Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

New Hitec D-Series Servo Question

Old 07-28-2018, 06:58 PM
  #1  
rbgetz
Thread Starter
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default New Hitec D-Series Servo Question

Hi.. I wanted to to replace an existing HS-7950 servo and thought I'd try the new Hitec d-series Servos. It states that the D-series has a 25 tooth spline. I'm assuming this is different then the HS-Series spline. so, who's spline is this compatible with? Rob
Old 07-29-2018, 05:39 AM
  #2  
Whiskey Bravo
My Feedback: (31)
 
Whiskey Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Waterloo, IA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Futaba
Old 07-29-2018, 06:10 AM
  #3  
rbgetz
Thread Starter
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Thanks WB... I thought it was kind of odd that they'd change the spline. Really like the new features like soft starts and wide voltage range..
Old 07-29-2018, 07:04 AM
  #4  
Whiskey Bravo
My Feedback: (31)
 
Whiskey Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Waterloo, IA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You are welcome. They are excellent servos.
Old 08-02-2018, 08:33 AM
  #5  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

We decided to change the spline to 25T because this is the industry standard for the commercial side. Some of our standard size analog servos will also be changing to 25T splines, but not all of them.
Old 08-02-2018, 10:51 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,056
Received 247 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

That won't confuse anyone
The following users liked this post:
AJsToyz (08-23-2020)
Old 08-06-2018, 11:17 AM
  #7  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
That won't confuse anyone
That's why we state the spline count on our servo boxes
Old 08-20-2018, 07:44 AM
  #8  
Hemikiller
My Feedback: (125)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Killingworth, CT
Posts: 745
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
That's why we state the spline count on our servo boxes
Might want to put a tag on the servo stating the spline count change. I'm a compulsive reader and I don't remember the last time I read a servo box for a type of servo I already own. Not to mention, once they go into the servo bin, that info will be lost.

--- unless you like lots of calls to the service center....
Old 08-20-2018, 03:00 PM
  #9  
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 638
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Hemikiller View Post
--- unless you like lots of calls to the service center....
We've had very few calls about the change (in the time we've had 25T servos out (that's roughly 5 years), we've had maybe half a dozen calls), mostly because the supplied horns already fit the servo and anybody who requires a larger aftermarket aluminum horn undoubtedly checks the spline count before purchasing
Old 08-21-2018, 04:57 AM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,056
Received 247 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

LOL you'd think.....
Old 04-06-2020, 03:24 PM
  #11  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,479
Received 109 Likes on 95 Posts
Default

Question on the D485HW servo, I understand it is programmable.

Can I reduce the travel on both sides ( ATV ) on this servo using my HPP-21+ PC programmer?

I'm always running out of adjustable chls on my 10 chl futaba radio, the last two ( 9 & 10 ) are non-proportional, since I need all the 10 chls for my jets, I end up setting up the last two chls mechanically but, with these new servos ( at least to me ) I plan to reprogram them to my needs.

Tks.

Last edited by CARS II; 04-07-2020 at 01:55 AM.
Old 04-06-2020, 04:18 PM
  #12  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,056
Received 247 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

Yes, the programmer allows you to set the end points at the servo itself along with reversing and even speed.
Old 04-06-2020, 05:58 PM
  #13  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,479
Received 109 Likes on 95 Posts
Default

Very nice! Thank you for the quick reply, I will P/U two of them from my LHS this week

Last edited by CARS II; 04-07-2020 at 01:56 AM.
Old 04-07-2020, 03:27 AM
  #14  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,056
Received 247 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

The downside of those programmable servos, if you buy them used and they are programmed by the previous user, you can get some weird results and it will drive you bat crap crazy until you put them on a programmer and reset them to default.

Ask me how I know that
Old 04-07-2020, 11:54 AM
  #15  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,479
Received 109 Likes on 95 Posts
Default

Ahhh! Good to know since I will start using them to replace whatever I have on chl 9 or 10 on all my jets.

Tks.
Old 04-07-2020, 07:49 PM
  #16  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,479
Received 109 Likes on 95 Posts
Default

I got a servo and tried to adjust the ATVs but didn't work, I can test the servo just fine, I think I need tp update the software on the programmer, I got it ions ago.

What else do I need besides the cable, usb comparable something?

Old 04-07-2020, 09:54 PM
  #17  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,479
Received 109 Likes on 95 Posts
Default

I kept doing more research on the programmer, this is what I find out, basically, I need a diferent programmer, since I'm going to use these servos often, I will get the correct programer for the D series servo.


Last edited by CARS II; 04-07-2020 at 09:56 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.