talking about it, sorry guys.
Jim
Old 05-16-2023, 04:09 PM
  #53869  
brickwoodward
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: titusville florida, FL
Posts: 236
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SigMan
Ys engines has there own Club thread, i figured i would start us one to. so sound off about anything saito. my 91 4[sm=punching.gif]-stroke ROCKS MY SIG SENIOR!
I have several Saitoís, all inherited from passed family and/or friends. I have yet to run one of them, but I sure am looking forward to it. At least two need rebuilding, and a third I need to open and assess status of bearings.
One question I do have? I have an Ultra Stik with a 125 mounted and it needs some check up work and see how close to flying it will be. The two 150ís have velocity stacks, but the 125 doesnít? I donít know the original builder, and the family I got it from has no information. I went on the Horizon sight and looked through about 4-450 items. I saw a stack for the 60, but nothing yet for the 125. I remember when the first Saitoís came to our little field, one member said the velocity stacks made for a smoother running engine. Makes sense to this old hot rodder who has studied and run different manifolds. Iíll get some pics together. Iíve been building and flying Rc since 1978 and although I havenít flown in several years due to other pressing issues, Iím eager to get back in the air. Thank you for adding me, bill
Old 05-17-2023, 02:32 AM
  #53870  
1200SportsterRider
Senior Member
 
1200SportsterRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,045
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

I made these my self, the 50 sized one they sell for everything is a little small for the 125. I made these myself, if you have an extra choke clip I'd gladly make one for you 125.

Old 05-17-2023, 11:07 AM
  #53871  
brickwoodward
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: titusville florida, FL
Posts: 236
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Mr. sportster, that is a very kind and generous offer! Thank you! I now have to locate a choke clip? I have 30 years of some one elseís Rc Gear Iím still sorting through, so it might be a little while?

thanks again, and Iíll keep you updated, bill


Two 72ís and a 150

Last edited by brickwoodward; 05-17-2023 at 11:10 AM.
Old 05-17-2023, 12:33 PM
  #53872  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

LOL hey guys. my American made Drill from McMasters says Brazil on it LOL. now these threads are tighter than the original nut, smoother too.
time to send the Tap, Drill and Lead Screw to Kalamazoo.


Jim




Old 05-17-2023, 12:45 PM
  #53873  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 5,341
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1200SportsterRider
I made these my self, the 50 sized one they sell for everything is a little small for the 125. I made these myself, if you have an extra choke clip I'd gladly make one for you 125.
I have a few of Daves velocity stacks, they look factory made.

​​​​​​​Jim
Old 05-17-2023, 02:24 PM
  #53874  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,490
Received 61 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

Brickwoodward, Saito used the same velocity stacks for 50 through 82 sized engines. Even though they will fit 91 through 125 engines they are a no go as they will limit horse power output. Saito picked up again with velocity stacks on the big blocks e.g. 120,150 and 180, as well as the 220 Zeus.

Dave's custom velocity stacks are VERY nice and port matched. You should take him up on his offer.

Even better yet, get him to make you a brass one so you can solder on a brass nipple to recirculate the crankcase vent spooge into the stack. Keeps your plane MUCH cleaner.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 05-17-2023 at 02:29 PM.
Old 05-17-2023, 06:06 PM
  #53875  
brickwoodward
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: titusville florida, FL
Posts: 236
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
Brickwoodward, Saito used the same velocity stacks for 50 through 82 sized engines. Even though they will fit 91 through 125 engines they are a no go as they will limit horse power output. Saito picked up again with velocity stacks on the big blocks e.g. 120,150 and 180, as well as the 220 Zeus.

Dave's custom velocity stacks are VERY nice and port matched. You should take him up on his offer.

Even better yet, get him to make you a brass one so you can solder on a brass nipple to recirculate the crankcase vent spooge into the stack. Keeps your plane MUCH cleaner.
thanks so much for the info! Iím sure thereís a choke clip somewhere in all the boxes, jars and tins. I just need to find them

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.