Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > JetCat Turbine Direct Support
JetCat Mystery - 120 or 160? >

JetCat Mystery - 120 or 160?

Notices
JetCat Turbine Direct Support Ask your JetCat questions here for the experts that know them. MrMatt and Bob Wilcox will field your inquiries.

JetCat Mystery - 120 or 160?

Old 06-21-2024, 04:57 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
JKEpps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greenbelt, MD
Posts: 1,008
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JetCat Mystery - P120 or P160?

Hello,

I purchased a used older JetCat engine a couple of years when I decided to jump into turbines. It was advertised as a P120 Kero. I've run the engine numerous times on the ground and it seems to run fine, however those runs are relatively short. enough to run through a ~20 oz. tank. My question is that the ECU V5.0W has P120 check box selected on the unit, however when I power the ECU, the GSU reports P160. Which is correct? Does it matter? Did someone just select the wrong engine in the ECU and I need to change it to 120?

Engine serial number is 0872.

Thanks in advance,

-Jorden





Last edited by JKEpps; 06-21-2024 at 05:06 PM. Reason: Correcting title
Old 06-23-2024, 01:51 PM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

5.0W is the earliest software to support Kero start. What max rpm is set? Picture of the compressor and tail cone…?
Old 06-23-2024, 08:50 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
JKEpps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greenbelt, MD
Posts: 1,008
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default





Old 06-23-2024, 08:54 PM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

It is a P-160.
Probably the ECU was re flashed to a 160 by JetCat

Dave
Old 06-24-2024, 04:24 AM
  #5  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
JKEpps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greenbelt, MD
Posts: 1,008
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! That's good to know! That's too much for this Boomerang Sprint. Calls for a 80N-120N. I do have a P80, but it's a propane start. Looks like the same size can. I keep hearing about "turning down the power" on a turbine. Is that done by adjusting the Max RPM? Is that doable with this P160? If so what Max RPM would I use? Any other parameters need to be adjusted?
Old 06-24-2024, 08:53 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Yes, drop the max rpm in Limits menu to 110,000 and away you go

Old 06-24-2024, 02:10 PM
  #7  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
JKEpps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greenbelt, MD
Posts: 1,008
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Awesome! Thanks again. Is it possible/recommended for me to update the firmware on my ECU? Are there any concerns with using a 2S 7.4v LiPo vs 6S 7.2v NiCad/NiMh?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.