Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC
Reload this Page >

Vintage transmitter with modern receiver

Community
Search
Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Vintage transmitter with modern receiver

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 09:11 PM
maxpower1954

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vintage transmitter with modern receiver

I finally got around to test flying my idea - a vintage transmitter (in this case a 1966 Citizen-Ship model DPT five channel) and modern receiver (Futaba R114H AM on 27.145) with modern servos (FMA S70.) The victim: my Hobby Lobby electric Wingo, which I have been flying since 1999, probably the oldest Wingo in the country! She's had a full life, and is the most expendable model I own.

I snagged the Citizen-Ship off ebay and was very pleased when I got it...it is in excellent condition. Some Brasso metal polishing and it looks like it came right out of the box. It's an interesting beast - no RF meter, sheet metal trim levers and an almost seven foot long antenna (no center loading coil, its a full quarter-wave.) I love the red anodized finish and open gimbal sticks - they appear made in-house. It looks almost home-built. ..I replaced the long dead 500 MAh GE ni-cads with a 1900 MAh nickel metal hydride (an electric flight pack I had lying around), about one ounce heavier.

I range checked it with the transmitter antenna collapsed - it still sticks out nearly a foot. I got over 200 feet, no other info to go on unless someone out there happens to know.