Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

First Kit

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

First Kit

Old 06-07-2012, 06:11 PM
JH313

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Kit

Hello,
Over the summer I am looking to build a kit, I'm not sure of what and I need some ideas. I have some experience in repairs but nothing in building. This is my second year flying, and I have experience with an Alpha 40, Avistar 40 and my current plane, the Escapade 40, along with the UMX p51 and Corsair. In the long term, I want to get into scale building/flying (mainly WW2 birds). Any suggestions for a plane would be great. Also, I have never had a four stroke, and was thinking about one. Why is there such a big difference in price between Magnum 4-strokes and Saitos? One more question, I was looking at retracts and was wondering why I could get an arf with retracts (hangar 9) cheaper than retracts alone for a kit (ones for the Top-Flite). ome of the planes I was looking at were: The TF Contender, I would build it with the flap to teach me about the management of flaps, a GP Ultra Sport, either 40 or 60, and install retracts to learn how that affects a plane, or a Sig Something Extra to continue along the lines of scale aerobatics. I may be wrong, but this seems like the next step for me.
Thanks for all of the help and if I missed a plane or I'm wrong about something, let me know!
Thanks!
Old 06-08-2012, 08:06 AM
prgonzalez

Default RE: First Kit

JH313,