Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Kyosho F4U Corsair

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Kyosho F4U Corsair

Old 11-19-2003, 11:38 PM
Corsair86
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kyosho F4U Corsair

I recently built a Kyosho Corsair and the kit was the first fiberglass kit I have built. It was a very nice looking kit but I thought the fuse was a little thin at the wing mounting points so I added some reinforcing there but in all a very nice kit. Anyway on the maiden flight it lifted off and started a slow left bank and never responded to the controls at all. Crashed right off the runway. Now I have been flying R/C for about 12 years or so, so it isn't like I have never done this before. I performed a range check on the radio with the engine running and it checked out fine. I had and Enya 51 engine with a Pitts muffler and had the engine inverted. any ideas on what might have caused no response from ailerons? I kept the thrust line of the engine the same as marked on the firewall. the plans showed the engine mounting up right but I didn't think inverting it would cause this problem.[&o]

any input is welcome
Corsair 86
Old 01-20-2004, 05:43 PM
Anderson

Default RE: Kyosho F4U Corsair

Corsair86,
I know you probably wont want to read this but I think you stalled.
I have the Kyosho corsair like you and after almost 70 take-offs I stalled it.
I remember my corsair doing exactly as yours, a slow roll to the left and crash.
I must have been always on the edge and finally I got caught.
Now my take off runs are an insane dash with right rudder during take off run and climbout.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk30530.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	92598  
Old 01-23-2004, 06:21 PM
Corsair86