Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

5945 V 1.04

Old 03-08-2005, 12:49 PM
  #1  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5945 V 1.04

Ive used these on a Y for all my stuff for years now. 6v system Futaba pcm Reciever no problem until now.

2 V 1.04 5945s on a Y WILL NOT work with the Futaba.

2 V1.04 5945s WILL work with an Electron 6 reciever.

1. V1.04 and 1. V1.03 WILL work correctly with the Futaba reciever.

I tried all three ways with the same wiring...HD Hitec stuff brand new. One short Y.

It is definately the 1.04 servos.........What now???

I tried resetting them with the programmer and it didnt make a difference.

Am I going to have a problem with a 1.04 and a 1.03 down the road??


2 8411s also work fine this way.
Voltage at the end of the line is 6.01volts
Old 03-08-2005, 01:09 PM
  #2  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Okay heres the weird part.

2 V1.04 servos work fine if you use an Equaliser instead of a Y...did nothing else just took out the short Y and put the Equaliser in its place[]
Old 03-08-2005, 04:10 PM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Try connecting the Equaliser to the futaba receiver and the output of the Equaliser to the Y and to the servos. The servos should work
Old 03-08-2005, 04:18 PM
  #4  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Yes they do but whats the point of buying Hitecs if I have to use an Equaliser.

Looks like someone didnt do their homework on V1.04 and its not a voltage issue as it does it with a 6 inch Y and Ive run V1.03 36 inches.
Old 03-08-2005, 06:37 PM
  #5  
Andy540T
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

I spoke with Smart-Fly today and was informed of the reasoning for the Equalizers success with this. It seems that the output of the Equalizer is actually split into two separate signals from a single input. This differs from a straight Y harness in the fact that the Equalizer is amplifying the voltage. I am not real sure of the terminology with this since I am not versed well with electronics, however the output from the receiver is less than what the new version servos can handle when it is shared. A Y harness only shares the output and it does not amplify it. Older version servos must have had some different components in them then the current versions. Hitec told me today that the only difference is the drive gear but I suspect that there is more to it than that.

AndyT, you are correct in your statement: What is the point. Hitec servos needing matching devices are no longer a value. Might as well by JR or whatever brand you prefer. BTW, Smart-Fly also stated that the power expander would also be a very good choice of a solution since it provides direct voltage and matching to all of the control servos except the throttle, it is only 99 bucks (which is about the same cost as 2 matchboxes).

I hope this helps, I know it at least helped me understand. My only question now would be:


Why did they mess with what worked in the first place. Did they think we would not notice? Hitec needs to make this right, and at least notify the public before people spend $$$ and rely on their products to work.
Old 03-08-2005, 08:51 PM
  #6  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Yep my unsverving support in the face of much critisism here and elswhere is wavering.

I tried this... Same servos one in Ch 2 and pmix to Ch 8 works perfectly.

What I dont understand is that a V1.03 on a Y and a 24" extension with a V1.04 and both work.

Putting the Y after the Smart Fly and they both work.

Only doesnt work with 2 V1.04s. from the reciever no matter how long or short the cables.
Old 03-08-2005, 08:55 PM
  #7  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

The other thing that worries me is are we going to see more lockups in flight with the V1.04 if its that much more critical about the servo signal???
Old 03-09-2005, 01:34 AM
  #8  
Andy540T
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

The Equalizers actually increase the signal voltage to around 5v each servo. This is more than enough to power the servo. I would do more testing on the ground to find your comfort level, but this is only a Futaba compatability issue. I tried this with my 10X and a Y harness and had no problems. JR signal voltage is around 4.1v. I don't want to tell you that it will be ok with the Equalizers, but I feel that they will work fine as long as the Equalizer does it's job.
Old 03-09-2005, 12:33 PM
  #9  
Brendan Lugo
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

I believe a buffered "Y" should solve the problem you are seeing.
Old 03-09-2005, 02:29 PM
  #10  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Brendan,
Why are the 5945s different now?
I have been and still am using them on Ys on at least 3 other giant planes with no problems for years.
It is only the V 1.04s
Andy
Old 03-21-2005, 08:12 PM
  #11  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

As no one seems to have an answer I will jump to my own conclusions.

It is obvious that the new Version 1.04 servos are incapable of reading the lower voltage signal from Futaba recievers correctly. Hence 2 on a Y will not work.

As a Futaba user I would assume that even if I get them to work the slightest interference or RF will cause them to lock up or loose the signal or both as they are incapable of picking up weaker signals.


Way to go Hitec!!!!!

Youve converted me to JR!
Old 03-21-2005, 08:49 PM
  #12  
Andy540T
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

Andy,
The Matchboxes or Equalizers will increase the signal voltage to a useable level. I believe that the Equalizers will produce almost a full 5 volts of signal voltage to each servo. I wouldn't be too concearned with degraded performance from these products. I am also very disapointed in Hitec and their dedication to provide a servo that is compatible with Futaba radio systems as they claim. I too am using JR now but for other reasons. You still will not be able to program these servos without a programmer in the v104 range.
Old 03-22-2005, 11:28 AM
  #13  
tohm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5945 V 1.04

The problem will only occur when using a Fut. PCM receiver. It can easily be solved by using either one of the matchboxes or a buffered extension.

You can still program the servos with the programmer. The only issue is that when you set your centers and end points with the programmer and were then to test the settings in the manual test mode, you will notice that the servos have shifted 3 degrees. This can be compensated for by using the programmer or sub-trim in your transmitter.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.