Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Giant Aeromaster

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Giant Aeromaster

Old 05-21-2006, 01:09 PM
  #1  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Giant Aeromaster

After digging through my 'storage locker' at the local mini-storage place, I found a Giant Aeromaster that I had started some years ago. Decided I'd better go ahead and finish it up, before it turns into kindling. Got a question on it i'm hoping somebody could answer for me. What's a good engine for this? I'm not looking for unlimited vertical, or 3d, but something that will provide enough guts for some good vertical penetration before petering out. Any suggestions?

thanks!
mcmike
Old 05-21-2006, 03:23 PM
  #2  
BobbyGee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
BobbyGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 403
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

I have one with a US 41. Nice match, I think it will give you what you want.

Or a Quadra 42 - basically the same engine.

Neither one is fancy. They're basic magnetoed 2-cycles, but for the Aeromaster I consider them appropriate technology. It handles aerobatics very nicely, but you won't get anywhere near 3D type stuff, nor unlimited vertical. With an 18 x 6 prop it's a nice match.

BobbyG
Old 05-21-2006, 05:10 PM
  #3  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,385
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Wasn't my plane but I got to fly one with A Brison 2.4 40cc engine and it was outstanding. Most any of the mid size gas engines work fine.
Old 05-21-2006, 09:35 PM
  #4  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

I was thinking more like a 3.2 or a g62 something along those lines, but I guess if you're having good luck with the smaller engines, I can save some $$$!
thanks!
Old 05-22-2006, 08:28 AM
  #5  
rogue-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Broadway, VA
Posts: 146
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

I have a zenoah G45 in mine . Plenty of engine for it. It depends on the pilot but I think that a g62 is overkill on power.
Old 05-22-2006, 10:46 AM
  #6  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

You are right about "It depends on the pilot". I have a G-62 with CH Electronics Jump Start in my Giant Aeromaster and I don't think there could be a better combo. It weighs 21 pounds and has unlimited vertical.
Old 05-22-2006, 10:50 AM
  #7  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

ORIGINAL: Big_Bird

You are right about "It depends on the pilot". I have a G-62 with CH Electronics Jump Start in my Giant Aeromaster and I don't think there could be a better combo. It weighs 21 pounds and has unlimited vertical.
I was wondering about weight. Framing up the fuse yesterday, and wonder where I could get rid of some weight. This thing is built like the proverbial brick ___house. I'd love to get the weight down to less than 20 lbs. Any suggestions?
Old 05-22-2006, 02:24 PM
  #8  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster


ORIGINAL: mcmike

ORIGINAL: Big_Bird

You are right about "It depends on the pilot". I have a G-62 with CH Electronics Jump Start in my Giant Aeromaster and I don't think there could be a better combo. It weighs 21 pounds and has unlimited vertical.
I was wondering about weight. Framing up the fuse yesterday, and wonder where I could get rid of some weight. This thing is built like the proverbial brick ___house. I'd love to get the weight down to less than 20 lbs. Any suggestions?
You could find a carbon fiber gear, cut lightning holes in the fuselage, use light weight foam tires, replace some of the heavier wood with lighter wood, don't use wheel pants, cover it with Monokote, use NiMH batteries. I used 2 NiMH 700 mah 4 cell packs. At 21 pounds with a G-62 it is a real hotrod. Just the way I like it.

If you want to read about the mods that I did, see this:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_38.../tm.htm#380757
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb87003.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	125.6 KB
ID:	465100   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx74643.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	465101   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze85985.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	465102   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vp39872.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	465103   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rc41901.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	465104   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qh65004.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	465105   Click image for larger version

Name:	Np18552.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	465106   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wv73248.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	102.8 KB
ID:	465107  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Yx39316.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	465108   Click image for larger version

Name:	Re34568.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	465109   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ek52770.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	465110   Click image for larger version

Name:	Te28273.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	465111  
Old 05-22-2006, 07:49 PM
  #9  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Big Bird... Thanks for the thread, exactly what I was wanting! Luckily, I haven't done much glueing up of the fuselage yet, so it's gonna get some major ventilation here soon, along with some bigger tailfeathers for sure. thanks again!
Old 05-22-2006, 11:54 PM
  #10  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster


