Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

A9+OPTIMA7+HS645MG glitching.

Old 01-07-2018, 05:50 PM
  #1  
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A9+OPTIMA7+HS645MG glitching.

Dear all.

I have an ultra stick with the following setup.
Aurora A9
Optima7 receiver
1800Mah NICD pack
07 HS654MG.
and a SAito FG30 on it.

I've flown this plane for 05 years and it was flawless.
All of suddenly it started to glitch when I fire the engine and go over 1/2 throttle.
When engine is off no problem.
When angine is under 50% it is ok.
After 50% throttle it simple goes crazy.

What could it be?

Please help!
Mauricio.
Old 01-08-2018, 08:45 AM
  #2  
hsukaria
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 3,216
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by mvarzoni View Post
Dear all.

I have an ultra stick with the following setup.
Aurora A9
Optima7 receiver
1800Mah NICD pack
07 HS654MG.
and a SAito FG30 on it.

I've flown this plane for 05 years and it was flawless.
All of suddenly it started to glitch when I fire the engine and go over 1/2 throttle.
When engine is off no problem.
When angine is under 50% it is ok.
After 50% throttle it simple goes crazy.

What could it be?

Please help!
Mauricio.
I would try swapping any y-harnesses and servo extension wires in case any of them has damage. I went through that on a big gasser a couple of months ago. Also, if you have your wires bundled up tightly with zip-ties or similar, spread them apart and see if that helps. It might be that either bad wires or tightly bundled wires are causing the problem? Good luck, that was a mess for me to go through and only trying all sorts of tricks solved it.
Old 01-08-2018, 09:05 AM
  #3  
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

HSUKARIA,
Some fellows at field said same as you, they told me to replace extentions and even the on/off switch that is there since I first wired the plane.
IŽll follow your advice.
What is weird, is that the problem only occours when engine is over 1/2 thottle.

What if I conect an 3S lipo to the SPC port?
would it send more power to receiver/servos and overcome the interference?

Thank you.
Mauricio
Old 01-08-2018, 10:16 AM
  #4  
hsukaria
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 3,216
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by mvarzoni View Post
HSUKARIA,
Some fellows at field said same as you, they told me to replace extentions and even the on/off switch that is there since I first wired the plane.
IŽll follow your advice.
What is weird, is that the problem only occours when engine is over 1/2 thottle.

What if I conect an 3S lipo to the SPC port?
would it send more power to receiver/servos and overcome the interference?

Thank you.
Mauricio
Not sure about that. Never tried it. The interference I was getting was going directly to the servo, not through the receiver. So, it varies. With these problems you might have to try everything possible. My problem also happened at higher throttle settings, like 1/4 throttle or higher.
I remember now that a guy at the field had crazy interference after flying the plane for years with no problems and it turned out to be the sparkplug cap had worn out. When he replaced the cap or ignition, the problem when away. So, I would make sure that the cap is pushed all the way in, if it is, try a different ignition module to see if the cap/boot is bad.
Old 01-08-2018, 11:06 AM
  #5  
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The CAP looks good, but those things are almost unnoticeable by naked eye.
The ignition is about 16 inches far from receiver and 10 inches far from throttle servo.
But IŽll try to isolate the mash and see if it helps.

Thanks
Mauricio
Old 01-10-2018, 11:41 AM
  #6  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Something is generating RF noise, you do not have the ignition plugged directly into the receiver do you?

The SPC port only powers the receiver circuit in the receiver, it will not power the servos.
Old 01-11-2018, 08:51 AM
  #7  
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is,
SPARK PLUG --> IGNITION --> ON/OFF SWITCH--> BATTERY

No connection to the receiver.
The igniton box is placed more than 1 feet away from the optima7 receiver.

Thank you.
Mauricio
Old 01-11-2018, 09:13 AM
  #8  
hsukaria
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 3,216
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Where is it glitching?

On my Ultra Stick 30cc, it has only been in the flap servos. I swapped flap servos, and receivers with no remedy. The switches were brand new. I later swapped Y-harnesses and servo extension wires. That is what fixed it for me. But the interference was not coming from the receiver, it was directly going to the servos themselves. I even disabled the control function in the radio, but the flap servos continued to glitch when engine was above 1/4 throttle.
Old 12-11-2019, 11:45 AM
  #9  
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I replaced the ignition switch and battery and the problem went away...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.