Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

JR XG11 Throttle Curves

Old 04-25-2021, 02:58 PM
  #1  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default JR XG11 Throttle Curves

Hi, I've just got a new ESC (Debowski D3) that requires 4 throttle curves. I have only seen 2 Throttle Curve screens on the XG11. Does anyone know if you can set up 4 throttle curves and if so how do you do it?

Thanks.
Old 04-26-2021, 08:38 PM
  #2  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

In ACRO there are only two curves. Looking up your ESC on the web, I see why you are asking about more than two throttle curves. Using a throttle curve to disarm or kill the ESC on the 11X is in my opinion hazardous. There are better premixes on the transmitter to do that. Using a throttle curve for that purpose is not sure fire if the throttle trim is left active. So what you may need are three curves at most.

You can create a third curve by using a curve program mix. This will require a bit of work to make the third curve act the same as the two other curves if the throttle trim is not inhibited.

Allan
Old 04-30-2021, 01:18 PM
  #3  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

There are several ways to get four throttle curves on the 11X. To have the curves set up as Debowski specified will require, as a minimum, the use of the THRO CURVE premix and two program mixes. The transmitterís custom flight mode feature makes the programming easier to follow but it isnít mandatory.

My transmitter is a XG11MV. If anyone is interested, I can post the program.

Allan
Old 05-15-2021, 03:28 AM
  #4  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

My apologies for being so rude and not replying Allan. I thought I had!

I'd be very grateful if you would post your program for the XG11.

Thanks

Peter
Old 05-16-2021, 02:42 PM
  #5  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The ZIP files contain two programs that provide four throttle curves for the F3A Governor. Two switches, AUX2 and MIX, are used in the same fashion to select the throttle curves. The four curves are: ground, normal, spin and landing.

AUX2 SW Position___________MIX SW Position_______________Throttle Curve

0________________________not applicable_________________Ground
1________________________not applicable_________________Normal
2________________________0________________________ ___Spin
2________________________1________________________ ___Land

The switches in the TCURVE.JRX program control the throttle curves and the two program mixes directly through each mix select switches. In the TCurves-FM.JRX, the switches sets up four custom flight modes and the modes then control the curves via the select switches.

To set up the throttle curves and program mixes for illustration, the maximum rpm was assumed to be 5000 rpm in order to establish mix numbers for mid-throttle and the idle rpms. In actuality, these mix numbers will have to be determined experimentally as described in the F3A Governor manual instructions.

In the System Listís TRIM SYSTEM menu, the throttle trim has been inhibited by setting it to zero. If left active, the throttle trim could mess up the mixes.

In the Function Listís THRO TRIM > IDLE ADJUST select switches were turned off as this mix used the AUX2 switch.

Mixes are additive. Whenever the ground or normal conditions are selected, the Pos0 curves for program mix 1 and 2 are selected and are added to the whichever throttle curve is selected. As both of these Pos0 curves are set to zero, they add nothing.

When AUX2 SW is in position 2, the throttle curve for Pos1 (normal) is not selected so the Pos0 throttle curve is active. It is added to the Pos1 curve for either program 1 or program 2 mix depending on the MIX SW position. Note that the program mixes select switches has the AND button on. This is also true for the Spin and Land custom flight mode select switches.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
ThroCurves.zip (14.2 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by AWorrest; 05-17-2021 at 01:28 AM. Reason: corrected zip file names
Old 05-17-2021, 08:11 AM
  #6  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Allan
Many thanks for the information. I will now go and lie down and try and set up this ESC. I'll let you know how I get on but it might take me a little time to get this all sorted out!
Thanks again
Peter
Old 05-17-2021, 08:44 PM
  #7  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Peter,

I didn’t described where the parameters, that you adjust to get the appropriate rpm’s, are located in the programs. Perhaps you figured it out already; but if not, here they are.

The Pos0 curve in the THRO CURVE menu fully describes the throttle curve for the ground condition or mode. The P-1 y-coordinate number of 64 should be replaced by a number that results in mid-stick rpm of 3100-3300.

The Pos1 curve in the THRO CURVE menu fully describes the throttle curve for the normal condition or mode. The P-L y-coordinate number of 28 should be replaced by a number that results in an idle rpm of 1300-1500. The P-1 y-coordinate number should also be adjusted as was done for the ground condition.

The spin condition is a combination of the THRO CURVE Pos0 curve and PROGRAM MIX1 Pos1 curve. The P-L point of +12 in PROGRAM MIX’s1 Pos1 curve controls the spin idle rpm. It should be change to give a 300 rpm idle. Be careful not to change the Pos0 curve.

The land condition is a combination of the THRO CURVE Pos0 curve and PROGRAM MIX2 Pos1 curve. The P-L point of +6 in PROGRAM MIX2's Pos1 curve controls the land idle rpm. It should be change to result in an idle of 100-200 rpm. Again, be careful not to change the Pos0 curve.