ORIGINAL: mcmike

Big Bird... Thanks for the thread, exactly what I was wanting! Luckily, I haven't done much glueing up of the fuselage yet, so it's gonna get some major ventilation here soon, along with some bigger tailfeathers for sure. thanks again!
Good, I think you will really like the mods.
Old 05-25-2006, 05:17 AM
  #11  
Chevelle
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fairport, NY,
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Since you said that you weren't looking for "unlimited vertical" and that you wanted to build it light, the G62 sounds pretty strong. I have a G45 in mine and I think it does a fine job. Here is a movie of some lazy flying....

[link=http://www.wings-of-valor.net/uploads/media/SmokeDreams.wmv]"Smoke Dreams" (Hi Res)[/link]
[link=http://www.wings-of-valor.net/uploads/media/SmokeDreams_medres.wmv]"Smoke Dreams" (Med Res)[/link]
[link=http://www.wings-of-valor.net/uploads/media/SmokeDreams_lowres.wmv]"Smoke Dreams" (Low Res)[/link]



One more thing, if you do use the G62 and build it light, you are going to have to add a lot of weight back into the tail to balance it.
Old 05-25-2006, 07:05 AM
  #12  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

I'm already being pretty liberal with the dremel and a sanding drum, taking out a LOT of weight. I'm pretty sure that if the fuse is built per the plans that Barry Bonds would find it pretty appealing! Servos in the tail, Servos on each aileron, and I just picked up a Brison 4.2 for power. I'm hoping to get the weight just a bit south of 20#, but will be happy below 22#. In the process now of framing up a new rudder and elevators, adding quite a bit of area to each.

Another Question... I know this thing will have a Ton of drag, and I'm pretty good with the throttle, So i don't see any 'high speed' passes with it. Has anyone used standard i.e. S3004 BB Servos on the Ailerons. IIRC, they've got pretty good torque on 6 volts. I'm more curious about any aileron flutter problems that might occur with these servos. Or should I just bite the bullet and spend the $$$ for some Hi-torques?

thanks!
Old 05-25-2006, 10:18 AM
  #13  
Hooked-On-RC
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hooked-On-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 840
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Well let me chine in here as I think this a good point to do so. You are right the Aeromaster is framed like a Brick Waste House and as such it could use a lot of lightening. I am in the process of building mine and here are some of my work overs you might want to consider.

-Like Big Bird I put lightening holes in the fuse sides
- All ply formers for the upper turtle deck and lower fuse formers have been filled with lightening holes...as long as they are not to large and not to close to the edge of teh former no strength is sacrificed.
- I replaced a lot of the heavy balsa with light balsa
- I enlarged the elevators 1" from fore to aft
- I enlarged the Rudder 1.5" from fore to aft but also included a Balance tab on the top of the rudder (looks like the rudder off an extra). The really increased the size of the rudder
- I also sanded both the rudders and the elevators to a taper using my large belt sander. So now instead of them being basically a half inch thick throughout, they taper from 1/2" on the leading edges to 1/8" on the trailing edges, they look so much nicer this way.
- I am running JR 8411's all over the plane with the exception of the throttle
- 1 Servo on each elevator, one on the rudder, one on each aileron with a four aileron setup
- I am running NiMH battery packs for both reciever and ignition and last but not least
- I am running a ZDZ 60 for power, lighter than a G62, a sachs 4.2 or most other engines
- running standard landing gear and wheel pants at this point but may change to CF gear once she is airborne.
- also chagned the "N" struts on the wings to a one piece light ply configuration using pins and snap pins to hold them in place

