Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Ben Buckle kits

Old 06-10-2003, 10:22 PM
GoldenAge

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ben Buckle kits

Hello All,

I've been thinking about building their 88" span Quaker kit in the coming months as my next project. Anybody have opinions good or bad about these kits? I have been building model aircraft since the mid 1960's, so experience isn't a problem here

Just wondering about the quality of the wood and other materials as I have never built a Ben Buckle kit.

Many thanks in advance,

Scott
Old 06-10-2003, 11:59 PM
CoosBayLumber
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Ben Buckle kits

They come from O'er Yond. A bit rough in they die cutting. Have used the 66 span Quaker by Bob Holman which is set up for Cyclone engine.

Wm.
Old 06-11-2003, 12:36 AM
4Stroker
My Feedback: (33)

Default Quaker

Hi, GoldenAge. If you want a Quaker check out the 84" version sold by Penn Valley Hobby Center in Pennsylvania. It's $99.95 and I can attest that it is a nice kit because I had one (sold it.) Their web site is pennvalleyhobbycenter.com and they are nice folks to deal with. I have two or three Buckle kits but have not built any of them, but they look OK to me. Be advised some are printwood, not die-cut. In any case you might want to check out Penn Valley if the size suits you and you want to save some$.

I love the old-timers but have had little time to build lately. BTW, my favorite Buckle kit is the Elf Biplane and I got one of those from Dave Thacker at Radical R/C. If you are set on a Buckle kit there are a couple of dealers in the Houston area, GCBM Models and Third Coast Hobbies. Good luck with your project!
Old 06-11-2003, 11:17 AM
glowplugboy
My Feedback: (17)

Default All parts are machine cut on the BB Flying Quaker...