Community
Search
Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Taurus LE

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 11:52 AM
BingoFlyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taurus LE

This is my first post in a long time and am looking for information from Taurus builders.

I have been building from plans for many years and have just recently started redrawing the Top Flite Taurus plans to use more up to date methods and easier constrution, I buit and flew the Taurus in the '60s with reed equipment and just like this plane.

I'm wondering if any of you have experimented with a solid LE spar rather than the wrapped spar that Ed used in the '60s? I have tried, on the drawing board, several different types but nothing has looked like I would want to build.

Any input would be appreciated.
Old 02-08-2007, 12:09 PM
Hueydriver

Default RE: Taurus LE

Try Jeff Petroski at Home and Hobby Solutions (.http://www.homeandhobbysolutions.com...%20Details.htm)...he has kitted Ed's Taurus again using more modern building techniques. I have a few of his kits, including the Taurus/Primus and they use a solid LE. The aircraft flies better than I remembered it as the loading is a lot less. It is truly an outstanding aircraft.

Kirk
Old 02-08-2007, 01:19 PM
BingoFlyer

Thanks for the input Kirt;

I'm retired and have much more time than money and having built exclusivley form plans for the last 20 years know that I can save at least 50% by doing my own cutting. I am aware of Jeff's service but would rather do it without going to a kit cutter.
Old 02-08-2007, 11:27 PM
pimmnz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post