Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

SAVAGE TOP SPEED

Old 09-26-2006, 10:19 AM
magictrev

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SAVAGE TOP SPEED

It seems that speed is never discussed? I have the x with a 4.1 but how much faster is the 4.7? Im new to this but I would like to know what kind of speed u get from different mods. I mean does a pipe give you an extra 2 miles per hour? Does putting a 3speed in give you an extra 4mph? I would like to know how fast people can make there savage go? I realize at some point you cant control it if it gets too fast, but there just doesn't seem to be any specific measurment for what the add on's do? Any comments?
trev
Old 09-26-2006, 11:12 AM
ViperX

Default RE: SAVAGE TOP SPEED

i plan to get a speedo metre for my trucks in the near future - personally i dont bother much with speed - i use the k4.6 engine and its all the speed i need, infact i dont even bother tuning it for optimum speed - but i m curious myself, i guess after i get the speedo, i will do some experimenting

for now my guess is as good as urs
Old 09-26-2006, 11:14 AM
magictrev

where do you get the speedo? is it digital or needle?
trev
Old 09-26-2006, 11:16 AM
Chronic

Nobody on this board has a Savage that is prepped for top speed, or at least they haven't posted it. Expect to see mid-high thirties out of your average nitro MT, and small gains are possible from there. Most of the top speed talk in this(HPI) forum is just speculation. You could put one on a serious diet, gear it right, drop in a modded .28 engine and see some impressive top speeds but there just isn't anyone here that I know of who has gone full bore with building a top speed Savage.