Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Old 04-02-2006, 01:06 AM
  #26  
TexasAirBoss
My Feedback: (22)
 
TexasAirBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

What size engine is that ? I have an OS Max 40SF on my Ercoupe and its a rocket ship. I generally putt around at 1/4 throttle. IT will hardly move on our grass runway at that throttle setting, but it sure flys around at 1/4 throttle.
Old 04-02-2006, 01:21 AM
  #27  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Ditto's on mine with ST .51

I could Pylon race that thing...LOL

Don
Old 04-02-2006, 06:06 AM
  #28  
bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Holland, MA
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Do you have the servos, reciever and batery mounted yet? If so a picture of that would be great!

Bassman
Old 04-02-2006, 08:29 AM
  #29  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

The engine is an Old OS .61 4-stroke, I do have the servo's mounted and I will take a pic of the installation in a little while and post it. The 2nd plane will be powered by new OS 52 4-stroke.
Later!!
Anthony
Old 04-02-2006, 10:54 AM
  #30  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Bassman,
Here are the pics of the sero installation. as you can see there is plenty of room in the fat fuse for radio gear. I have ample room to move the receiver and battery foreward or aft for balancing. The elevator control rod bows down towrd the bottom of the fuse to clear the rudder controls under the Stab. I went with pretty much a stock rudder setup except that I used a dual ball link. The connection is very smooth with no detectable slop. I will probably change out the servo wheel for an arm and put the nose gear control on the outboard hole, there isn't much deflection required on the rudders. The control rods for the throttle and nose gear still need to be reinforced and I will attach them to the former just ahead of the servo bay.
The plane doesn't actually take that long to build, I probably spend as much time trying to figure out how to do something as I do building. I am sure the 2nd plane will build much faster.
Later!!
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ur52281.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	437508   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf12670.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	437509   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jp32521.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	437510   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kd89422.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	437511   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gr92243.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	90.5 KB
ID:	437512  
Old 04-02-2006, 05:37 PM
  #31  
bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Holland, MA
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Thanks alot. That's exactly what I needed to see. I'll probably get back to mine this week.

Bassman
Old 04-02-2006, 06:13 PM
  #32  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I am glad that helped.
I started building the 2nd fuselage today, it is almost complete.
Anthony
Old 04-02-2006, 06:55 PM
  #33  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's


ORIGINAL: CubNut

I probably spend as much time trying to figure out how to do something as I do building.

Anthony
Yep, I have the same opinion. I think all the brain power you expend on this plane is a big part of the FUN of building it.

Don
Old 04-02-2006, 07:26 PM
  #34  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Here are a few pics of the 2nd fuse,
I went about it a little smarter the 2nd time around I cut some angle gauges to help align F4 and it helped alot. The fuse now needs some sanding and fit the tail section and run the control rods.
Later!!
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vs55941.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	437731   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs56944.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	437732   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79467.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	437733  
Old 04-07-2006, 08:07 PM
  #35  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I am well into plane #2,
It sure does go faster and smoother on the 2nd time around. Here are a few pics of the plane.
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74409.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	440679   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez81812.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	440680   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl18888.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	440681   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qk22162.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	440682  
Old 04-07-2006, 08:10 PM
  #36  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

A question for you Aircoupe Owners.
When you installed the main gear did you install it permenantly or did you use gear hold down straps so it can be removed???
Anthony
Old 04-07-2006, 08:56 PM
  #37  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I used straps

Don
Old 04-07-2006, 09:40 PM
  #38  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I was thinking the same thing,
I don't like the idea of not being able to remove the gear legs for maintenance. Do you have any problems with the gear legs bending??
Thanks!!
Anthony
Old 04-08-2006, 12:08 AM
  #39  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

The gear wires are pretty stout. I haven't bent either the nose or the mains yet but then I only have about 25 flights on mine.

You shouldn't have to worry about bending them unless you pound it in, regular landing will be no problems.

But, just in case you do tweak them, it's always nice to be able to remove them so you can un-tweak them or replace them.

Don
Old 04-08-2006, 05:35 AM
  #40  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Thanks Don,
Can you take a pic of the bottom side of your plane with the wing mounted??? I want to see how everything fits up ie: bottm sheeting to the wing and the fillets blending to the fuse.
Thanks!!!
Anthony
Old 04-08-2006, 11:12 AM
  #41  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I can't help you with the big wing fillet as the guy I built the plane for was hot to go flying and wanted the plane done fast.. I inherited the plane when he moved away. I may fit them when I get the plane back to California next year (I work here in Alaska).

