Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

A9 Trim Step

Old 05-15-2010, 09:39 PM
  #1  
bgw45
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haltom City, TX
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A9 Trim Step

Does changing the Trim Step value on an existing model change the current trim position?
Old 05-17-2010, 03:38 AM
  #2  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: A9 Trim Step




ORIGINAL: bgw45 Does changing the Trim Step value on an existing model change the current trim position?
No. Changing the Trim Step does not effect any control surface until the trim button is next actioned. Then the number of steps per "click/beep" changes from the default setting (12 )whichallows rapid adjustment on a first flight. Reducing the number to say 6 provides for muchfiner tuning on subsequent flights. Increasing the the number to say 25 provides for coarse tuning or greater movements per click/beep.
For those new to adjustable trim steps,place model on a table and watch what happens as you try various settings. As the number rises above say 20, large movements become apparent with only say 4 steps between fully up and down when trim step is set to max..

Trim step has adjustable settings from 1-200 with 12 default (Approx.0.025deg ~ 5deg / Step).
The size of the trim step can be adjusted in the System — Trim Step function menu as attached.

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11965.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	1437630  
Old 05-17-2010, 09:08 AM
  #3  
bgw45
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haltom City, TX
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A9 Trim Step

Thank you, AT!
Old 05-25-2011, 05:27 PM
  #4  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: A9 Trim Step




ORIGINAL: A.T. No. Changing the Trim Step does not effect any control surface until the trim button is next actioned. Then the number of steps per "click/beep" changes from the default setting (12 )whichallows rapid adjustment on a first flight. Reducing the number to say 6 provides for muchfiner tuning on subsequent flights. Increasing the the number to say 25 provides for coarse tuning or greater movements per click/beep.
For those new to adjustable trim steps,place model on a table and watch what happens as you try various settings. As the number rises above say 20, large movements become apparent with only say 4 steps between fully up and down when trim step is set to max..
Trim step has adjustable settings from 1-200 with 12 default (Approx.0.025deg ~ 5deg / Step).
The size of the trim step can be adjusted in the System — Trim Step function menu as attached.
Alan T
.
Further to above and answeringquestion on another thread:

Sub trims are only used whilst model is being set up -
should never re-adjust sub trims at a later time without a re-set of that model program and start over.

(ex manual page 77)
• There are two screens to the EPA menu. Note the 1/2 Icon.
• The EPA range is O% to 140%.
• Sub-Trim and Dual Rate functions can Impact the programmed EPA values.

Aurora 9 - Programming Chart and attached extracts from Aurora manual may assist.

Whilst written at time of Futaba FF7, 8UAP, Eclipse, Optic 6 etc., believe following is still relevant:
EPA & ATV - Dual Rates differences & Cautions

Service Bulletin TX-20100520 Aurora 9 Transmitter - Using EPA and D/R Functions Create Dead Zone in Stick Travel
We have confirmed customer reports of a software bug involving the End Point Adjustment and Dual Rate functions.
When both functions are at their highest settings, there is a significant dead zone at the stick endpoints.
Until this issue is resolved in a future software update, it is advisable for customers to keep either
the D/R or EPA setting at 125% or less and the other at 120% or less.


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21321.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	98.9 KB
ID:	1614584   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hd94445.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	79.8 KB
ID:	1614585  
Old 05-26-2011, 07:02 AM
  #5  
bgw45
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haltom City, TX
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A9 Trim Step

AT, Thanks again. This is a really important piece of info for a compulsive button pusher.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.