Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

telemaster 40

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

telemaster 40

Old 07-14-2012, 11:18 AM
  #1  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default telemaster 40

hi guys

just finishing up a telemster 40 from kit and it is listed as a 40 engine.
fuselage was built by someone else and I built the wing with flaps.
it seems quite heavy for a 40 engine, what are you guys using?
thinking of using a 60 on it, can alway throttle down.

thanks
pt19 flyer
Old 07-14-2012, 11:38 AM
  #2  
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)
 
soarrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middletown, NJ
Posts: 4,676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

You can fly the 96" Telemaster with a .60, a .40 would be a better choice for yours.
Old 07-14-2012, 12:05 PM
  #3  
noveldoc
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 644
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

I'd recommend a 4 stroke about 60 to 70 size.

Planes like the Tele love to putter around with a slower revving engine swinging a big prop.

Tom
Old 07-14-2012, 06:23 PM
  #4  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

thanks guys for reply and response.
will go with the 40 to 46 per your advice
got it covered and painted servos and pushrods made and
ready for engine mounting.

thanks and happy flying

pt19 flyer
Old 08-05-2012, 11:43 AM
  #5  
kengoff
Junior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: evans, WV
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

I love the Telemaster 40, it's a great relaxing plane to fly. Mine has an O.S. 46 on it. Hope you enjoy it . Ken
Old 08-06-2012, 01:43 PM
  #6  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

ok ken
thanks for reply
what does yours weigh?
just holding mine up without motor mounted, it just seems real heavy, so I
was just wondering if a 46 would fly it. I will mount one of the listed motors
and weight at that time. have the servos and pushrods installed.
have the blue os 46 and an os 46sf.

thanks for reply
pt19 flyer joe
Old 08-06-2012, 02:35 PM
  #7  
LargeScale88
Senior Member
 
LargeScale88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 1,151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

Telemasters have big wings, they can be a little "heavier'. My 96" telemaster weighed a ton and I flew around 1/4 to 1/2 throttle most of the time.


You'll be fine.

Jason
Old 08-06-2012, 05:49 PM
  #8  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

ok jason

thanks very much for advice, keep your fingers crossed for me.
as the name implies I really like the pt19 planes. had a beautiful model
built from flying model plans, was a beautiful flyer, but it originally had
torque rod aileron control which wa not very effective. finally removed the
covering and replaced with 90 degree bellcranks. worked very well.
with the torque rod had a major flutter at full throttle.
kit was built by a flyer in florida, was very strong and heavy but an
excellent flyer after I made the above changes. looking to build another
pt19 in the future, this winter maybe. in a stupid move I sold it with some
pressure to a fellow club member. haven't seen him fly it as yet, thinking of
checking if I would buy it back. you ever do something like this?

thanks very much
pt19 flyer joe
Old 08-06-2012, 06:38 PM
  #9  
CanDo
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 510
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

I had many good flights on my Telemaster 40 plane with a Magnum .46. I even carried a 3 pound payload a few times! If I had a OS .46, it would be a great match for your plane. As Jason already said, this plane has plenty of wing area, you don't need to over power it.
Old 08-07-2012, 04:11 PM
  #10  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: telemaster 40

ok CanDo

thanks for reply and info...if you find any smart thumbs and get more than
you need or can use, I want some, can use some...ha!ha!

thanks & happy flying, no crashes allowed!

pt19 flyer

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.