Notices
Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Old 01-28-2011, 08:58 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

I purchased the Platinum edition with the interface wire. I use a DX7. I plug the cable in.....it recognizes it....but not the transmitter. I tried a Stereo to Mono adapter....did not work. The only way the transmitter is recognized is to pull the plug almost all the way out. Can you please help me? My MAC is brand new with 8gig. Could I just buy the transmitter interface to replace my cable?

Any help would be appreciated.

Dave

______________
Old 01-28-2011, 09:00 PM
  #2  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Dave, please post a photo of all the cables that you have including the stereo-mono adapter cable
Old 01-28-2011, 09:06 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

OK...give me a minute...
Old 01-28-2011, 09:12 PM
  #4  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

OK...here it is.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43526.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	1554888  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:16 PM
  #5  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

I saw where someone on line used a stereo to mono jack and theirs worked. I tried it and no luck.
Old 01-28-2011, 09:24 PM
  #6  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Dave, you can't use the audio mono-stereo converter. The internal connections are not compatible. You need to get the Ikarus y-adapter cable as per the connection diagram below for JR/Spektrum radios. Do you need the part number and info on where you can buy it from?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67535.jpg
Views:	254
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	1554893  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:27 PM
  #7  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

I saw the jack with Futaba square plug. I did not think I needed that....
Old 01-28-2011, 09:36 PM
  #8  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Sorry....it has 2 connectors to one jack
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26554.jpg
Views:	244
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	1554901  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:37 PM
  #9  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

The part number for the y-adapter is #31036. You could get it from the following:

http://www.aerofly-5.com/purchase.htm

This JR/Spektrum adapter is also designed for Aerofly and is lower in cost:

http://www.fxaeromodels.com/product_...oducts_id=1659
Old 01-28-2011, 09:39 PM
  #10  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems


ORIGINAL: imsofaman

Sorry....it has 2 connectors to one jack
This will not work either. It is for older Futaba and Hitec radios, definitely not for JR/Spektrum
Old 01-28-2011, 09:40 PM
  #11  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Thanks so much for your help!!!!

Dave
Old 01-28-2011, 09:42 PM
  #12  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

You're most welcomed Dave
Old 01-29-2011, 07:59 AM
  #13  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

One more question: Is it possible to purchase the transmitter interface? Will that work also? If there is a part number for that, I would like one of those also.

Dave
Old 01-29-2011, 04:32 PM
  #14  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Dave, I would personally recommend that you use your own programmable radio so that you will be able to use all the programmable functions such as program mixes, dual rates, etc. plus you get the feel of the actual radio you use in the field. What you have now, the usb interface version, is the best
Old 01-29-2011, 07:31 PM
  #15  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

OK Mike....I am excited that my problem will be solved with the adapter wire. Thanks for the awesome advice.

OK....one more question: What is the small female jack on the inter face cord? Also....do I need to down load a patch or anything? I saw where some guys were asking about it. Not sure why they need it but I am curious. I have a brand new Mac with 8 gigs.
Thanks for your time.

Dave
Old 01-29-2011, 07:34 PM
  #16  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Could you point out with an arrow on the photo which specific jack you're referring to?

What is the version number printed on your main AFPD disk?
Old 01-29-2011, 08:03 PM
  #17  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Version 1.11.07.25

The female jack above the wires.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67403.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	1555544   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94478.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	1555545  
Old 01-29-2011, 08:10 PM
  #18  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

Refresh the browser as I added some things.
Old 01-29-2011, 09:25 PM
  #19  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

That jack is for non-JR radios where you don't need the short colored cable.

There is a 1.11.7.31 mac patch which you can download here http://www.aerofly.com/afpd/downloads.html#afpdmacosx Follow the installation instructions
Old 01-30-2011, 08:20 AM
  #20  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

OK...need the patch and will download.

Are you saying I dont need the colored cord? I use a DX7 not JR. Are you saying I should plug it in the female jack and not use the cord?

Sorry for the dumb questions....just want to be clear.

Thanks for your patience,

Dave
Old 01-30-2011, 03:18 PM
  #21  
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

JR and Spektrum (DX7) need the colored cable
Old 01-30-2011, 04:31 PM
  #22  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
imsofaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 1,126
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AFPD Platinum Edition Problems

I must thank you again for your patience in helping me. Nothing better than awesome customer service!!!

So, for now, I will just pull the plug half way out and play the sim with my DX7. The cable I ordered via your link, should arrive soon.

Dave

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.