Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Starting procedure for Saito 125 w/ Cline regulator

Community
Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Starting procedure for Saito 125 w/ Cline regulator

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2010, 02:58 PM
Juice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting procedure for Saito 125 w/ Cline regulator

I have a Saito 125. I broke it in on a stand, adjusted the valves and run it again on the stand. Never flown. That was a few years ago. Today... it's installed in the airplane. The fuel system with a Cline regulator is going in tonight. This is my first time using a regulator. The plumbing seems straight forward and I don't foresee any problems.

My questions are...
1) How does the starting procedure change (if at all) with the Cline regulator installed?
2) Do I need to pressurize the tank before starting? If so, how?
3) I won't have access to the carb to choke it for priming. If this is the case, I would normally just plug the muffler with my finger instead and prime normally. Does this still apply with the Cline regulator installed?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Juice
Old 06-17-2010, 04:04 PM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default RE: Starting procedure for Saito 125 w/ Cline regulator

Juicer, if you can't choke it you can use a fuel bulb to pressurise the tank if you can get to the check valve at the muffler pressure tap. then about 1 second with a starter will fire it instantly. Did you get the check valve right at the pressure tap and the regulator body right at the carb fuel inlet? This will get you the most pressure and the most accurate reading of the fuel demand at the spraybar.
Old 06-17-2010, 04:43 PM
Juice

Thanks Hobbsy. Instead of a fuel bulb (which I don't own, yet) would it be sufficient to use my fuel pump to pump air into the overflow line to pressurize the tank.

So the procedure would go like this...