Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

~~Sig Kadet Brotherhood~~.

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

~~Sig Kadet Brotherhood~~.

Old 07-31-2021, 02:59 PM
  #3776  
neons
My Feedback: (1)
 
neons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Swansea, MA
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Dino
That is a well color coordinated scheme. It just caught my eyes. Very pretty. Good choice.

I fly my inherited Kadet Senior regularly over the years. Love the plane. I recovered mine the same with original Circus Pink as my best friend had it before he passed away 2007.
~~Sig Kadet Brotherhood~~.
Old 07-31-2021, 07:31 PM
  #3777  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 12,975
Received 105 Likes on 100 Posts
Default

I like Circus Pink too!



The following users liked this post:
D_I_N_O (08-01-2021)
Old 08-01-2021, 01:43 AM
  #3778  
D_I_N_O
 
D_I_N_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Helsinki, FINLAND
Posts: 38
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Pink engine
What paint is used. I have one .40 Saito and it is running pretty hot even with proper mixture and cooling. I would expect paint to be burned off.

Few words about my color choices. To be fair I have to admit I did not select the colors. I gave some examples to my daughters to choose from. My preferred combination would have been lighter pink with dark graphite grey. Luckily I followed advice from offspring. Color pattern is copied from kit box with some variations. Not too much imagination used with finishing.
Old 08-01-2021, 06:10 AM
  #3779  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 12,975
Received 105 Likes on 100 Posts
Default

Rustoleum/Krylon and it has stayed on when running the .56 Saito. It does wear some in handling but once you mount it permanently that problem is solved.
Old 08-23-2021, 05:09 PM
  #3780  
biam
 
biam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Leadington Mo.
Posts: 279
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default


A giant pic of my Sr. I realized I hadnít put one up after finishing a few years back.
The following users liked this post:
skylark-flier (08-24-2021)
Old 08-23-2021, 07:37 PM
  #3781  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 12,975
Received 105 Likes on 100 Posts
Default

Nice! Is that your Cherokee in the background?
Old 08-24-2021, 12:23 PM
  #3782  
biam
 
biam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Leadington Mo.
Posts: 279
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Yes it is. The Cherokee is equipped with flaps, was experimenting with them and getting used to using them again. Both have magnum four strokes. The Cherokee has a .52 and the Sr. Has a .70. Will try to post smaller pics next time when I figure it out. Tried to put up two pics yesterday but the site experienced difficulty’s😒
Old 09-21-2021, 01:43 PM
  #3783  
vlcordero
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig kobra ep conversion

I was wondering if any of you chaps have converted a sig kobra to Electric? My hangar Queen has sat under the table saw for too long and the motor is shot. Tank is gross. Battery pack kaput. A .25 electric motor should be more than sufficient no?? 9" max on the prop length. Thanks in advance!
Old 09-22-2021, 06:43 AM
  #3784  
Flight Risk
My Feedback: (1)
 
Flight Risk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rocky Flats, CO
Posts: 782
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I'm not too familiar with the Kobra, but have converted a couple other glow planes to electric. One concern I would have is that you will need to stuff a 3000 mAh or larger battery near the nose to get any flight time, and my guess is you may need to relocate servos farther back. Would the battery be inserted through the canopy or will the wing need to come off? I'm sure it can be done, but will take some reconfiguring.
Old 09-22-2021, 09:53 AM
  #3785  
vlcordero
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for responding! I wasn't sure i would even get a response! I have 8-1/2 inches from the front engine bulkhead to the 3rd, and luckily only the throttle servo was there which will also be eliminated. 2nd bulkhead has a 2-1/4 square hole cutout so I am optimistic I can get a decent pack in there. Unfortunately to utilize all that space, I will have to opt for the wing off battery installation. It had a .32 in it so I was looking for a .32 motor, but I cannot swing an 11" prop due to ground clearance. I was ready to move on some parts and realized I may need to downsize the motor but hope to have equal performance as the .32. Of course I would NEVER overthink such a rather simple conversion before execution. 😆 🤣 i will look into my battery options to see what is available! Thanks for the suggestion! So.. about that motor size... 😂
Old 09-22-2021, 10:26 AM
  #3786  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 9,723
Received 61 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Look into the Eflite Power 25 1250KV. It works with the prop size you need. If the plane weighs more than 5.5 pounds though, you may need to go to a larger motor. Prop size for that motor is 8x8E to 10x10E (3S). I have a pair of them flying my Twin Otter, but for that plane it needs 8800 MAH 3S packs for it to fly more than a couple minutes after take off due to it's size. Don't forget that batteries work on their sides too.


https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...EFLM4025B.html
Old 09-22-2021, 01:51 PM
  #3787  
Hydro Junkie
 
Hydro Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 9,514
Likes: 0
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vlcordero View Post
It had a .32 in it so I was looking for a .32 motor, but I cannot swing an 11" prop due to ground clearance. I was ready to move on some parts and realized I may need to downsize the motor but hope to have equal performance as the .32.
You do know that you can down size the blade length by adding a blade? I was just looking at the OS 35 AX and it runs a 10X6 for break in. If you can clear a 9" prop, a 3 blade 9X6 would probably work. If the engine you had was an OS 32, the 35 is a drop in replacement. IF you have your heart set on the electric conversion, ignore my post.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.