Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Range with ant collapsed?

Old 06-12-2006, 07:50 PM
  #1  
mustang4me
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monash, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Range with ant collapsed?

I have an Eclipse with HPD-07RH Q-PCM receiver which has only done 20 or so flights, all with smooth landings! Yesterday I got a bad glitch which I managed to recover from and landed safely. On checking, I found that I had 15-17 paces of ground range with the antenna collapsed. The manual says I should have around 30 paces. It was running in PCM mode. The temperature on the day was around 13C. Could this have been the cause as it hasn't happened before? Could the tuning have changed over time?
Thanks,
Adrian
Old 06-13-2006, 05:05 PM
  #2  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Range with ant collapsed?

The temp should not affect the range. Did it range check better at first?

Mike.
Old 06-13-2006, 06:27 PM
  #3  
mustang4me
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monash, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Range with ant collapsed?

Although I have figures for my other Hitec Tx's and receivers, I hadn't got to doing that receiver as was a QPCM, and the others were PPM. However, the other figures show that the Eclipse tx gives about half the ant-down range of the Focus 6 and the Optic. But I doubt that it is the rf problem. More likely to be the amount of antenna exposed/length when collapsed causing the difference. I'll do some tests from a tower to determine ground range with the antenna extended.

I did some checks last night in the cold, and got 14 paces in the cold ambient temperature, and 27 paces if I placed the receiver between a pair of warmed soup plates for a few minutes. I shall continue testing.
Is there any chance of identifying which coils perform which function so I can tweak it for my freq? It may be set for another optimum frequency. At least, it would help if I knew the antenna/rf coil.

Thanks for your attention....

Adrian.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.