Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

anybody tried this or thought about it?

Old 05-29-2004, 04:23 PM
  #1  
z style
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fountain hills, AZ,
Posts: 372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default anybody tried this or thought about it?

all the rc trucks and cars have a single disc brake or maybe two and they are always right by the trany. i'm sure im not the only one that has thought about making disc brakes all around at each wheel. the only thing i can think that will make it hard would be how to make them actually work and have 4 extra servos all conected to one slot in the reciever would be hard because of moutning them and the mount of batteries to power 6 maybe 7 servos.
Old 05-29-2004, 08:19 PM
  #2  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

Well I think I would actually be out driving my Savage around than trying to figure that one out. [:-][sm=thumbdown.gif]
Old 05-30-2004, 01:18 AM
  #3  
bkmademedoit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: mountville, PA
Posts: 486
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

you wouldnt need 4 extra servos if you had a hydraulic system like in a 1:1 car, just something to push the fluid to close the little tiny calipers.
Old 05-30-2004, 11:47 AM
  #4  
madmaniac
Senior Member
 
madmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boras, SWEDEN
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

This has already been made on 1/5 sclae cars and even on an 1/8 onroad car.
Old 05-31-2004, 03:54 AM
  #5  
nitro_D
Senior Member
 
nitro_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,117
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

http://www.rapid-racing.co.uk/technokit.htm
go there if you want 4 wheel disk brakes, not for a mt though but a technokit 1/5. ill keep looking for a disk brake for a mt.
Old 05-31-2004, 08:15 PM
  #6  
Spudnik
Senior Member
 
Spudnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ajax, ON, CANADA
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

i am fine with one disc on my truck
Old 06-01-2004, 12:29 AM
  #7  
cooch1189
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
cooch1189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 390
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

yea really why would you want it the dual disc brake mod stops just fine it would be cool yes and prolly stop very nicely but it sounds like it would be mostly just for show
Old 06-02-2004, 01:30 AM
  #8  
ask52
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Armstrong, BC, CANADA
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

if you wanna buy a new body every few tanks then but a 4 disc brake on a savage. You'll be on your lid more then on the tires!
Old 06-02-2004, 01:57 PM
  #9  
8000ft
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: winterpark, CO
Posts: 808
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

it's tough enough getting one dialed in. i would much rather have two seperate discs, one for front, one for back. they could work off the same servo but have seperate adjustments so they could be set up to have the back lock up a bit more so that the front diff isn't allways taking the abuse.
Old 06-02-2004, 04:31 PM
  #10  
Shogun1122
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

I cant believe you guys are so negative about this guy's idea. I think it would be great it they made a reliable, easy to set up, hop up like this. Im sure that the brakes would be tuneable so that it wouldnt flip on its lid every time. The breaks now work good, but suck cuz they are so hard on the drive train. Im not saying that 1:1 and rc models are the same but could you imagine if every time you tried to stop your 1:1 you threw it in park, cuz that it kinda what your doing with the savage. Plus it would make it more realistic with 4 wheel hydraulic disk brakes. I also think that trying new things is what makes this hobby fun, so i say go for it!
Old 06-05-2004, 12:32 PM
  #11  
Spudnik
Senior Member
 
Spudnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ajax, ON, CANADA
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

i am not downing it, i am saying that i am fine with one break. If he could work it it would be great cause buggies have 3 diffs
Old 03-14-2005, 12:38 AM
  #12  
nitroussavage
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: baldwin park, CA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

I THINK THAT WOULD BE GREAT TO HAVE A SETUP LIKE THAT ON MY SAVAGE MAN I WOULD BE DOING BURNOUTS AND IT WOULD LOOK SO BAD IN THE WHEELS
Old 03-14-2005, 03:32 AM
  #13  
thunderw0lf
Senior Member
 
thunderw0lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Joppatowne, MD
Posts: 626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

Interesting idea. That be kinda fun getting the proportioning valve dialed in just right. Now would you also give them vacum assist too or just use a servo to give all the hydraulic pressure? Or does a glow engine even produce enough vacum to make coming up with a vacum boost setup worth it?
Old 03-14-2005, 09:24 AM
  #14  
neil.jb
Senior Member
 
neil.jb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: leicestershire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 824
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?


