Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

SIG Somethin Extra Build - 2nd Plane

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

SIG Somethin Extra Build - 2nd Plane

Old 12-08-2014, 09:38 AM
BatteryBob

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SIG Somethin Extra Build - 2nd Plane

This is my first build season following my rookie flying season. I know I will be starting back on the trainer in Spring, but I need to have a 2nd plane in the hanger. After checking out many build threads and receiving great advice from club members, I'm going with the classic SSE.

As a kid, I have built my share of Carl Goldberg kits of the .049 variety on up to a Nobler. That was a long time ago. My re-entry kit was a PT-60. Also my first monokote experience. I also did a major overhaul to a Hobbistar 60 that I bought from a fellow club member, including a scratch wing build after a tree flew into my deadstick plane.

My real project is a Ziroli Dauntless in waiting, but the SIG SSE will help further sharpen my building skills before I tackle a large scale plane.

After doing some recon on the SSE (build threads and help from some of you that have posted in the past), here is my plan:

1. I want to go electric on this one. Plan to power with Hacker. I still need to figure out the mods for the battery tray.
2. Extend the tailfeathers based on a CAD file posted by low'n'slow. Just need to get it printed out to scale.
3. Use Sullivan rods, tail wheel and TnT landing gear for prop clearance. SackOHammers post suggest the Dubro is better tail wheel.
4. Some aesthetics: sheet the TD and make a fiber glass cowl. I think we all agree yel914 has a great example.
5. Not sure where I plan to take some weight out. I've seen the stick versions of ailerons, etc. I may make of set of stock and modified and choose after checking the weight.