Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > IMAC
Reload this Page >

Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Old 10-24-2003, 07:01 PM
  #1  
skyking424
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

I have been flying my Extra 300 but it has 12oz of lead on the inside of the firewall to balance it out at 4" from leading edge. She flys nice but I want to try and get rid of all that dead weight if I can. I was thinking of making a 3/4" plywood spacer to go between the firewall and the engine mount so the engine would be moved forward 3/4".
Has anyone tried this or have any ideas? I have plenty of room to move the cowl forward.
Old 10-24-2003, 09:02 PM
  #2  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Yes, move the engine farther out and eliminate the lead.
Old 10-24-2003, 09:19 PM
  #3  
ProfLooney
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 3,259
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Ya can just make a plate and add weight to it and bolt it onto the end of your prop

Joe
Old 10-24-2003, 09:21 PM
  #4  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Old 10-24-2003, 09:40 PM
  #5  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Why in gods name do you need so much lead???? Are you flying it with a .40???

I have a .91 two stroke in mine and it balanced right on the reccomended spot. I have the battery and receiver mounted in the opening just ahead of the servos.

Make sure that you have the engine mounted as far forward on the mount as possible. There will still be LOTS of cowl overlapping the fuselage.
Old 10-24-2003, 10:01 PM
  #6  
ProfLooney
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 3,259
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

well one thing I have done before is to melt some lead into the tip of a spinner to add weight. it will slightly melt into the spinner and glue itself in place.

Joe
Old 10-24-2003, 10:16 PM
  #7  
skyking424
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Well Dave maybe god could answer that or VF could but I can't. The battery and receiver are mounted in the hole in fron of the servers and I have a Super Tiger G90 with a pitts muffler on it and with the GP Balance machine and 4" behind the leading edge it come out with 12 oz of lead????? I had her in the air four times in the last 2 days and she flys great but to heavy. That is why i wanted to move the engine.
Old 10-24-2003, 10:47 PM
  #8  
skyking424
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Thanks Geistware! I wanted to ask in this forum because I figure anyone flying IMAC would know more about it then me. I just wasn't sure if moving the engine forward with a spacer would give me any problems with the firewall. I figure that is the best way to get the nose down without more weight.
Old 11-01-2003, 07:44 PM
  #9  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Need help on 66" VF Extra 300S CG

Did you use the supplied engine mount? I just checked weights and your ST 90 is actually a tiny bit heavier then my ASP, you should be right on the money without weight. I have my engine mounted as far forward on the mount as possible. Did you reinforce the tail surfaces with something heavy?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.