Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Best Kit for First Build

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Best Kit for First Build

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2012, 12:03 PM
Snoblitz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Kit for First Build

Hey Guys -

First post here, but i've been lurking in the forums for a bit. There is some amazing build work going on here. You guys are truly talented! I'm hoping that I can get some guidance from you guys.

I'm relatively new to the hobby, across the board. Only have one plane at this point, a HZ Supercub. I've gotten to the point where i'm pretty comfortable with the thing and believe that I am ready to step up to am intermediate plane. Gotten some recent flight time on Phoenix in with some intermediates and am not having any issues.

So all that said, I've been trying to figure out which kit to pickup for my first build. I'm pretty decent with my hands and have plenty of patience. I would like something that will help me build a solid base knowledge on the build process. So, what do you guys think? Any solid recommendations based on your own experiences?

Thanks ahead of time for the help guys!

-Jeff

Old 04-15-2012, 12:10 PM
huck1199

Default RE: Best Kit for First Build

The Sig 4 star 40 is a good low wing intermeadiate skills plane and a good kit.

http://www.sigmfg.com/cgi-bin/dpsmar...FV5.html?E+Sig
Old 04-15-2012, 12:18 PM
WacoNut

Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts

Stepping up to a glow plane from a HZ Super Cub is a big step. I would look at a high wing glow plane to cut your teeth on. The Sig LT-40 makes a nice glow trainer and is a straight forward build. I could throw one together in a weekend.