Notices
KingTech Turbines International Barry is your host and will help you with all your Kingtech questions and concerns.

K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Old 01-30-2013, 01:48 PM
  #1  
flyloose
Thread Starter
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Hi..

Could I run a 3S lipo (thinking 3200mah) on my 100G ECU? I'm finding especially here in Canada it's hard to find a 3S LIFE style of pack. Would 11.1v nominal be too much for the ECU? It would sure make my setup easier.

Thanks, Eric
Old 01-30-2013, 04:09 PM
  #2  
jws_aces
My Feedback: (33)
 
jws_aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salem, Va
Posts: 1,045
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Eirc, I also wish we could use lipo instead. I just started my k180g and I accidently connected a lipo instead and the ECU sensed over voltage. It will not work. If they would offer a software update that would be nice but I have a feeling the internals can't handle the extra voltage.

Oh yea it is sweet!

JMO

Jeff
Old 01-30-2013, 05:29 PM
  #3  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,878
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Thats correct, 9.9 volt LiFe4 pack is a good pack and with a fully charge pack you still may get the occasional over voltage. I just bump the starter for a couple of seconds before I even go trim up.
Old 01-30-2013, 06:27 PM
  #4  
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

3S LiPo has a nominal voltage of 11.1 and will peak at 12.6V, which is way to high for our system, make sure you follow instructions in the manual and stay with 9.9 LiFe or 8.4 NiMh, thank you.

Barry
Old 01-31-2013, 10:34 AM
  #5  
essyou35
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,708
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

You can get 3s LIFE from Hobby king. Personally I would use the stock LIFEs that kingtech sells. I have one and it works great no problems at all with it. I can fly 6 times without a charge.
Old 01-31-2013, 02:53 PM
  #6  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,878
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Agreed the lowest weight 3200 pack I have seen is the stock one
ORIGINAL: essyou35

You can get 3s LIFE from Hobby king. Personally I would use the stock LIFEs that kingtech sells. I have one and it works great no problems at all with it. I can fly 6 times without a charge.
Old 04-02-2013, 10:32 AM
  #7  
savasn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Benoni, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Barry, I am using a 2cell, 4400 Mamp, 7.4 V pack
is this ok for the ECU
Old 04-02-2013, 12:00 PM
  #8  
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

For E model ok, not for F or G.
Old 04-03-2013, 12:16 AM
  #9  
savasn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Benoni, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: K100G 3SLipo ECU BATT

Thanks for reply Barry
Why don't u suggest this batt, as manual says its ok?
what batt then do u suggest?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.