Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Saito 82 uneven running on large props

Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Saito 82 uneven running on large props

Old 02-27-2008, 05:58 AM
highside

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Saito 82 uneven running on large props

Good morning to you all.

I've been wrestling with a Saito 82 for a few months now, struggling to get it to swing largish props (noise sensitive site etc.). By largish I mean 13x8, 14x7, 14x6, (all APC standard width) so not massive. I am running 5% nitro Southern ModelCraft fuel (great UK stuff!). It's had about 2 hours of running in total, and was run-in according to the book. Valve gaps are spot on.

I'd been through two tank set ups (both tried with and without Cline regulator) plus my usual test stand set-up, plus OS type F, Enya #3 and Firepower medium & warm plugs, plus with and without a velocity stack. Everything had been cleaned and flushed and cleaned and fettled etc till I was blue in the face. Despite all this, it really didn't want to swing a big prop. Taking the main needle progressively from rich through to a lean quit, there was no setting where the engine got "on song", instead it would constantly hunt around, changing by say +/- 300rpm all the time. A change to a 13x7 or 13x6 and off it would go, singing away.

Throughout all this, once the LS needle was set tickover was good and pickup reliable.

Then I found a thread on another site to do with back plate flex on the old design Saito 72. This is inspired me to disassemble the carb, clean and reassemble, sealing everything as I went with thread-lock or PTFE plumbers tape. Note that I didnt find anything amiss at all. I removed the plastic backplate and reinstalled sealing into the cranckcase with PTFE tape.