Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

5955 Questions???

Old 11-04-2005, 09:37 AM
  #1  
walton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harriman, TN
Posts: 321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5955 Questions???

I am thinking about out fitting my new plane with the 5955s and was wondering it all the bugs have been worked out of them.
I will be using Futaba TX & Rx. I will also be using Smart Fly equlizers so I will not need to program them.
Can I use full ATV 140 with no problems and how are the gears holding up in 40% models.

Thanks
Old 11-04-2005, 10:40 AM
  #2  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5955 Questions???

The 5955TG's have proven to be very reliable servos. The Futaba PCM bug realized with multiple servos and wyes driven form a single channel source has been addressed with a component update.

140% ATV has never been a problem, early Hitec digitals (2001 or pre revision v1.03) without benefit of software update had this issue with other OEM Tx's that could drive the control signal pulse width outside the 900-2100us window.

The gear-train has proven to be second to none.

While the Equalizer is grand servo matching device why go there? The Hitec programmables can be matched to the application eliminating the need for these devices. The cost of the programmer is a one time expense and is a unique device that has many purposes other than programming Hitec digitals. The programmer is also an invaluable setup and diagnostic tool for any servo or radio system.

Be sure and utilize HD gold plated extensions with minimal connector counts with a robust power distribution system.
Old 11-04-2005, 12:18 PM
  #3  
walton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harriman, TN
Posts: 321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5955 Questions???

Hi Mike I use the Equalizers on the aile and rudd to get some of the power demand off the rx.

I was reading another post in here where the last updated on have a Trash can with a line through it. That is the ones I want right??

Thanks
Old 11-04-2005, 12:49 PM
  #4  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5955 Questions???

Unless you're powering the Equalizers individually with there own pigtail direct from the power source, you have not accomplished anything with regard to minimizing the Rx power load.

Smartfly has a Power Expander that is well suited in multiple servo applications. I'd use this and program the servos if it were me.

Yes, the latest revision v1.04 servos have a trash can symbol with a line through it.
Old 11-04-2005, 03:20 PM
  #5  
walton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harriman, TN
Posts: 321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5955 Questions???

Yes that is what I do, I power them from another battery.
Thanks
James

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.