All in all, after all the lightening holes, I know I have shaved off at least two pounds in construction phase as I weighed each piece I drilled before and after drilling and added up the weight. The turtle deck formers, I removed 7 ounces alone. Will post picks shortly.
Old 05-25-2006, 10:58 AM
  #14  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Hooked... sounds like we're both of the same mind. I'm a bit surprised that you could cut that much out of the fuse, but then I looked at the formers again. I'm drilling a bunch of holes in them, and have thought of possibly replacing the turtledeck formers with 1/8" balsa, since they really don't provide any structural strength. Definately post some pics! I've looked at the wings, with an eye towards lightening them up, but haven't done anything, mainly since they're already built. I think i'll keep the N struts as they are, just like the look and this thing really doesn't need any more side area with that sail of a turtledeck.
I'm sanding down the elevators and rudder also, but i don't think i'll do the 'Extra' thing to the rudder, just add 1 1/2 to 2 inches to it, and 1 1/2" to the elevators.

I'll try to get some pics posted soon, just to compare holes!
Old 05-25-2006, 12:47 PM
  #15  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Hooked, sounds like you did all of the things that I did, amost exactly, with the exception of the counter balance on the rudder. I've been flying gassers since 1982 and this is one of the best biplanes that I've ever had. Sure wish GP would kit them again.

Mike, the Brison 4.2 is a good choice. The Giant Aeromaster has a lot less drag than you think. Mine is very fast. Keep up the good work.
Old 05-25-2006, 01:11 PM
  #16  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Big Bird,

Since I have the Luxury of access to an engineering copier, I always make a copy of the plans for anything I build prior to starting construction, so I''ve still got the original plans... and the last time I checked, great planes still has some of the GiantAeromaster parts, i.e. Ribs, formers, Canopy... Wouldn't be too hard to scratch one. Let me know if you're interested!

mcmike
Old 05-25-2006, 07:00 PM
  #17  
rainedave
My Feedback: (1)
 
rainedave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 6,343
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Chevelle, that has to be fabric and dope. They just look too good to be plastic film. Nice models!
Old 05-25-2006, 11:31 PM
  #18  
Hooked-On-RC
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hooked-On-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 840
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

McMike,
I did do a lot of the things you did as I talked to you about this a while ago. I have just not had teh time to get my all complete yet, I have all the parts, the servos, the reciever and battery packs as well as a 1 hour old ZDZ 60 ready to go into it, I just have not had the time to finish it. I am looking to finish it in stitz covering with paint, love the look and the durability of paint. I have flown two of these planes and loved both of them, real sweet hearts to fly. IF GP had any sense they would reengineer this kit and re release it even up size it a bit and it would be really cool, say around 84 or 96 inches.
Old 05-26-2006, 07:56 AM
  #19  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

FYI, if anybody is interested... Found a GA new in the box...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Giant-Radio-Cont...QQcmdZViewItem
Old 05-26-2006, 11:24 AM
  #20  
pettit
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

If you can wait until the end of June 2006, you'll be able to buy an ARF Giant Aeromaster from Tower Hobbies or your local hobby shop.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMKB5&P=0
Old 05-26-2006, 11:27 AM
  #21  
dmcmike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

hmmm. interesting, they're advertising a weight of 16-18 lbs for the ARF, wonder what kind of diet they put it on? That would be about the weight i'm trying to get to with mine.
Old 05-26-2006, 01:27 PM
  #22  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Airplane manufacturers have always been overly optimistic on weight as have engine manufacturers on horse power. Sells better.

That looks like a great deal on the ARF. I think they will sell a bunch of them.
Old 05-29-2006, 01:40 PM
  #23  
damifino
Senior Member
 
damifino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 681
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

That diet would be called CAD design, laser cutting and a bunch of years of evolution since the original kit was produced.
Old 05-30-2006, 10:13 AM
  #24  
LuvBipes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
LuvBipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 1,226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster

Thanks for the heads-up Dick. I guess it's a sign of the times that the kit on ebay is going for almost the same price as the ARF will sell for at Tower....
Old 05-30-2006, 10:24 AM
  #25  
Big_Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Giant Aeromaster


ORIGINAL: damifino

That diet would be called CAD design, laser cutting and a bunch of years of evolution since the original kit was produced.
What's a diet? You lost me.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.