If you have questions, let me know.

Allan
Old 05-18-2021, 12:44 AM
  #8  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Allan
Many thanks for the additional notes. I had not worked it out! I was just beginning to scratch my head when I saw your amplification. I will get back to you to let you know how I get on.
Thanks.
Peter
Old 05-18-2021, 02:28 PM
  #9  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi Allan
Just to check that I've got this right, the four throttle curves are created by using 2 progamable mixes and the Throttle Curve function is not used at all. Is that correct?
Thanks
Peter
Old 05-18-2021, 05:00 PM
  #10  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by barnowljenx View Post
Hi Allan
Just to check that I've got this right, the four throttle curves are created by using 2 progamable mixes and the Throttle Curve function is not used at all. Is that correct?
Thanks
Peter
No, the throttle curves in the THRO CURVE menu are used for all four of the flight modes or conditions. Also, the two program mixes are always being added to one or the other of the throttle curves for each of the flight conditions. Whenever the ground or normal condition is selected, the program mixes’ spin and landing curves are the Pos0 curves which add nothing. That is the reason for the warning for not changing the program mixes Pos0 curves when setting the spin and landing idles.

For program mixes such as PROGRAM MIX1 and premixes such as THRO CURVE, the Pos0 curves (or rates) will always be active unless the select switches conditions are met. If the conditions are met, then the Pos1 curve or rate comes into play.

If either the spin or landing condition is chosen, the AUX2 switch is in position 2 which is not the select switch condition for the THRO CURVE menu's normal curve. So THRO CURVE menu's ground (Pos0) curve is active and added to it is the Pos1 curve from either Program MIX1 or MIX2

BTW, as the throttle curves differ only in their idle settings, there is a way to get the same results with only one throttle curve and no program mixes. Once flight modes have been declared for each throttle condition, you can set the throttle trim separately for each flight mode. In the System List’s TRIM SYSTEM, set the trims to be flight mode based. In the Function List you only need to modify the Pos0 throttle curve for the mid stick rpm.

The main disadvantage of doing this is that the rudder, aileron and elevator trims for each flight mode have to be set separately. There is no common flight trim for all the modes.

Allan

Last edited by AWorrest; 05-18-2021 at 05:18 PM.
Old 05-19-2021, 06:43 AM
  #11  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Allan

Thank you for your patience. The penny has dropped at last as to what you have done. The two prog mixes merely add or subtract from the bottom end of the throttle curve! I was attracted to your idea of selecting different trims for each FM. This would not be a problem for me as there is very little trim on the aileron and elevator so easy to set up in each FM. However, I can understand how this works for a digital throttle trim but would it also work for the analog throttle trim? I have one Tx with digitial and one with analog throttle trim.

Thanks once again.

Best regards

Peter
Old 05-19-2021, 09:04 PM
  #12  
AWorrest
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 776
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Peter,

Concerning setting up flight-mode-based trims, you may have to use both curves in the THRO CURVE menu. I made the assumption that the top rpm was 5000. Based on that assumption, the throttle trim range was just barely able to accommodate setting the idle trim for the normal mode at a number I believed represented1400 rpm and zero for the ground idle with the trim lever. The trim offset in the menu had to be set at 100.

I doubt this method of throttle control will work with a transmitter that uses an analog throttle trim. On my 12X with analog throttle trim, the throttle trim is common for all flight modes while the other stick trims, that are digital, can be mode-based. If you wish to try this scheme on your transmitter with the digital throttle trim, use the Tcurves-FM.JRX program and copy it to a new memory. This setup uses both curves in the THRO CURVE menu which will assure that you wonít have a problem with the trim range.

Several changes will have to be made. In the TRIM SYSTEM menu, reset the throttle trim to its default value, 4. It was set at zero to inhibit the throttle trim lever. Change the trims from COM to flight mode in this menu. Inhibit the two program mixes. They will not be used.

The idle for the normal flight mode should be close. You can use the throttle trim lever to get it spot-on. The spin and landing idle will initially be the same as the ground idle. After you enter each mode, use the throttle trim lever to adjust the idle for that mode. When the idles have been set to your satisfaction, you can go back to the THRO SYSTEM menu and set the throttle trim to zero to lock in the throttle trim settings.

Allan
Old 05-20-2021, 03:00 PM
  #13  
barnowljenx
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bury St EdmundsSuffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Allan
Thanks for confirming my feeling that an analog throttle trim will not work in the same way as the digital trim. That being the case, I shall stick to your FM set up as the Tx are backups for each other so the model memories must give the same responses.
Once again, thanks for your help in sorting out my problem.
Best regards
Peter

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.