Community
Search
Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

DX6 battery

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 06:44 PM
airflow
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DX6 battery

Just put my brand new DX6 on trickle and started looking through the forums for DX6 info. Couldn't find any significant problems, and I'm feeling like it will turn out to be a good way to fly some park flyers. The battery that came with the DX6 is a 600 mah nicd. Remembering my 8103 battery and how useful it was to put in a liitle more capacity, I'm considering upgrading the capacity. I ran across a note about changing the voltage regulator, and checked out
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...ektrum_mod.htm
Being familiar with soldering (I've had 40 years experience doing that for a living) I'm considering doing this modification (even though I suspect the warranty would be voided). I am curious about your opinion on this modification.
Old 08-29-2006, 08:33 AM
dsnyder

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DX6 battery

That is not recommended or advised to do, and you are correct, the warranty of the system would be void. It is also a violation of FCC regulations.
Old 08-31-2006, 08:28 AM
gwh

Danny,

Please elaborate more on why this is a violation of FCC regulations.
Old 08-31-2006, 10:30 AM
hilgert
My Feedback: (2)

ORIGINAL: gwh

Danny,

Please elaborate more on why this is a violation of FCC regulations.
Because it would increase the runtime and functionality of the radio, therefore making it more useful. So, obviously, it would violate FCC regulations.

CFR Title 47 Part 15 Section 23 states:

§ 15.23 Home-built devices.
(a) Equipment authorization is not
required for devices that are not marketed,
are not constructed from a kit,
and are built in quantities of five or
less for personal use.
(b) It is recognized that the individual
builder of home-built equipment
may not possess the means to perform
the measurements for determining