Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Aurora 9 and servo jitter

Old 08-03-2010, 03:45 PM
  #1  
spitflier
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
spitflier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aurora 9 and servo jitter

I just put my new Aurora 9 into a 30% Extra 300 using 2 Hitec 645 servos for the elevator halves. I am using the 9 channel optima reciever and a 3300 mah 6 volt battery. Everything is fully charged and everything but the elevators work correctly. I have 1 servo plugged into channel 2 and the other into channel 8 if I move the sticks every once in a while one servo will fully deflect in the opposite direction and then work properly for awhile and then go nuts again. It worked fine with my Futaba 9c any ideas as to why this might be happening thanks for the help
Old 08-03-2010, 11:53 PM
  #2  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

That's pretty odd... If you're using extentions I would make sure they are HD twisted. You might also think about using a higher end coreless motor servo like the 985MG but a 7985 or 7955 would be much better suited for a model like that.

Mike.
Old 08-04-2010, 02:26 PM
  #3  
spitflier
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
spitflier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

What is the gauge of the HD twisted Also I can't find any info on how to properly position the two antenneas in the fuse from the 9 channel should they be parallel to each other, 90 degrees or let them flop around just kidding I have looked in the paperwork for both the recievfer and xmitter and havent found and thing that mentions it
Old 08-04-2010, 04:31 PM
  #4  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter




ORIGINAL: spitflier What is the gauge of the HD twisted Also I can't find any info on how to properly position the two antenneas in the fuse from the 9 channel should they be parallel to each other, 90 degrees or let them flop around just kidding I have looked in the paperwork for both the recievfer and xmitter and havent found and thing that mentions it
1. Heavy Duty Servo Wire = 22 Gauge .

Hitec Heavy Duty "Twisted" Servo Extensions
#54607S Male Twisted Servo Connector
#54608S Female Twisted Servo Connector
#54609S 6" Heavy Duty Twisted Aileron Extension
#54610S 12" Heavy Duty Twisted Aileron Extension
#54611S 24" Heavy Duty Twisted Aileron Extension
#54612S 36" Heavy Duty Twisted Aileron Extension
(#54804 50' Heavy Duty Servo Wire 22 Gauge - is not twisted but easily separated and spun with hand drill )
Hitec Digital Servo FAQ



2. Optima RX - Installation RX, BODA Antenna & Range Test..
" Install twin antenna of Optima 9 at 90* if possible, otherwise not as critical as some other brands."



Aurora A9, Spectra Pro & Optima - FAQ & Undocumented Features - Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}



Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Old 08-06-2010, 02:05 PM
  #5  
spitflier
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
spitflier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

All the Hobbico extensions are 20 gauge won't it better to use the largest gauge i can or is the twist a better feature to consider
Old 08-10-2010, 09:40 AM
  #6  
Brendan Lugo
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

The twisted wire acts like a choke and helps prevent "noise" from traveling down it causing glitching. For extensions you want to look for something in the 20 -22 guage size, twisted (prefered) and have a good connector on each end (gold plated pins).
Old 08-12-2010, 05:44 AM
  #7  
spitflier
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
spitflier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

would it help to put a ferrite choke on the extesions
Old 08-12-2010, 09:24 AM
  #8  
Brendan Lugo
Senior Member
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

If you have just the standard flat type wire extensions then yes you can put a ferrite ring on them. That will atleast help with any noise. If part of the issue is the quality of the connectors then you will want to look for a different brand extension.
Old 03-19-2011, 06:31 AM
  #9  
[email protected]
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UnderbergKzn, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter

Hi
I was wondering if anyone could help, I have just purchased an Aurora 9 with exactly the same jitter probelms on the servos. If I turn on the receiver after about 30 secs the servos go nuts. I have also tried different receivers with the same problems. The batteries are fully charged and certanly capable of driving the servos.
If I connect the SPC port direct to the Lipo I intailly get a voltage reading of around 22 Volts whichI confirmed with a multimeter, after about 30 secs the voltage on the Aurora 9 display drops to approx 18V which is incorrect as the multimeter still display 22v.

I am now convinced the transmitter is faulty and was wondering if it would be worth whileordering another TX Module before sending the handset in for warranty


I am in a remote part of South Africaat a lodgewww.amazian.netand maybe should have gone the Futaba route.

Has anyone confirmed where the jitter problems are originating?

Thanks


Brent
Old 03-19-2011, 11:35 AM
  #10  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Aurora 9 and servo jitter


ORIGINAL: [email protected] Hi
I was wondering if anyone could help, I have just purchased an Aurora 9 with exactly the same jitter probelms on the servos. If I turn on the receiver after about 30 secs the servos go nuts. I have also tried different receivers with the same problems. The batteries are fully charged and certanly capable of driving the servos. If I connect the SPC port direct to the Lipo I intailly get a voltage reading of around 22 Volts whichI confirmed with a multimeter, after about 30 secs the voltage on the Aurora 9 display drops to approx 18V which is incorrect as the multimeter still display 22v. I am now convinced the transmitter is faulty and was wondering if it would be worth whileordering another TX Module before sending the handset in for warranty I am in a remote part of South Africaat a lodgewww.amazian.netand maybe should have gone the Futaba route. Has anyone confirmed where the jitter problems are originating? Thanks Brent
V1.06, V1.07 or V1.08? First, please try a re-set of your ID_Setup and in need, either reflash/upgrade theSpectra module.
AFHSS - ID_Setup (also known as Binding or Linking) & Range Test Procedure Aurora 9, Spectra 2.4Ghz Module <> Optima Receiver.

Optima Transceiver (RX) - Servo Move Slower Than Usual -Rebind. Switched between Normal <> Scan mode with power off before process completed.
Optima Transceiver (RX) - Servo Wag When RX Turned On Reason & Prevention of Servo Wag (especially when switching on some ESC) .
Optima Transceiver (RX) - Servos Stepping - Battery pack (power supply) failing under load.

Hitec 2.4 GHz System Firmware Update Manual .pdf
Aurora 9 - Firmware Update V1.06 Details.
Aurora 9 - Firmware Update V1.07(1) & (2), Spectra V2.0 & HPP-22 V1.04 - 01Oct10. (inc PDF update enhancements, inc set failsafe via HPP-22 & how uninstall V1.03 before new install.)
Aurora 9 - Firmware Update V1.08 Manual.....Screen shots of the new displays plus additonal information.
Optima 7 & 9 - Firmware update V1.02 - 23Jun10, Update is for HTS-SS receptor system only, otherwise not required as it does not impact other functions & resolution if update issue.

Transmitter On First - Off Last

ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, Spectra Modules & Optima Transceivers
- FAQ & Undocumented Features

- Mixes, Setups,Tips. {Individual Links often updated}

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

(quick search = Ctrl+F)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.