Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > IMAC
Reload this Page >

Is it necessary to have digital servos to be successful flying pattern or IMAC?

Community
Search
Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Is it necessary to have digital servos to be successful flying pattern or IMAC?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2009, 07:38 AM
winglift
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it necessary to have digital servos to be successful flying pattern or IMAC?

I was curious what others might think about this. Is it really necessary to use the digital servos to perform pattern or IMAC maneuvers. The maneuvers are benign compared to 3D and TOC. I am new to pattern, but have been flying RC for many years now. I am getting the GP Extra 300 and wanted to set it up to learn pattern. RC magazine has a review of it and I noticed that he selected 3-Futaba S9650's; 1-Futaba S9252; and 1-Futaba S3155 servos for a grand total of $315! That got me thinking about the maneuvers of pattern and the servos used. Any comments, thoughts or recommendations welcome?
Old 07-24-2009, 08:59 AM
Silent-AV8R

Default RE: Is it necessary to have digital servos to be successful flying pattern or IMAC?

Digital servos generally center better, have higher holding torques, and provide the maximum resolution available. All of these are critical to precision aerobatics, whether it is IMAC or pattern/F3A. In fact, all three of these are also a huge benefit for 3D flyers, at least those flying large planes.

EDITED TO ADD:

But none of this should be construed to mean that you "need" digital servos. But you will find out very quickly that almost nobody uses analog servos in either IMAC or pattern.
Old 07-24-2009, 09:13 AM
jsallade

Default RE: Is it necessary to have digital servos to be successful flying pattern or IMAC?