Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Steering Problem, Maybe?

Old 01-07-2004, 05:30 PM
SJMILLER

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering Problem, Maybe?

Hello all,
My savage has about a gallon through it. First let me say how impressed I am with this truck. I have been running it like a madman since about 1/2 gallon and it is indestructable! (So Far ). Anyway, about two tanks ago i noticed that with the truck sitting still when I turn the wheels they set ther and click,click,click. The truck still runs great and steers fine, but this strikes me as odd. I am a veteran RC Airplane guy and I am brand new to MTs. I don't understand what the wheel on the servo is, I am assuming this is where the noise is coming from. Any input?

Thanks
Old 01-07-2004, 05:34 PM
Planet-RC

Default RE: Steering Problem, Maybe?

wow i have never seen one that will click sitting still but give complete steering moving. have u changed batteries(dont know why it could be this but just a thought). have u looked into the servo to see if anything is starting to strip. what kind of tire/wheel combo do u have?
Old 01-07-2004, 05:41 PM
SJMILLER

Put fresh batteries in because I had the same thought. Everything is stock.
Old 01-07-2004, 05:42 PM
tegwin

Well i have the stock wheels and steering linkages on my savage 21, but i have a hitec 645MG servo and my turning circle seems to be huge, what could be wrong???

Should the wheels turn when the truck is not moving?

on a flat surface what is a good turning circle?

Could my servo saver be broken perhaps??

This sucks.....
Old 01-07-2004, 05:45 PM
Planet-RC

i would say it is the settings u have your camber and caster at. also maybe your just not getting enough volts to the steering servo for it to perform its best. try using a 5 cell hump pack.
Old 01-07-2004, 06:46 PM
dirtsavage