Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Firmware upgrade instructions

Old 02-24-2008, 02:47 PM
  #1  
HoverOver
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firmware upgrade instructions

Hello Danny,
Can you please provide us with definitive instructions on how/where to send our Spektrum receivers to have the firmware upgraded... I understand the latest addresses the "re-binding" delay issue.
Thanks!
Old 02-25-2008, 09:39 AM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Content/...rchecklist.pdf

There is no "re-binding" delay issue. Binding is done when initially setting up the receiver and there are no binding issues. I assume that you are speaking about this however:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Articles/A...ArticleID=1756
Old 02-27-2008, 11:42 AM
  #3  
Mr.Pibb
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

Danny,

Are you saying that we just fill out the form and send the receivers in? Do we need an RMA number or do we need to call or e-mail first?

Thanks,
Tim
Old 03-02-2008, 08:51 PM
  #4  
cccdad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

Danny I am confused do I just send the RX and remote modules or do I need to sent my TX also?
Old 03-03-2008, 06:59 PM
  #5  
Jim Duda
Senior Member
 
Jim Duda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 330
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

Did anyone else noticed that Danny did respond earlier today, effectively stating you DID NOT need to return the Tx, but you did need to fill out the return authorization papers. He even supplied a link to the Service Center Repair Request Form .pdf files. He also stated YOU DID NOT NEED AN RMA NUMBER.

His post is now missing...but they were doing site maintenance (up grading it) so it may have been erroneously deleted.

Danny - would you please re-post it for us?
Old 03-03-2008, 08:03 PM
  #6  
Mr.Pibb
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

I didn't see the comment about the RMA number, but I did get a response from Horizon support via e-mail that stated you do not need an RMA number. Just fill out the PDF and send the receiver(s) in.
Old 03-04-2008, 05:40 AM
  #7  
Joe69
Junior Member
 
Joe69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

My enquiry being deleted!!!!!!!

Danny, What so difficult for you to tell your customer outside USA where to send to?

1. To Horizon USA or
2. Wherever Authorized Dealer near me.

1 or 2 ?

As I mentioned, I have my RXs packed but I want to be sure where to send to.
Delete away my enquiry will not help in this case.
Please make it clear to us. Then it is up to us to decide what to do next.
In the worst case, we could have just keep the RX and buy a new one with quick connect feature.
Old 03-04-2008, 06:29 AM
  #8  
Mac_Man_UK
Senior Member
 
Mac_Man_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Slough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

Joe,

there was a system upgrade and a few posts were lost in the transition. I don't believe that they were deleted intentionally.
Old 03-04-2008, 09:36 AM
  #9  
Mr.Pibb
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

The servers got hit with a worm/virus and they had to use a backup after fixing it. Lots of posts were lost yesterday.
Old 03-13-2008, 06:08 AM
  #10  
Joe69
Junior Member
 
Joe69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Firmware upgrade instructions

ORIGINAL: Mac_Man_UK

Joe,

there was a system upgrade and a few posts were lost in the transition. I don't believe that they were deleted intentionally.
Ok, I believe in what you have said but Danny has yet to tell me where I should send my RXs to!
Btw, do you guys in UK send for upgrading within UK Spektrum or to USA Horizon?
Thks.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.