Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Magnum 52 vs Magnum 4 stroke 70 or 91

Community
Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Magnum 52 vs Magnum 4 stroke 70 or 91

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 10:34 AM
WILDCRASHWILLY

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Magnum 52 vs Magnum 4 stroke 70 or 91

I would like opinions on an engine switch I'm about to perform. I have some experience with the Saito four strokes but not the magnum four strokes. I have numerous Magnum two strokes all perform excellent except a 52 that I have. I plan to replace it with a comparable powered Magnum four stroke They are letting me pay the difference and exchanging engines for me. My question is, is the RFS 70 comparable or should I consider replacing it with the 91? I also, need to keep in mind prop shaft lengths as the 52 is mounted back as far as it will go. It has a 1/16 inch clearence between the spinner back plate and the front of the fuse cowl ring housing. The fuse does not have a removable cowl the engine is mounted through the opening in the top of the plane. The plane is a Hots built from RCM plans.

Thanks for any info you can share on this subject.
Old 07-17-2006, 12:20 PM
Cyberwolf
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Magnum 52 vs Magnum 4 stroke 70 or 91

Whats wrong with the 52 XLS .
I can share a couple things that I did to mine to get it to run .
1. I changed the carb to a OS fx 46
2. Make sure you run a gasket between the muffler and the engine .Honest this is a biggy !
3.Break it in with a little prop I was told by the Magnum techs to use a 10x6 untill it was fully broke in .I now use a 12x4 lots of power and runs fine .

As far as the length of the engines you can go to tower or hobby people and get the specs .But I think your going to find the 4 strokes are longer.
Old 07-17-2006, 01:01 PM
WILDCRASHWILLY