Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC
Reload this Page >

Digipace II Will Not Discharge 5 Cell Packs

Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Digipace II Will Not Discharge 5 Cell Packs

Old 07-04-2016, 04:02 PM
  #1  
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Digipace II Will Not Discharge 5 Cell Packs

I have two new Ace Digipace IIs that will not discharge 5 cell battery packs. When I activate the discharge switch the units switch to charge immediately. The packs are fully charged and maintain their voltage under a .5 amp load. The Digipaces work well with a four cell pack. Any ideas? Thanks, Dan
Old 07-05-2016, 10:10 AM
  #2  
jaymen
 
jaymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 620
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Switch S4 could have a bad contact.
Old 07-05-2016, 02:43 PM
  #3  
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Jay. I'll give it a good cleaning with some contact cleaning solvent. I would hate to have to try to replace it. Dan.
Old 07-06-2016, 05:06 PM
  #4  
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jay, according to the schematic and position on the board the cell selection switch is S3. I cleaned the contacts as much as I could and operated the switch more than a dozen times but no luck. There may be more to this than just the switch. The two units are brand new. Dan.
Old 07-13-2016, 02:26 PM
  #5  
EloyM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (194)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Send them to Jay and let him worry about it!
Even if they are new, they are still old (90s or so) and it may be that age has caused some component drifting and the cut-off voltage has changed. I have information on how to recalibrate it - the cut-off voltage. It states that "it is necessary to t have an accurate digital voltmeter". Bear in mind that a Horrible Freight freebie voltmeter does not qualify as "accurate".
if you want a copy of the info, send me you postal address & I'll send one off. Eloy (Santa Ana)
Old 07-14-2016, 02:39 PM
  #6  
jaymen
 
jaymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 620
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

R24 controls the cutoff voltage in the 5,6,and 7 cell position. It should be 1.58K for five cells, 1.87K for six cells. Maybe someone set it up for 6 cells instead of 5 cells.
Old 07-18-2016, 02:14 PM
  #7  
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Eloy, I just received the information. I appreciate the inputs but I'm ready to switch and go modern. I ordered a two cell 2500mah LiFe pack from NOBS Batteries. I'll get my 90 minutes of flying out of them with a more than two to one margin. After some bench testing I'll put it in one of my planes.Dan


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	TBD.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	114.7 KB
ID:	2173478  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.