Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

one elevator servo moves before the other

Old 06-04-2020, 04:25 PM
  #1  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default one elevator servo moves before the other

I have separate channels for elevator as I pull on stick right elevator moves about a 1/4 of an inch before the left elevator servo starts to move. has anyone encountered this issue?
DX20
SPMAR20310T
Old 06-05-2020, 03:14 AM
  #2  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,543
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

That must be fun. Does the DX20 have channel delay? Does this show up on the servo output display or just on the servo?
Old 06-05-2020, 03:47 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,910
Received 113 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

Swap the elevator servos at the rx and see if the issue follows the channel or the servos.

That and export the model and attach the resulting SPM file here so Andy K or I can take a look
Old 06-06-2020, 06:11 AM
  #4  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the response guys, I am out of town for a couple days as soon as I get back I will try your suggestions. Once again thanks
Old 06-09-2020, 05:39 PM
  #5  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well I Tried the following,
Different Receiver
Different Extensions
Different Radio
Changed servos
Checked for play in linkages
swapped channels right to left and issue stays on right elevator
eliminated the gyro

the setup is as follows three fight modes
A, normal flight normal elevator no Flaps
B.normal elevators take of flaps 15 degrees
C. normal elevator landing flaps 40 degrees

Mixes
A. vector thrust normal elevator
B. vector thrust with elevon

Issue is present in every flight mode and every mix

I ran out of talent, lol
Old 06-09-2020, 06:04 PM
  #6  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

this is the file
Attached Files
File Type: spm
019~19 MEPHISTO V2 GJ.SPM (22.0 KB, 11 views)
File Type: zip
019~19 MEPHISTO V2 GJ.zip (3.1 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by j.c.a.; 06-09-2020 at 06:09 PM. Reason: deleting text
Old 06-10-2020, 11:23 AM
  #7  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,966
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

You can improve timing performance slightly for the X-Plus channels by moving RLv from X+3 to X+5, and changing X+3 back to Inh.

You can improve the performance of the entire system by moving the items you have on X-Plus channels down to channels 6 & 7 and changing ALL the X-Plus channels to Inh. You need to keep the 22ms Frame Rate setting because you are using more than 10 channels.

Let's try something. Go to the Rx Port Assignments screen (select Channel Assign on the System Menu). On this screen, go to channel 8 AUX3 and change it from Aux 3 to R Elevator. Move the servo plug from channel 3 to 8 also. Do you now see a difference now? In this mode, the two channels are sent at exactly the same time to both servos.

Andy
Old 06-10-2020, 12:00 PM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,910
Received 113 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

That's what I was going to say but he beat me to it
Old 06-10-2020, 05:09 PM
  #9  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
You can improve timing performance slightly for the X-Plus channels by moving RLv from X+3 to X+5, and changing X+3 back to Inh.

You can improve the performance of the entire system by moving the items you have on X-Plus channels down to channels 6 & 7 and changing ALL the X-Plus channels to Inh. You need to keep the 22ms Frame Rate setting because you are using more than 10 channels.

Let's try something. Go to the Rx Port Assignments screen (select Channel Assign on the System Menu). On this screen, go to channel 8 AUX3 and change it from Aux 3 to R Elevator. Move the servo plug from channel 3 to 8 also. Do you now see a difference now? In this mode, the two channels are sent at exactly the same time to both servos.

Andy
Thanks for the quick reply, will try, is it possible to talk on phone? 305-213-3700
Old 06-10-2020, 06:02 PM
  #10  
j.c.a.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CORAL GABLES, FL
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi and once again thanks for the help,
Changing X3 to X5 should not be a problem but Channels 6 and 7 I don't understand they are being used , here is the cannels as I am using,

1- Throttle
2-Right Aileron
3-Right elevator
4- Rudder
5-Left Flap
6-Left Aileron
7-Right Flap ( Aux2)
8-Gyro on/off and a combo mix with gear channel for high and low gyro rate (Aux 3)
9-Left Elevator (Aux 4)
10-Gyro on/off Vector Thrust (Aux 5)
11-Vector Thrust Rudder Servo (Aux 6)
12-Vector Thrust Elevator Servo Aux 7)
13- Gear (X-1)
14 ---------------------(X-2)
15- Brakes (X-3)
16 ---------------------- (X-4)
17 ---------------------- (X-5)
18- Steering (X-6)
19 ----------------------- (X-7)
20 ------------------------ (X-8)

J.C. Alvarez
Old 06-11-2020, 04:53 AM
  #11  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,966
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Yes, I was thrown off by them being mixed opposite what is normally done. It's usually better to put the input onto a channel in the Channel Input Assign screen, and then use a mix with -100% rates to disable it. That way it's clear what is being done.

You should always put your gains and switches on the X-Plus channels. Move channels 8 and 10 up to X-Plus. That will free up two channels for flight controls.

That would allow you to copy the right elevator to Aux3 as noted above.

Andy

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.