Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

AR9100 : 3 questions

Old 02-20-2008, 06:36 AM
  #1  
freddd
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AR9100 : 3 questions

1) The documentation says minimum voltage of 6V. Is the following an acceptable solution : 2 Lipos with a good quality regulator (Emcotec, Fromeco) at 5.5V. This would still maintain a margin to the minimum 3.5V
2) Battery management. If you use 2 batteries, are these used at the same time or is there a switching from one to the other according to voltage drop.
3) Can you use the AR9100 without the switch. This is in the case where the regulator already has an electronic (fail-on) switch.

Thank you
Old 02-20-2008, 09:18 AM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: AR9100 : 3 questions

1) That is fine.
2) If one pack voltage is higher than the other, the higher pack will be used. If they are the same voltage they will be used equally.
3) Yes you can. It is best not to install a switch between the batteries and receiver (as that is the idea of the soft switch, to eliminate a potential failure point and increase current draw capabilities of the system), but if it is a soft switch on the regulator that will be fine.
Old 02-20-2008, 04:54 PM
  #3  
freddd
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AR9100 : 3 questions

Thank you.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:33 PM
  #4  
CH3CH2OH
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: STILLWATER, MN
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AR9100 : 3 questions

Can I charge my a123s while plugged into the ar9100 or do they have to be disconnected?
Old 02-25-2008, 09:32 AM
  #5  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: AR9100 : 3 questions

You can charge while plugged into the receiver, however the receiver will draw a small amount of current at all times while the batteries are plugged in, so disconnect them if you are not flying for a few days.
Old 02-25-2008, 09:41 AM
  #6  
CH3CH2OH
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: STILLWATER, MN
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AR9100 : 3 questions

Thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.