Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Spektrum iX20 or upgrade to DX20 in works?

Old 09-28-2018, 09:34 AM
  #1  
sc0tt
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (61)
 
sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD
Posts: 545
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spektrum iX20 or upgrade to DX20 in works?

Anyone with inside info know if a new version of the DX20 is coming soon or even by next spring? I would think an iX20 (or similar name) is needed to compete with Jeti and Powerbox's new CORE. Please do not comment on the other brands - I'm only asking about Spektrum.
Thanks for any info...
Old 09-28-2018, 10:08 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,160
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Anything possible and an iX20 would seem a natural progression.

But they are pretty tight lipped about future releases
Old 10-08-2018, 11:09 PM
  #3  
CobraJet
My Feedback: (4)
 
CobraJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 512
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

About 10 days ago Horizon Hobby listed the DX-20 as No Longer Available, then it changed to Backordered. I see both Horizon Hobby and Specktrum now show it as Discontinued. Bummer, as I was ready to upgrade to the DX20. I hope its replacement will be worth the wait!
SpektrumRC Link
Horizon Hobby Link
Old 10-09-2018, 04:05 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,160
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

There's more 20's on the way.

They might discontinue that particular SKU and replace it with one with a different RX but there ARE DX-20's coming.
Old 10-09-2018, 08:37 AM
  #5  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,164
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I suspect that we'll see an iX20 at some point, but judging by the comments I see mostly on RC Groups, I think Horizon/Spektrum has got their hands full trying to iron out the bugs in the new radio. Once they get a better "feel" for what they need to change/modify/fix on the iX12 I think you'll see a 20 show up.

I like my DX20 and the new PowerSafe rx's with the AS3000 module are very capable right now with more flexibility coming to the forward programming as the PowerSafes can have their firmware updated. I've not used it on a Turbine yet, I've got a T-One setup with it but haven't had an opportunity to fly it yet as I'm still tinkering with the same setup I put in an electric model to get familiar with the thing and the gyro which I've never used before.
Old 04-22-2019, 03:31 PM
  #6  
Voodoo101
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kalamazoo , MI
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Look at the Tx sitting on the table in the video...at about 5:35.

https://www.facebook.com/HorizonHobb...0306613/?t=331
Old 04-22-2019, 03:39 PM
  #7  
CobraJet
My Feedback: (4)
 
CobraJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 512
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yup....good catch!
Old 04-22-2019, 04:50 PM
  #8  
flyindy
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I talked to one of the Spektrum Reps at the Toledo show a couple weeks ago and he confirmed that the iX20 is coming but that there had been a few minor issues and could not tell me when this new TX would be available. He did say that he had personally tried it out and it had a faster processor and was much quicker when making changes. He did not have a price but speculated that is would probably be a little more than the DX20 had been selling for in the past.
Old 05-05-2019, 09:27 AM
  #9  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Somebody told me thy were releasing a new protocol with the new radio. Can anyone confirm this? Maybe it is why they are having trouble?
Old 05-05-2019, 10:19 AM
  #10  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,164
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
Somebody told me thy were releasing a new protocol with the new radio. Can anyone confirm this? Maybe it is why they are having trouble?
That is one of the rumors that have been floating around. I've not seen anything to either confirm or deny, so I guess we just wait some more.
Old 05-05-2019, 01:14 PM
  #11  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,160
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

They have a lot invested in DSMX and even those systems are compatible with DSM2 so, if so I would say it would be backwards compatible. But I haven't heard anything to support that notion
Old 07-05-2019, 05:09 AM
  #12  
Andika
 
Andika's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N/A, CA
Posts: 235
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sc0tt View Post
Anyone with inside info know if a new version of the DX20 is coming soon or even by next spring?
I would think an iX20 (or similar name) is needed to compete with Jeti and Powerbox's new CORE.
it will be out soon.
Old 07-06-2019, 07:40 AM
  #13  
sc0tt
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (61)
 
sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD
Posts: 545
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

At a recent jet meet the Horizon team had a couple iX20's for testing. I was told there are several out in the field testing. During my brief discussion I mentioned the Powerbox CORE and was told Spektrum is not trying to compete in the high end radio market. iX20 expected release time is late fall or winter - but that could change.

Last edited by sc0tt; 07-06-2019 at 07:44 AM.
Old 07-06-2019, 08:12 AM
  #14  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,160
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Yep, same thing I heard/saw
Old 07-14-2019, 10:06 PM
  #15  
Kelly W
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Delta, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

FYI. I came across a download for their quick setup guide on the iX-20, and it clearly says DSMX. Looks like they are not changing protocols, thankfully...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
User-Manual-4329671.pdf (1.87 MB, 1702 views)
Old 07-16-2019, 12:28 AM
  #16  
davidmc36
 
davidmc36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Protocol rumour likely came from someone seeing the new SRXL2 for serial Rx’s.
Just like every spring when we were young. Rumour started that you would now need to be 18 to get drivers license. The truth was, you always needed to be 18 to do it without parents signature. Sign off needed for 16yr olds.
Old 07-16-2019, 04:26 PM
  #17  
patrnflyr
My Feedback: (7)
 
patrnflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 1,032
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

This may be super top secret but I found it surfing the web. In my opinion, it really needs aluminum gimbals though. This could be a totally photoshopped picture, I don’t know. Based on the ruler being metric i bet this pick is overseas. Just put it out there to get opinions






Last edited by patrnflyr; 07-16-2019 at 04:28 PM.
Old 07-16-2019, 05:06 PM
  #18  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Old 07-16-2019, 06:18 PM
  #19  
patrnflyr
My Feedback: (7)
 
patrnflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 1,032
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks. Didn’t see that before. They don’t let me get out very much
Old 07-17-2019, 12:23 AM
  #20  
davidmc36
 
davidmc36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hmmmm, posted just a link to another forum. If I do that on RCC the Bot gives me some “Ur a bad boy” message lol.

Picture looks like photo from FCC filing. Metric makes sense for China doesn’t it? Seems to me the test lab is over there.
Old 07-18-2019, 02:17 AM
  #21  
Andika
 
Andika's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N/A, CA
Posts: 235
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by davidmc36 View Post
metric makes sense for china doesn’t it? Seems to me the test lab is over there.
Click image for larger version

Name:	slide_3.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	2264830
Old 07-18-2019, 03:33 PM
  #22  
davidmc36
 
davidmc36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Larry says

Nyouwww thaooot rot tha-airs feunnny.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.