Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

DX8 Mix Page Bug

Old 05-29-2012, 11:13 PM
  #1  
Sidlinger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DX8 Mix Page Bug

Transmitter "reboots" when working in Mix pages.

This has been documented elsewhere, I am just adding to the clamor for a fix, and hoping for some personal attention from Andy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeB44U9Grso

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeB44U9Grso[/youtube]

[youtube]AeB44U9Grso[/youtube]

www.youtube.com/watch
Old 05-31-2012, 03:07 AM
  #2  
electricpete
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: milton keynes, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

Please tell me what the problem is (in words) as I find the video unclear

Peter
Old 06-02-2012, 06:47 PM
  #3  
chuckk2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

I doubt that you will see a "firmware" update beyond 2.04 in the near future for the DX8. Last word was the newer TX's are getting the attention.
Old 06-02-2012, 07:05 PM
  #4  
Sidlinger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

Electricpete, it turns out that in a DX8 running 2.04 (or perhaps any version, I think that's what Andy Kunz of Spektrum told me elsewhere), if you are in the Mixing page and have the top field highlighted then scroll through the mixes back to the beginning, the transmitter "reboots". It scared me the first time because I was adjusting mixes in-flight but I since learned that this is repeatable and occurs just in this one case, so I just try not to do that anymore!

If you want to reproduce:
1. Turn on transmitter normally.
2. Click scroll wheel, roll 7 steps right, click into "Mixing".
3. Roll 1 step right, click into "AIL > RUD".
4. Roll 1 right, click into "Mix 1".
5. Roll 1 right, click into the "Mix 1" page title.
6. Roll left 1 to "AIL > RUD".
7. Roll 1 right. Lights out!

I consider it pretty much harmless now that I understand it, but until I understood exactly what not to do I was repeatedly losing my recent mixing adjustments, which apparently don't become non-volatile until the page is successfully exited.
Old 06-18-2012, 09:51 PM
  #5  
Aerocal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sanger, CA
Posts: 427
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

Its been awhile since an update.I tend to think it may not be to long with the new DX10t and 18 being shipped very soon.
For now the workaround is to use the Back button(easiest) to exit back to the Function List from the mix you adjusted values in.
Then reenter to work on a different mix if necessary.Avoid scrolling with the Bold mix title highlighted and all is good.
Old 08-07-2012, 09:50 PM
  #6  
Bone
Senior Member
 
Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: GraftonNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 433
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

Yes, I also "discovered" this issue earlier this week when programming the many mixes for my new E-Flite Scimitar. I found it annoying as all the mix programming that I had done to that point for the Scimitar was not saved. Had to start again, which I did, back into mixing & the reboot got me again [X(] I dont see it as a major issue & the many great features of the DX8 far outweigh this minor glitch (although I would like to see this rebooting sorted in a firmware update please).
Old 08-16-2012, 07:55 PM
  #7  
chuckk2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: DX8 Mix Page Bug

Airware 2.05 supposedly fixes this problem!  It's released.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.