Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Covering fiberglass wing tips

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Covering fiberglass wing tips

Old 08-11-2020, 07:32 PM
smilam

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Covering fiberglass wing tips

I am currently building a quarter scale Sig Spacewalker. The kit has plastic wing tips and cowl and I am not sure how well they will last. I debated making balsa wing tips but since I decided to order a fiberglass cowl I went ahead and ordered fiberglass wing tips too. The question is how to finish them.
I have never done a fabric covering before but I donít think the Spacewalker would look right with a plastic covering. I think a fabric covering will look more realistic. I have a few rolls of Coverite that I have picked up a various places that I am going to use. How should I go about covering the fiberglass wing tips? I even called Fiberglass Specialties and asked them about Coverite on fiberglass and he said he had know idea as he had never done that before. Where can I find out information about using fabric covering? Tips and tricks?
The rolls of Coverite that I have are different colors but I am planning on painting the plane and assuming after a priming coat the color should work out. Am I correct or way off in my assumptions?
I am looking forward to learning something new and hopefully have a plane that looks and flies good.
Steve
Old 08-11-2020, 07:41 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 50 Likes on 48 Posts

After doing a post cure of the wingtips ( prior to installing them ) at 150 degrees for around 6 hours you should be able to apply the coverite on them as if they were wood. The post cure will raise the temp that you can expose them to without distorting their shape.
Old 08-11-2020, 08:00 PM
smilam