Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

PBY-5A Catalina Engines

Old 09-20-2005, 04:59 PM
Newc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PBY-5A Catalina Engines

I'm getting set to build the G&P Sales' 104" PBY-5A Catalina over the winter, and am considering various engines. I have had no experience with twins, so want reliability above all - especially since I really dislike deadsticks over water! Would like the sound of twin four-strokes, but have a lot more experience with two-stroke engines.

The plane is likely to be about 23# and the suggested engines from the kit manufacturer are either .61 two-stroke or 91 four-stroke. Since OS has the 91 and it's basically the same weight as the 61, I would use probably lean toward this if I go with two-stroke. If four-stroke is the way I went, I would think that the Saito 100 would be a good fit for the plane, again since it's about the same weight as their 91. I would also consider the YS 110 for the increased power.

Questions are: Which engines would you suggest and why? With that engine, what three-bladed prop do you recommend? Any other comments greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 09-20-2005, 07:21 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: PBY-5A Catalina Engines

The OS 91 Surpass II is a trouble free engine. A 13 X 6would work nicely.

The Saito 100 has the same bolt pattern and length to the prop hub as the OS 91 Surpass.

A Saito 100 is much more powerful and lighter than the OS engine.

Enjoy,

Jim
Old 09-20-2005, 09:29 PM
3dbob37n

I'm currently building a Joe Bridi Aero Commander with a 71" wingspan and plan on using 4 strokes. Probably two 70's.
The reason I am using four strokes is their reliability at idle. The worst thing that can happen to you is to lose an engine during a missed approach and have to power up and one quits.
In my experience, 4 strokers are better at this than 2 strokers.
The OS 91 is an excellent engine.