Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Aurora 9x Problems

Old 05-17-2015, 12:02 AM
  #1  
Ben Blest
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Mobile Al
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aurora 9x Problems

Hitec Aurora 9x problems
Hi, I.ve been searching alot online for answers and it seems that you guys know more than anyone. I wonder if I might ask you about a problem I have with the 9x,
I seem to be having battery issue, but I dont know if its battery or radio issue. When set on the battery percent display on the transmitter, the percentage seems to vary significantly, and 'bounce'. back and forth erratically every few seconds, even when freshly charged. It will jump from 80 to 60 to 70 to 80 to 65 and so on every few seconds, even when not flying. It does not gradually decrease, like you would expect. If the display is set to voltage, it seems to remain more steady and decrease gradually. This radio is only a year old, and has been doing this since I;ve had it. When I called Hitec, they just said to use the voltage display, and as long as it has 7 volts ok to fly. Not much real help at all from them. However, I have lost two planes to signal loss recently and don;t know what to do.
Have you ever encountered this issue, and what do you think it is? Is this a transmitter issue, battery, or? Do you recommend lipo for the radios? Thanks so much for your time.
Old 10-04-2016, 12:20 PM
  #2  
rasfare
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ben Blest View Post
Hitec Aurora 9x problems
Hi, I.ve been searching alot online for answers and it seems that you guys know more than anyone. I wonder if I might ask you about a problem I have with the 9x,
I seem to be having battery issue, but I dont know if its battery or radio issue. When set on the battery percent display on the transmitter, the percentage seems to vary significantly, and 'bounce'. back and forth erratically every few seconds, even when freshly charged. It will jump from 80 to 60 to 70 to 80 to 65 and so on every few seconds, even when not flying. It does not gradually decrease, like you would expect. If the display is set to voltage, it seems to remain more steady and decrease gradually. This radio is only a year old, and has been doing this since I;ve had it. When I called Hitec, they just said to use the voltage display, and as long as it has 7 volts ok to fly. Not much real help at all from them. However, I have lost two planes to signal loss recently and don;t know what to do.
Have you ever encountered this issue, and what do you think it is? Is this a transmitter issue, battery, or? Do you recommend lipo for the radios? Thanks so much for your time.
I have exact this problem.. Any fix for this?
Old 10-04-2016, 04:20 PM
  #3  
Gizmo-RCU
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 2,155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Return then to Hitec, They will no-doubt replace the board if they can't totally nail the problem? I had an A-9 that would loose the screen while in operation, still worked but scarey! They fixed me right up with new internals........
Old 10-05-2016, 08:44 PM
  #4  
rasfare
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

ok, think i just might do that. thanks for the reply.
Old 10-06-2016, 06:13 AM
  #5  
Gizmo-RCU
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 2,155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

These are the little things that the average guy just can't fix........
Old 10-06-2016, 03:12 PM
  #6  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

This particular issue is mainly caused by the battery, especially a new one. The signal strength does not actually degrade as voltage decreases, it is full power until the battery no longer contains enough voltage to keep the transmitter powered on.

A LiPo pack can extend run times and may help the issue if your original pack was never cycled correctly or is on its way out.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.