ORIGINAL: 8000ft

it's tough enough getting one dialed in. i would much rather have two seperate discs, one for front, one for back. they could work off the same servo but have seperate adjustments so they could be set up to have the back lock up a bit more so that the front diff isn't allways taking the abuse.

without a centre diff this would be impossible, the front and rear wheels are driven together (no centre diff) so cannot spin at different speeds, im affraid that unless you are prepared to run your savage RWD or somehow manage to put a centre diff in there (at the cost of the 2 speed) then it would be completely pointless to have 4 individual disk brakes
Old 03-14-2005, 03:47 PM
  #15  
frank88
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: marlton, NJ
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

It would look realy cool just seeing 4 individual brakes, but I'm pretty sure that real monster trucks use a center brake right off the tranny. I think its because it adds more power or something
Old 03-14-2005, 07:34 PM
  #16  
geo8498
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 327
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

Maybe it'd be simpler t do it with a pull-pull system. I wouldn't doubt something could be engineered from airplane sort of stuff.
Old 03-14-2005, 08:33 PM
  #17  
brokenstuff
Senior Member
 
brokenstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a town, IL
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

id rather see someone build a small generator that attaches to the spur somehow to generate power for the servo's. than 4 wheel disc brakes im tired of batteries

the whole point in nitro is to not have to end the day cause batterie's are dead [:'(]


but thats just me
Old 03-14-2005, 08:53 PM
  #18  
frank88
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: marlton, NJ
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

hey, now theres a cool idea!
Old 03-15-2005, 12:29 AM
  #19  
ed260z
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfield, NJ
Posts: 837
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

4 disk brakes would put less strain on the tranny. 1/5 scale cars already use a similar system using cables to actuate the calipers.

I've already tried to figure out how to do it, and I've got the theory down. But the actual application is complicated to say the least.

Although my truck runs pretty reliably now, I'm sure I would end up doing a brake job of some sort every few tanks. Not something I'd be looking forward too.

But if someone could make it work reliably I'd buy it.[8D]


"id rather see someone build a small generator that attaches to the spur somehow to generate power for the servo's. than 4 wheel disc brakes im tired of batteries"

How about those bike generators for the lights?
Old 03-15-2005, 01:15 AM
  #20  
brokenstuff
Senior Member
 
brokenstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a town, IL
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

i was thinking about that earlier but how much hp would it rob?? these motors dont put out alot. guess it just comes down to trying it and then getting it to generate 6 volts

in school we built a little generator we would spin it by hand and once it started spinning it would create its own power and run itself. but i dont remember how we built them. see im thinking more along the lines of making the spur the actually generator

problem with both these ideas is if the spurs not spinning power is lost.

so a more sound idea would be to make the generator create enough volts to keep the battery's charged. not actually to charge them but more or less make it like an alternator on a car.


we need some engineers

Old 03-15-2005, 11:29 AM
  #21  
ed260z
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfield, NJ
Posts: 837
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?


ORIGINAL: brokenstuff
problem with both these ideas is if the spurs not spinning power is lost.

so a more sound idea would be to make the generator create enough volts to keep the battery's charged. not actually to charge them but more or less make it like an alternator on a car.
Exactly, we would need a generator that keeps the pack trickle charged.
And we would also need one that spins freely, this would make it inefficient, but it will be rotating a lot faster than on a bike.
I'm no engineer, but I think it would need to put out a charge rate of 150-250Mah @ 3-6 volts.
What do you think?
Old 03-15-2005, 02:45 PM
  #22  
neil.jb
Senior Member
 
neil.jb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: leicestershire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 824
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?


ORIGINAL: ed260z

4 disk brakes would put less strain on the tranny. 1/5 scale cars already use a similar system using cables to actuate the calipers.

I've already tried to figure out how to do it, and I've got the theory down. But the actual application is complicated to say the least.

Although my truck runs pretty reliably now, I'm sure I would end up doing a brake job of some sort every few tanks. Not something I'd be looking forward too.

But if someone could make it work reliably I'd buy it.[8D]


"id rather see someone build a small generator that attaches to the spur somehow to generate power for the servo's. than 4 wheel disc brakes im tired of batteries"

How about those bike generators for the lights?

i already told you, it wont work that way, a 1/5 scale car is rwd, a savage is 4 wheel drive so unless you replace the tranny with a centre diff you will NOT be able to change the brake bias
Old 03-15-2005, 07:05 PM
  #23  
brokenstuff
Senior Member
 
brokenstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a town, IL
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

sounds like you know more than me LOL

ima buy a bike generator and see what it puts out houw would i measure mah?
Old 03-16-2005, 04:09 PM
  #24  
frank88
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: marlton, NJ
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

hey, what about just buying a cheap 6v solar panel. and just puting under an unpainted part of the body. I've seen them from 8-20 dollars. I think I might just by a cheap one and see if I could do it, b/c building an alternator just looks like to much that can break and the panels are said to be flexible and or waterproof and can take a lot of heat.
Old 03-16-2005, 10:54 PM
  #25  
brokenstuff
Senior Member
 
brokenstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a town, IL
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: anybody tried this or thought about it?

so ed figured out this alternator for rc cars yet or what?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.