Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > Helimax
Reload this Page >

which size lipo's for axe cp

Notices
Helimax This is for all your Helimax questions and comments.

which size lipo's for axe cp

Old 09-11-2007, 09:47 PM
  #1  
jmann71
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Royersford , PA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default which size lipo's for axe cp

so i am looking to switch up to LiPo's for my axe. getting retired of the short run times. looking for recommendations or any advice.

thanks
jason
Old 09-12-2007, 12:33 PM
  #2  
hobby_man
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I have the DN's

1150
3s
11.1
15c

I drilled new holes to mount the canopy foreward
Old 09-12-2007, 12:44 PM
  #3  
thestratcat
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
thestratcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dwight, IL
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I'm running a great planes 11.1v 910mah pack.. the one recommended...
Old 09-12-2007, 10:13 PM
  #4  
PilotLight
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
PilotLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

ThunderPower 1320's. I have 3 of them. Dymond RC has new 1300's with 20C discharge at a good price.
Old 09-13-2007, 12:02 PM
  #5  
DUSTINNEWTON
Senior Member
 
DUSTINNEWTON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Springfield
Posts: 292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I am running the recommended Great Planes pack as well. Fits perfectly, works great. Just a side note as well, They originally recommended a normal cell. They now recommend a balanced LiPo pack, and I use 2 of them.
Old 09-13-2007, 12:10 PM
  #6  
thestratcat
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
thestratcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dwight, IL
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp


ORIGINAL: DUSTINNEWTON

I am running the recommended Great Planes pack as well. Fits perfectly, works great. Just a side note as well, They originally recommended a normal cell. They now recommend a balanced LiPo pack, and I use 2 of them.

two of the 910 packs at the same time?

how do you do that?
Old 09-13-2007, 05:40 PM
  #7  
HelisRule
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Winslow, ME
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I'm running a Thunder Power TP1320. Works great. Need to get a couple more. Hmm...Christmas coming...eureka!
Old 09-19-2007, 09:28 AM
  #8  
pd417
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

Running Common Sense 11.1v 1250 @$26.95. Good battery and price, plus their tech support is great.
Old 09-19-2007, 11:33 AM
  #9  
zen3
Senior Member
 
zen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Slatington , PA
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

What are the advantages and disadvantages in using the Common sense 11.1v 3 cell Lithium Polymer 2100mAh? The higher the mAh means what? Can I use a higher voltage Batt?
Old 09-19-2007, 07:12 PM
  #10  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp


ORIGINAL: zen3

What are the advantages and disadvantages in using the Common sense 11.1v 3 cell Lithium Polymer 2100mAh? The higher the mAh means what? Can I use a higher voltage Batt?
mAh is basically the same as gallons of gas in a tank. Too many MAh though and it's too heavy. As far as voltage, you're gona want to stay with the 3s lipo battery. More than that will be really hard on the motors.
Old 09-19-2007, 07:46 PM
  #11  
calcop
Member
 
calcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I just got 4 1500 mah lipos for my axe. I will let you know how well they do when I get them.
Old 09-20-2007, 02:48 PM
  #12  
strat1960s
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schertz, TX
Posts: 257
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I've also been in the market for some Lipo packs since my last post "Fried LiPo anyone?". I did some research on the web and came up with some vendors and prices:

Great Planes BP 910: (Tower Hobbies 27.99)

Thunder Power 1320: (RC Hobbies Online 54.95) (Hobby Zone 54.95) (RC Hobbies 53.99) (Hobby Lobby 52.90) (Aero Micro 47.65)

Common Sense RC 1250 10C: (RC Hobbies 26.95) (Common Sense 26.95)

Common Sense RC 1100 15C: (Common Sense RC 28.95)

DN 3S 1350: (LiPo Stuff 36.95)

Of the 5 packs listed which would you say is the best bang for the buck??

Ted
Old 09-20-2007, 02:53 PM
  #13  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

I've had good luck with the csrc packs, but I haven't got any of the other packs, so I couldn't really say =) I've got probably close to 150 cycles on my csrc packs.
Old 09-20-2007, 06:04 PM
  #14  
Shadow99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southwick, MA
Posts: 511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

Although I had an issue with one of the batteries[:@], I've had great luck with the Mega-Power 15c 11.1v 1350mah Lipo's from Helidirect.
Priced reasonably at $27.95, I've got 3 of them, with the replacement pack on its way from HD which will make 4. Enough for about 1hr of fly time. It's the time waiting for the charging cycle to finish (2hrs per pack) that's the torture[&o]!

Shadow
Old 09-21-2007, 05:48 AM
  #15  
jmann71
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Royersford , PA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

hey guys, thanks for all the replies on the batteries. Now, which chargers are you using??

Jason
Old 09-21-2007, 09:23 AM
  #16  
strat1960s
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schertz, TX
Posts: 257
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

jmann71,

It may cost a little more, but try to find one that works on both AC and DC. If you can't find one that works on AC, converting it to work on both power sopurces is cheap and easy. I spent about 30 bucks and that includes the 120V AC to 12.6V DC converter wall plug.

Ted
Old 09-21-2007, 01:20 PM
  #17  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

you can also convert a computer PSU, or there are DC power supplies in the sporting good section of walmart for protable coolers that put out about 8A @ 13 or 14 volts.

I use an intellepeak ice with a equinox balancer. You have to make sure that the packs you are getting are compatible with the balancer you are going to use, or you get the adatpor cords to convert it

A very nice lipo only charger for the money is the cellpro 4s from www.fmadirect.com
Old 09-21-2007, 05:35 PM
  #18  
PilotLight
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
PilotLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

Just came across these. Same dimensions as the ThunderPower 1320 and great price with higher C rating.

http://www.rc-dymond.com/index.php?productID=1439
Old 09-21-2007, 06:54 PM
  #19  
PilotLight
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
PilotLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp


ORIGINAL: PilotLight

Just came across these. Same dimensions as the ThunderPower 1320 and great price with higher C rating.

http://www.rc-dymond.com/index.php?productID=1439

Then there's these:


(how in the heck do you guys place an image in the text window??? I always have to quote and click upload images)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65350.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	767293  
Old 09-21-2007, 06:59 PM
  #20  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

you just hit image, and copy the link to the pic and paste it between the code

[image ] right here [ /image]

This is the link to your pic
http://image2-0.rcuniverse.com/e1/fo...34/Xv65350.jpg

Old 09-21-2007, 07:05 PM
  #21  
PilotLight
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
PilotLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

Thanks. I knew it had something to do with the image button, but couldn't figure out what to paste between the code.
Old 09-21-2007, 07:58 PM
  #22  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

yeah, no problemo =)
Old 09-23-2007, 08:58 PM
  #23  
vito032
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

i have the DN Power 3S 11.1v 1350mAh LiPo Pack like it alot its about $40 and last about 10+ of hover
Old 09-24-2007, 02:03 PM
  #24  
dreimer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

The guy at my LHS told me that instead of trying to find the perfect battery, just use the same one that comes with the Blade CP Pro.

I'd like to go with a LiPo too, so thanks for the good advice!
Old 09-25-2007, 06:49 PM
  #25  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: which size lipo's for axe cp

the one in the blade cp pro might be a little small for this guy. That battery puts out 8A max cont, and that would probably work, but it would defiantely run hot and probably have a bit shorter flight time than you are looking for

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.