I'll post some pictures later. I did do one thing that the plans don't show and that is a hatch on the forward fuselage so I can get to the tank without having to take everything off. I'll take pics of that as well.

You're going to love yours, it flies so sweet. Jack Stafford left a lot to the imagination as far as building but his planes always fly great.

Don
Old 04-08-2006, 11:46 AM
  #42  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Thanks,
I am installing the servo's and running the controls in plane #2 right now. I am hopeing to get that wrapped up today and close up the fuselage on both planes and start final sanding. If all goes well I will be covering and painting in a week or so.
Anthony
Old 04-08-2006, 03:00 PM
  #43  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Here are some pics of the Ercoupe and of the hatch area.

When I first put the hatch in I over killed it with screws. It sits in there fine with just 4 now. LOL

I don't like the color scheme much, it was my friend's choice. When I go to add the big fillet/fairing I'll probably recover it in the colors I want.

Don

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67908.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	441168   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu65447.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	441169   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx62073.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	130.7 KB
ID:	441170   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uo34845.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	441171   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ep87089.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	181.6 KB
ID:	441172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kb43943.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	27.4 KB
ID:	441173   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xz54632.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	441174  
Old 04-08-2006, 04:05 PM
  #44  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Thanks for the pics,
I cut away an area of F3 that I can get the tank in and out thru that way. I will be able to reach everything that I would need to get to from the wing saddle.
I just finished up installing all the fuselage controls in plane #2. Time to take a break, I have been at it for 10 hrs today.
Later!!
Anthony
Old 04-16-2006, 09:41 AM
  #45  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I am doing the final sanding to plane #1 right now getting it ready for covering. If all goes well I will have both planes ready to cover by next weekend. Both planes will get panel line and rivet detail and finished off with semi-gloss latex paint sprayed with a HVLP gun. I used Latex on my Sig 1/4 Clipped Wing Cub and it looks great and has held up very well. I will post some pics once I start the covering/finishing process.
Anthony
Old 04-16-2006, 08:18 PM
  #46  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

Bassman,
I was reading back thru the thread and saw where you are hung up. Fitting the wing and building the fillet was tough one to figure out but wasn't to difficult to perform. Here is the best way I figured out. Sand the saddle to get a good fit with the wing and check for proper dihedral at each tip and incidence and tips to the rear of fuse. Once you are happy with the fit bolt the wing tight and scribe a line 1/16" above the wing on both sides. Now take the wing off and sand the saddle to that line, fit the wing back to the fuse and put the #16 fillet bases between with fuse and wing. Once you are satisfied with the fit and position of the fillet bases glue the fillet bases to the fuse(be careful not to glue them to the wing). After that has dried glue the #17 rear fillet pieces to the back of the fillet base and to the fuse. You are now ready to sculpt the fillet out of your favorite filler.
It is not as hard as it sounds to get this completed, here are a couple pics of my fuse.
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11196.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	30.6 KB
ID:	446389   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw71221.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	446390  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:16 AM
  #47  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I have started covering plane #1,
I am starting with the easy part 1st the wing, I have the bottom covered and shrunk. I am useing Sig Koverall and I am attaching it with Sig Nitrate Dope and I will fill the weave with Minwax Polycrylic. Here is a pic of the bottom of the wing after covering.
Later!
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wt59300.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	449415  
Old 04-22-2006, 05:50 PM
  #48  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I have wing covered top and bottom and the Koverall drum tight. Here is a pic of the bottom of the wing with the 1st coat of Polycrylic applied. It will probably take 5-6 coats of Polycrylic to get the desired finish.
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68309.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	449591  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:20 PM
  #49  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I have the wing and fuse covered and the fabric weave filled with Polycrylic. I am letting them bake in the sun for an hour then I will give them a sanding and another coat or two of Ploycrylic sanding between each coat. This should make a very smooth finish.
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92118.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	73.7 KB
ID:	450160  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:15 PM
  #50  
WacoNut
Thread Starter
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: JACK STAFFORD Models Aircoupe's

I have plane #1 primered and ready for a final sanding before laying out the panel lines on the fuselage.
Here is a couple of pics of how it looks now.
Later!
Anthony
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58121.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	452655   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95711.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	452656  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.