Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Hitec HFP-30 Info??

Old 03-09-2017, 01:51 AM
  #1  
djmp69
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chitown, IL
Posts: 355
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Hitec HFP-30 Info??

My apologies if this is in the wrong forum, but none of the categories seemed to fit except this one.

I just got this Hitec HFP-30 servo programmer, and it looks and feels great, seems like it will do everything I need it to do. Only problem is, like most other things in this hobby, the manual (if you want to call it that) is severely lacking. Sure, it tells all the different functions of the different programming modes, but it is not very forthcoming on simple things about the unit, or important info that might be helpful to someone new to using servo programmers. I even looked on the Hitec website, and it's worse than the manual in terms of this info. FAQs address nothing about this unit.

1. The only reference to the USB port is that it is there. There is no info about what it's for (I know what it's for) or how to use it. As I'm writing this, I've had it plugged into my computer for 10 minutes now, and nothing is happening except the screen says pc setting mode, with 2 arrows circling. I don't know if I need to download something, press something or what

2. I know a USB port on a computer is 5V, but the amperage is not going to supply enough power to run a servo (or two if syncing), but still, I'd like to know if to plug a battery into the unit while plugged into a computer. Seems like a simple issue, but I would hate to have an $80 paperweight because I voided my warranty due to skimpy instructions.

Those are just two questions I have to start, anybody have any helpful suggestions, or first hand experience advice?

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-09-2017, 02:27 AM
  #2  
djmp69
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chitown, IL
Posts: 355
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

And now I'm really confused. The thing doesn't even show which way to plug in the battery or servos for correct polarity. I figured this out because of the futaba plug setup it has. But the reason why I got this unit in the first place was to sync two rudder servos. The problem is that one of the servos is slower reaching the endpoints than the other. They both are brand spanking new out of the box. Both are HS5645MG. According to the programmer, they both have the exact same values. However, whether they are on a Y or separate channels on the RX, the same servo is slower when sticks are banged. Slower stick input looks fine, but again, I would had to ruin a servo I've never even had a chance to fly if I'm missing something?

Anyone?
Old 03-09-2017, 11:31 AM
  #3  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

The USB port on the side is for future updates, it will currently do nothing if you plug it into your computer. Also, the servo polarity is labeled ontop of the programmer, the polarity on all of the ports is the same.



As for the servo issue, make sure your linkage geometries are identical, if one linkage is even slightly out it will cause one servo to have to move farther or shorter than the other servo which can cause all sorts of speed sync problems.

The manual was kept short and basic because the number of things the programmer can do wouldn't be able to fit into a manual small enough to put inside the box with the programmer.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20170309_112757.jpg
Views:	775
Size:	1.77 MB
ID:	2204646  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:13 PM
  #4  
djmp69
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chitown, IL
Posts: 355
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanx, that clears some things up. I was thinkin thats what the marks up top were, its just so small, I cant even make out what it is.

For the servos, I do not have them linked yet, just for that reason. I wanted to make sure they were in sync before connecting them. Im just confused as to why one has to catch up if they are both set tbe same way. Gonna try another servo, maybe somebody fell asleep at the factory.

I can understand the manual being kept lite for room reasons, but is there better support that Im missing online somewhere? Certainly there arent any space issues on the web?

Thanks again, now i dont feel like im losing it, lol!
Old 03-10-2017, 09:21 AM
  #5  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by djmp69 View Post
For the servos, I do not have them linked yet, just for that reason. I wanted to make sure they were in sync before connecting them. Im just confused as to why one has to catch up if they are both set tbe same way. Gonna try another servo, maybe somebody fell asleep at the factory.
Could also be one servo has a tighter geartrain than the other, I've seen that before. Cycle them back and forth a lot of times- you can use the HFP-30 to do this in the Auto test mode.

I can understand the manual being kept lite for room reasons, but is there better support that Im missing online somewhere? Certainly there arent any space issues on the web?

Thanks again, now i dont feel like im losing it, lol!
Any other questions you have then feel free to reach out to me or anybody at our office, we'll be more than happy to assist.

858 748 6948
Old 07-10-2017, 10:39 AM
  #6  
cepheusrealm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Never Mind.....

Last edited by cepheusrealm; 07-10-2017 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Problem Solved
Old 04-04-2021, 07:24 AM
  #7  
djmoose
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Here's a video of all of the features (along with demonstrations) of the HFP-30:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.