Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Ready to throw my Hitec Eclipse 7 out

Old 09-17-2006, 11:05 PM
les40
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ready to throw my Hitec Eclipse 7 out

A little background on me before I go on. I'm an electrical engineer working for a major defense contractor and my flying skills are good enough to compete in IMAC competitions. My Hitec Eclipse 7 has served me well for over 4 yrs. now.

A few months ago I lost an airplane due to loss of radio control. It was an intermittent problem with the system. I sent everything back to Hitec and they said I had a bad RF module in my TX, replaced it and sent it back to me. I believed Hitec had fixed my TX, thanked them and went ahead and purchased two QPCM RXs. I got about 2 hrs of flight time on the radio before losing another airplane today. It went out of control shortly after takeoff while flying straight and level. After the crash I moved nothing and did an antenna up and down range check on the airplane. It passed (just as with the previous airplane). All flight controls were intact and working in their proper directions. I have to attribute this once again to some intermittent problem in my TX.

Now, I understand and agree that electronics can and do go bad but something's not right here. I seriously have my doubts about Hitec's repair quality. Maybe my TX going bad two times wiithing a couple of hours of operation is a coincidence but it is highly unlikely. Is there anything you can do for me to restore confidence in your equipment and repair facilities? Would it have been better for Hitec to advise me that my TX has 4 yrs. on it and maybe it is time for a new one rather than guess at what was wrong with my TX and have me crash another airplane due to an intermittent failure?
Old 09-18-2006, 12:04 AM
Bass1

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Ready to throw my Hitec Eclipse 7 out